This is the "Articles and Databases" page of the "Women's and Gender Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Women's and Gender Studies  

This guide explains how to locate materials on women's and gender studies, which cuts across all disciplines and areas of the collection.
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/gender Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles and Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Article Databases

Because Women's and Gender Studies is an interdiscipinary topic, articles on this matter can be found throughout a number of databases. Below are just a few highlights and include databases for both scholarly articles and images.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Covering virtually every area of academic study, this multi-disciplinary database offers full text information for nearly 9,000 scholarly journals, periodicals, and news sources.
  • ArtStor
    The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
  • Child Development and Adolescent Studies
    It is a source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is a not for profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals filled with scholarly articles and content.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Science
    A comprehensive, full-text database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States
    Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. This collection currently includes 108 document projects and archives with almost 4,300 documents and more than 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Also, included is an online version of Notable American Women or the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.

Reference Databases

The following reference databases and encyclopedias can provide general information on nearly any topic. It is a great place to start your research!

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is an online collection of a wide variety of reference books covering a multitude of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more.
  • Funk & Wagnall's Encyclopedia
    Database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full-text for each record is accessible by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
  • Gale Virtual Reference
    This database contains a host of keyword-searchable encyclopedias and reliable resources for background information in nearly every discipline.
  • Biography Research Center
    Comprehensive, current, and easy to use, the Biography Resource Center contains more than 440,000 biographies on more than 340,000 people from around the world and throughout history.

Keywords

When using the databases on the right, you can find material by searching for keywords, titles, authors, and more. In the seach boxes, you could try the following keywords:

  • Women
  • Gender
  • Feminism

To find more specific materials, try using two or more keywords, separated by AND:

  • Women AND Politics
  • Gender AND Sexuality
  • Feminism AND History

To search for a phrase, use quotations:

  • "Radical Feminism"
  • "Birth Control"

Also, when searching for keywords and phrases, remember that not everyone will use the same words for every topic. For example, a "woman" may also be called a "female." Or, "Birth Control" can also be called "Contraception." Accounting for these synonyms will help you find more resources. Before searching for articles or books, brainstorm a list of keywords that will help guide you.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip