This is the "Featured Books and Reference Materials" page of the "Women's and Gender Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Women's and Gender Studies  

This guide explains how to locate materials on women's and gender studies, which cuts across all disciplines and areas of the collection.
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/gender Print Guide RSS Updates

Featured Books and Reference Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

E-Books

  • EBSCOhost eBooks
    You can read books on your computer or mobile device! Thousands of e-books are available through EBSCOhost. You can access these by following this link, scrolling down to "eBook Collection," and entering your student/faculty login information.
 

Featured Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America - Rosemary Skinner Keller (Editor); Rosemary Radford Ruether (Editor); Marie Cantlon (Editor)
Call Number: REF BL 458 .E52 2006
ISBN: 9780253346858
Publication Date: 2006-04-19
The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women’s religious experience in North America. The encyclopedia is interreligious, interracial, and multicultural and is aimed at a broad general audience.

Cover Art
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia - Bret E. Carroll (Editor)
Call Number: REF HQ 1090.3 .A453 2003
ISBN: 9780761925408
Publication Date: 2003-10-14
American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia is a first-of-its-kind reference, detailing developments in the growing field of men’s studies. This up-to-date analytical review serves as a marker of Weaving the fabric of American history, American Masculinities illustrates how American political leaders have often used the rhetoric of manliness to underscore the presumed moral righteousness and ostensibly protective purposes of their policies. Seeing U.S. history in terms of gender archetypes, readers will gain a richer and deeper understanding of America’s democratic political system, domestic and foreign policies, and capitalist economic system, as well as the "private" sphere of the home and domestic life.

ACRL Core and Recommended Books

  • ACRL List of Core Books
    The Association of College and Research Libraries provides a list of "core" (essential) books in many topics related to Women's and Gender Studies.
  • ACRL LibraryThing
    The Association of College and Research Libraries also provides a list of recommended books in specific topics related to Women's Studies, including EcoFeminism, Feminist Theory, Family, Politics, and More. This is a great place to browse for books and get research ideas!
 

Featured Books

Cover Art
Feminist Thought: A More Comprehensive Introduction - Rosemarie Putnam Tong; Rosemarie Tong
Call Number: HQ 1206 .T66 2009
ISBN: 9780813343754
Publication Date: 2008-08-05
A clear, comprehensive, and indispensable introduction to the major traditions of feminist theory, Feminist Thought includes incisive, critical examinations of liberal feminism, radical feminism, Marxist and socialist feminism, and ecofeminism. This third edition has been thoroughly reformulated and expanded to include the latest developments in feminist thought, including a new chapter on care-focused feminism (Chapter 5), an exploration of the connections of multicultural and global feminism with postcolonial feminism (Chapter 6), and a close consideration of the links between postmodern feminism and third-wave feminism (Chapter 8). Key feminist theorists such as Judith Butler, Martha Nussbaum, and Eva Feder Kittay receive new or extended discussions.

Cover Art
Colonize This! Young Women of Color on Today's Feminism - Daisy Hernández (Editor); Bushra Rehman (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 1161 .C65 2002
ISBN: 9781580050678
Publication Date: 2002-07-29
It has been decades since women of color first turned feminism upside down, exposing the ‘70s feminist movement as exclusive, white, and unaware of the concerns and issues of women of color from around the globe. Now a new generation of brilliant, outspoken women of color is speaking to the concerns of a new feminism, and to their place in it. Daisy Hernandez of Ms. magazine and poet Bushra Rehman have collected a diverse, lively group of emerging writers who speak to their experience—to the strength and rigidity of community and religion, to borders and divisions, both internal and external—and address issues that take feminism into the twenty-first century.

Cover Art
An Introduction to Women's Studies: Gender in a Transnational World - Inderpal Grewal; Caren Kaplan
Call Number: HQ 1180 .I577 2006
ISBN: 9780072887181
Publication Date: 2005-06-07
This anthology introduces students to the modern period's history of key ideas related to sexual difference, gender, race, class, and sexuality. While most introductory Women's Studies textbooks focus on the United States, even if they add multiculturalism to the discussion, this book looks at women in diverse locations around the world and encourages students to think about gender in a transnational rather than a purely U.S. context. The selections provide students in the U.S. with a way to understand points of view from other locations and cultures, especially crucial in the post-9-11 geopolitical situation.

Cover Art
Constituting Equality: Gender Equality and Comparative Constitutional Law - Susan H. Williams (Editor); Susan Hoffman Williams
Call Number: K 3243 .C66 2009
ISBN: 9780521898362
Publication Date: 2009-07-31
Constituting Equality addresses the question, how would you write a constitution if you really cared about gender equality? The book takes a design-oriented approach to the broad range of issues that arise in constitutional drafting concerning gender equality. Each section of the book examines a particular set of constitutional issues or doctrines across a range of different countries to explore what works, where, and why.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip