This is the "Home" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Science  

Last Updated: May 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Science Research Guide! ! !

This research guide is to meant to lead patrons to information resources pertaining to Science, including resources in Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Mathematics, and Environmental Science.

 

Ask Us!

If we are online, you can ask us questions via chat.  Otherwise, you can type a message in and enter your email so that we can get back to you.


 

What Resources Should I Use?

I am looking to find resources for a research paper on a science topic or issue. . .

There are a variety of places in which you can go to research a science topic or issue.  To find scholarly research articles on a topic, you may wish to consult some of the databases under the "Articles and Databases" tab.  Amongst these databases, Wilson Science and Academic Search Complete are great places to begin finding articles on a wide variety of science topics and issues.  As well, other databases, such as GREENR, may provide good information if you are looking to find information specifically on environmental science topics.  

Another great place would be our Online Library Catalog, under the "Books and Multi-Media" tab of this guide.  Here you can find books by either author, title, or subject/keyword.  Often, books are excellent resources that can delve deeply in a given topic and can be great sources of information.  In addition, in the "Books and Multi-media Section of this guide you will see a number of new books from our collections on displayed, so please take the opportunity to browse.

I am looking to find some general information about a topic/issue. . .

There are a variety of places in which one might go to find general information on a topic/issue.  One place might be the reference section of the library where titles such as provide a wealth of background information on a variety of topics and issues.  In addition, you can also peruse some of our online reference sources, such as Credo Reference, Gale Virtual Reference, and Funk and Wagnall's Encyclopedia, which can be found under Reference and Citation Databases under the "Articles and Databases" Tab of this guide.  These online reference databases bring together a number of encyclopedias together and can be searched easily through keywords and subject searches.

I am looking to apply science and need the necassary information tools to help. . .

Again, there are a few places you can go.  You may first wish to explore some of the discipline-specific websites under the "Helpful Websites" tab of this guide, which can contain helpful sites such as The Online Periodic Table of Elements, Physical Reference Data, and the Chemistry Gold Book.  As well, you may again wish to check our reference books, by either searching the online catalog or perusing some of the books we have on the shelf.  Helpful titles such as the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Molecular Biology of the Cell, and Math Dictionary with Solutions can provide important sources of information as you work.

I am looking to find some information about news and events in this subject area. . .

To find current events, news stories, and helpful websites check out the Helpful Websites tab of this guide.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michael Andersen
 

Contact Us!

Morton College Library

Email:

reference@morton.edu

Phone:

708.656.8000 ext. 2429

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip