This is the "Physics and Astronomy" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Science  

Last Updated: May 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Physics and Astronomy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

 

EBSCO Science Article Search

EBSCO Science Article Search
Limit Your Results

Physics Reference Databases

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is an online searchable collection of a wide variety of reference books covering a multitude of subjects, with titles that would be helpful to any aspiring physicist or scientist.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of online searchable encyclopedias giving general reference on a broad variety of topics.
 

Featured Astronomy & Physics Books and Multi-Media

Cover Art
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 96th Edition - William M. Haynes (Editor)
Call Number: QD65 .H3 2015-16
ISBN: 9781482260960
Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 96th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.

Cover Art
Our Mathematical Universe - Max Tegmark
Call Number: QB981 .T44 2014
ISBN: 0307599809
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Max Tegmark leads us on an astonishing journey through past, present and future, and through the physics, astronomy and mathematics that are the foundation of his work, most particularly his hypothesis that our physical reality is a mathematical structure and his theory of the ultimate multiverse. In a dazzling combination of both popular and groundbreaking science, he not only helps us grasp his often mind-boggling theories, but he also shares with us some of the often surprising triumphs and disappointments that have shaped his life as a scientist. Fascinating from first to last—this is a book that has already prompted the attention and admiration of some of the most prominent scientists and mathematicians.

Cover Art
The New York Times Book of Physics and Astronomy - Cornelia Dean
Call Number: QC7 .N39 2013
ISBN: 9781402793202
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
From the discovery of distant galaxies and black holes to the tiny interstices of the atom, here is the very best on physics and astronomy from the New York Times! The newspaper of record has always prided itself on its award-winning science coverage, and these 125 articles from its archives are the very best, covering more than a century of breakthroughs, setbacks, and mysteries. Selected by former science editor Cornelia Dean, they feature such esteemed and Pulitzer Prize-winning writers as Malcolm W. Browne on teleporting, antimatter atoms, and the physics of traffic jams; James Glanz on string theory; George Johnson on quantum physics; William L. Laurence on Bohr and Einstein; Dennis Overbye on the recent discovery of the Higgs Boson; Walter Sullivan on the colliding beam machine; and more.

Cover Art
Smithsonian Universe - Martin Rees
Call Number: QB 982 .U55 2012
ISBN: 9780756698416
Publication Date: 2012-09-17
From the fiery mass of the Sun's core to the black hole at the center of the Milky Way, Universetakes you on the ultimate guided tour of the cosmos. Full of stunning out-of-this world images reflecting recent advances in space imagery, you'll go on a journey from our solar system all the way to the farthest limits of space.

Cover Art
Physics of the future : how science will shape human destiny and our daily lives by the year 2100 - Kaku, Michio
Call Number: Q 175.5 .K257 2011
ISBN: 1846142687
Publication Date: New York : Doubleday, c2011
Based on interviews with over three hundred of the world's top scientists, who are already inventing the future in their labs, Kaku - in a lucid and engaging fashion - presents the revolutionary developments in medicine, computers, quantum physics, and space travel that will forever change our way of life and alter the course of civilization itself.

Cover Art
A User's Guide to the Universe - Dave Goldberg; Jeff Blomquist
Call Number: QC 24.5 .G65 2010
ISBN: 9780470496510
Publication Date: 2010-02-22
This is an indispensable guide to physics that offers readers an overview of the most popular physics topics written in an accessible, irreverent, and engaging manner while still maintaining a tone of wry skepticism. Even the novice will be able to follow along, as the topics are addressed using plain English and (almost) no equations. Veterans of popular physics will also find their nagging questions addressed, like whether the universe can expand faster than light, and for that matter, what the universe is expanding into anyway.

Cover Art
The Cosmic Keyhole - Will Gater
Call Number: QB 982 .G38 2009
ISBN: 9781441905123
Publication Date: 2009-10-16
n the last thirty years humans have probed the Universe, explored the Solar System and visited with spacecraft some of the most incredible places humans have ever laid eyes upon. We have expanded our knowledge slowly and surely, but still now only see a glimpse of the bigger picture. The Cosmic Keyhole explores the big discoveries of recent years and asks what’s next? How prolific is life in the Universe? How far back to the Big Bang can we probe? And what hidden treasures still await us in the hidden corners of our Solar System?

