This is the "Fire Science" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Science  

Last Updated: May 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Fire Science Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

 

EBSCO Science Article Search

EBSCO Science Article Search
Limit Your Results

Fire Reference Databases

  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is an online searchable collection of a wide variety of reference books covering a multitude of subjects, with titles that would be helpful to any aspiring fire fighter or scientist.
  • Learning Express Library
    Learning Express Library has a wealth of practice tests and skill-building resources geared to help you succeed. Under the "Jobs and Careers" section you will find several practice tests and ebooks available to students. A free user account does have to be created to download the materials.
 

Featured Fire Science Books

Cover Art
Fire Phenomena and the Earth System - Claire M. Belcher (Editor)
Call Number: SD421 .F5165 2013
ISBN: 0470657480
Publication Date: 2013-05-28
Fire plays a key role in Earth system processes. Wildfires influence the carbon cycle and the nutrient balance of our planet, and may even play a role in regulating the oxygen content of our atmosphere. The evolutionary history of plants has been intimately tied to fire and this in part explains the distribution of our ecosystems and their ability to withstand the effects of natural fires today.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills - IAFC
Call Number: TH 9151 .S276 2012
ISBN: 1284059650
Publication Date: 2013-07-09
The Complete Fire Fighter I and Fire Fighter II Training Solution The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) are pleased to bring you the third edition of Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills, the next step in the evolution of Fire Fighter I and Fire Fighter II training.

Cover Art
Kirk's Fire Investigation - John D. De Haan; David J. Icove
Call Number: TH 9180 .K5 2012
ISBN: 9780135082638
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Taking the reader from the beginning stages of a fire investigation in evidence collection and evaluating a fire scene to the end stages of report writing and giving testimony, internationally recognized forensic scientist John DeHaan is joined by forensic fire engineering expert David Icove for the 7thedition of Kirk’s Fire Investigation. The model curriculum of the Fire Emergency Service Higher Education (FESHE) group serves as a basis for this important text which provides updated and expanded information on fire dynamics, ignition as well as brand new case examples. With appendices unique in content and focus including an Evidence Collection Kit and Incident Report Forms, this text serves as the keystone text in the field for both seasoned fire investigators as well as fire service professionals seeking the fundamentals and the most up-to-date information for the field of fire investigation.

Cover Art
An Introduction to Fire Dynamics - Dougal Drysdale
Call Number: QD 516 .D79 2011
ISBN: 9780470319031
Publication Date: 2011-09-19
A new edition of the leading introduction to the science of fire phenomena, complete with the latest research, data and additional problemsThis book is unique in that it identifies fire science and fire dynamics and provides the scientific background necessary to the development of fire safety engineering as a professional discipline. It is essential reading for all involved in the field from fire safety engineering students to fire prevention officers. After 21 years as a bestseller, Dougal Drysdale's classic introduction has been brought up-to-date with the latest data and research in a third edition. Features numerical problems with answers illustrating the quantitative applications of the concepts presented. Includes quantitative experimental data regarding material properties. Successfully course-tested at Massachusetts' Worcester Polytechnic Institute and the University of Edinburgh, and widely adopted throughout the world. Of relevance to those working in building design, fire physics and chemistry.

Cover Art
Barron's Firefighter Candidate Exams, 7th Edition - James Murtagh; Darryl Haefner
Call Number: TH 9157 .H568 2010
ISBN: 1438001312
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
This revised and updated manual presents--
A preliminary diagnostic exam with answers
Five full-length practice exams typical of firefighter exams given to candidates across North America
All test questions answered and explained
Includes information on revised candidate exams (CPAT)

Cover Art
Essentials of Fire Fighting and Fire Department Operations - Carl Goodson (Editor); Lynne Murnane (Editor); IFSTA Committee
Call Number: TH 9310.5 .E882 2008
ISBN: 9780135151112
Publication Date: 2008-01-02
This volume is correlated to the 2008 edition of NFPA 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications, Levels I and II, and is widely accepted as the standard of knowledge and skills measurement for all firefighters.

Cover Art
Fire Fighter's Handbook of Hazardous Materials - Charles J. Baker
Call Number: TH 9446 .H38 B35 2006
ISBN: 9780763734084
Publication Date: 2006-01-23
Hazardous materials are an inevitable part of every fire fighter's job. Knowing how to operate safely and take the necessary precautions is crucial. The Fire Fighter's Handbook of Hazardous Materials, Seventh Edition is a quick and simple reference book of hazardous substances that fire fighters are likely to encounter.

Cover Art
Hazardous Materials Chemistry - Armando S. Bevelacqua
Call Number: QD 33 .B48 2006
ISBN: 1401880894
Publication Date: 2005-08-02
The second edition of Hazardous Materials Chemistry explores basic principles of chemistry and toxicology so that first responders can efficiently identify a chemical hazard, anticipate potential outcomes, and make safe and informed decisions. Step-by-step coverage of the names of chemical families and their general categorical hazards and incompatibilities enable readers to not only grasp the science behind the chemicals and reactions but also apply principles to actual incidents. An all-new chapter on infrared spectroscopy brings the book up to date with the latest detection technology used in fire departments today.

Cover Art
Protecting Emergency Responders - Tom LaTourrette; D. J. Peterson; James Bartis (As told to)
Call Number: RA 645.5 .P76 2003
ISBN: 083303295X
Publication Date: 2003-07-28
This report examines the hazards that emergency responders face and the personal protective technology needed to contend with those hazards. Findings of the report are based on in-depth discussions with 190 members of the emergency responder community nationwide, including structural firefighters, emergency medical service responders, police officers, and emergency management officials. The report contains no subject index and author information is not given. Annotation (c)2003 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
Report from Ground Zero - Dennis Smith
Call Number: HV 6432 .S64 2002
ISBN: 067003116X
Publication Date: 2002-03-18
The tragic events of September 11, 2001 forever altered the American landscape, both figuratively and literally. Immediately after the jets struck the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center, Dennis Smith, a former firefighter, reported to Manhattan's Ladder Co. 16 to volunteer in the rescue efforts. In the weeks that followed, Smith was present on the front lines, attending the wounded, sifting through the wreckage, and mourning with New York's devastated fire and police departments.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip