Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017
This database covers various issues and topics relevant to the times, often providing multiple perspectives on a number of topics.
- Opposing ViewPoints In Context (Gale)
Covers hot social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Helps develop critical-thinking and information literacy skills by bringing together a variety of information on social issues. Includes more than 8,700 pro and con articles and is easy to use.
To see all of the articles and databases maintained by the library, please consult either:
These databases are good sources for finding general and citation information.
Additional Helpful Databases:
- Soc Index with Full Text
Most comprehensive sociology research database with abstracts from 845 core journals from 1895. Also has full text articles from 3500 journals.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
A comprehensive, full-text database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO)
It is a source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. This collection currently includes 108 document projects and archives with almost 4,300 documents and more than 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Also, included is an online version of Notable American Women or the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.
- Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.