Cover Art
The Elements - Theodore Gray (Photographer); Nicky Mann (Photographer)
Call Number: QD 466 .G73 2009
ISBN: 9781579128142
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Engaging text and photographs vividly showcase each element of the periodic table, offering a heightened sense of the material world to, truly, everyone--from students encountering chemistry in school for the first time to adults with a vague notion of facts learned long ago, to anyone curious and alive to either the aesthetics and the practicalities of "stuff." The photos include a full-page image of the pure element and smaller photos that show how that particular configuration of matter manifests itself in familiar, every-day objects. Gray has a media presence with his science writings; he is also co-founder of the company that created the technical software Mathematica and is a charming interpreter of the sciences for a general audience. This is a paperbound reprint of a 2009 publication. Annotation ©2012 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
Basic Physics for All - B. N. Kumar
Call Number: QC 21 .K86 2009
ISBN: 0761847820
Publication Date: 2009-08-04
Basic Physics for All focuses on the fundamental concepts of physics. Suitable for eleventh and twelfth grade students, as well as first year college students at two-year and four-year institutions, this book is a valuable tool for non-science and science majors alike. The text can be used extensively with teachers in training and students reviewing for the SAT in physics as well as the MCAT Quick Review

Cover Art
Quantum Theory - Oscar Zarate; J. P. McEvoy
Call Number: QC 173.98 .M63 2007
ISBN: 9781840468502
Publication Date: 2007
Quantum theory confronts us with bizarre paradoxes which contradict the logic of classical physics. At the subatomic level, one particle seems to know what the others are doing, and according to Heisenberg's "uncertainty principle", there is a limit on how accurately nature can be observed. And yet the theory is amazingly accurate and widely applied, explaining all of chemistry and most of physics. "Introducing Quantum Theory" takes us on a step-by-step tour with the key figures, including Planck, Einstein, Bohr, Heisenberg and Schrodinger. Each contributed at least one crucial concept to the theory. The puzzle of the wave-particle duality is here, along with descriptions of the two questions raised against Bohr's "Copenhagen Interpretation" - the famous "dead and alive cat" and the EPR paradox. Both remain unresolved.

Cover Art
Core astronomy - Meyer, Ronald C.
Call Number: DVD QB 44.3 .A88 2007
ISBN: B000VCF3M2
Publication Date: New York, NY : Ambrose Video, c2007
Core Astronomy examines the key points in the development of astronomy, beginning with Greek astronomer Ptolemy's earth centered paradigm to Nicolas Copernicus' introduction of a sun centered solar system, and Isaac Newton's three laws of motion. It then examines the discovery of Neptune, Einstein's theories of Special and General Relativity, Hubble's expanding universe, and the discoveries of quasars, white dwarfs, neutron stars, pulsars and black holes, and finally ends with astronomy's modern frontiers - the great attractor, dark matter and life existing on an extrasolar planet.

Cover Art
Understanding the Universe - Don Lincoln
Call Number: QC 793.26 .L56 2004
ISBN: 981238703X
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
This book explains the fascinating world of quarks and leptons and the forces that govern their behavior. Told from an experimental physicist's perspective, it forgoes mathematical complexity, using instead particularly accessible figures and apt analogies. In addition to the story of quarks and leptons, which are regarded as well-accepted fact, the author who is a leading researcher at the world's highest energy particle physics laboratory also discusses mysteries on both the experimental and theoretical frontier, before tying it all together with the exciting field of cosmology and indeed the birth of the universe itself.

Cover Art
The Firefly Encyclopedia of Astronomy - Paul Murdin (Editor); Margaret Penston
Call Number: QB 14 .F575 2004
ISBN: 1552977978
Publication Date: 2004-09-04
The Firefly Encyclopedia of Astronomy is organized A-Z with concise details on each topic. The pages are profusely illustrated with vivid computer graphics, photography and archival images. Included are accessible contributions by 650 world-leading astronomers covering:
-History from the Big Bang to present
-Famous astronomer bios
-Key space missions since the launch of Sputnik
-The work of observatories worldwide.

Cover Art
Relativity - Albert Einstein; Robert W. Lawson (Translator)
Call Number: QC/6/.E5/1961
ISBN: 0517884410
Publication Date: 1995-06-06
Time's 'Man of the Century', Albert Einstein is the unquestioned founder of modern physics. His theory of relativity is the most important scientific idea of the modern era. In this short book Einstein explains, using the minimum of mathematical terms, the basic ideas and principles of the theory which has shaped the world we live in today. Unsurpassed by any subsequent books on relativity, this remains the most popular and useful exposition of Einstein's immense contribution to human knowledge.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip