This is the "Hitchcock" page of the "Film, Cinema, Movies, & Directors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Film, Cinema, Movies, & Directors  

A guide to film and film-director resources at the Morton College Library.
Last Updated: Jul 2, 2015 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/film Print Guide RSS Updates

Hitchcock Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Alfred Hitchcock Books Owned by the Morton College Library

Cover Art
Scripting Hitchcock - Walter Raubicheck, Walter Srebnick
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .H58 R38 2011
ISBN: 9780252078248 / 0252078241
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
A Hitchcock Reader - Marshall Deutelbaum (Editor); Leland Poague (Editor); Leland A. Poague; Deutelbaum
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .H58 H574 2009
ISBN: 9781405155571
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Year of Hitchcock - Jim McDevitt, Eric Y. T. Juan
Call Number: REF PN 1993.3 .H58 M36 2009
ISBN: 9780810881396 / 081088139X
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
The Way Hollywood Tells It: Story and Style in Modern Movies - David Bordwell
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .U6 B656 2006
ISBN: 9780520246225 / 0520246225
Publication Date: 2006
*
"David Bordwell is our best writer on the cinema. I find his book to be simply astonishing." -Roger Ebert

Cover Art
Alfred Hitchcock - Richard Allen (Editor); S. Ishii Gonzales (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .H58 A725 1999
ISBN: 9780851707365
Publication Date: 1999

Cover Art
The Art of Alfred Hitchcock - Donald Spoto
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .H58 S68 1992
ISBN: 9780385418133
Publication Date: 1991

Cover Art
Hitchcock's Films Revisited - Robin Wood
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .H58 W66 1989
ISBN: 9780231065504/0231065507
Publication Date: 1989

Cover Art
The Last Days of Alfred Hitchcock - David Freeman
Call Number: PN 1998 .A3 H5469 1984
ISBN: 9780879519841/0879519843
Publication Date: 1984

Cover Art
Hitchcock - Francois Truffaut; Francois Truffaut
Call Number: PN 1998 .A3 H573 1984
ISBN: 9780671604295
Publication Date: 1985

Cover Art
Focus on Hitchcock - Albert J. La Valley
Call Number: PN 1998 .A3 H548
ISBN: 9780133923650/0133923657
Publication Date: 1972

Cover Art
Hitchcock's Films - Robin Wood
Call Number: PN 1998 .A3 H58 1969
Publication Date: 1969

 

Alfred Hitchcock on Mastering Cinematic Tension

From the American Film Institute.

 

Alfred Hitchcock On Evoking An Emotional Response

From the American Film Institute.

 

Alfred Hitchcock Interview: Masters of Cinema, 1972

A brief guide to the interview can be found here:

http://www.filmdetail.com/2011/11/08/hitchcock-masters-of-cinema-interview-1972/ .

 

Alfred Hitchcock Films Owned by the Morton College Library

Alfred Hitchcock's North by Northwest
Call Number: DVD PN 1997 .A44 2009
*
Positioned between the much heavier and more profoundly disturbing Vertigo (1958) and the stark horror of Psycho (1960), North by Northwest (1959) is Alfred Hitchcock at his most effervescent in a romantic comedy-thriller. It's a classic Hitchcock Wrong Man scenario: Cary Grant is Roger O. Thornhill, an advertising executive who is mistaken by enemy spies for a U.S. undercover agent named George Kaplan. Convinced these sinister fellows are trying to kill him, Roger flees and meets a sexy Stranger on a Train (Eva Marie Saint), with whom he engages in one of the longest, most convolutedly choreographed kisses in screen history. Of course, there are the famous set pieces too: the stabbing at the United Nations, the crop-duster plane attack in the cornfield, and the cliffhanger finale atop the stone faces of Mount Rushmore. What more could a moviegoer possibly desire?--Jim Emerson

Alfred Hitchcock's Strangers on a Train
Call Number: DVD PN 1997 .S784 1997
*
Strange thing about this trip. So much occurs in pairs. Tennis star Guy (Farley Granger) hates his unfaithful wife. Mysterious Bruno (Robert Walker) hates his father. How perfect for a playful proposal: I'll kill yours, you kill mine. The laying bare of Bruno's hidden nature, along with the great set pieces (head-turning tennis match, disintegrating carousel) and suspense as only Hitchcock can deliver, makes for a first-class trip.

Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho
Call Number: DVD PN 1997 .P78 1999
*
Alfred Hitchcock's landmark masterpiece of the macabre stars Anthony Perkins as the troubled Norman Bates, whose old, dark house and adjoining motel are not the place to spend a quiet evening. No one knows that better than Marion Crane (Janet Leigh), the ill-fated traveler whose journey ends in the notorious "shower scene." First a private detective, then Marion's sister (Vera Miles) search for her. The horror and the suspense mount to a terrifying climax where the mysterious killer is finally revealed.

Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho
Call Number: DVD PS 3503 .L718 P89 1998
*
Alfred Hitchcock's landmark masterpiece of the macabre stars Anthony Perkins as the troubled Norman Bates, whose old, dark house and adjoining motel are not the place to spend a quiet evening. No one knows that better than Marion Crane (Janet Leigh), the ill-fated traveler whose journey ends in the notorious "shower scene." First a private detective, then Marion's sister (Vera Miles) search for her. The horror and the suspense mount to a terrifying climax where the mysterious killer is finally revealed.

Web Pages & Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    *
    Easy to search and navigate, a multi-disciplinary electronic collection of 8500+ academic jouranals, magazines, and newspapers. Many Hitchcock articles.
    -
  • Biography in Context
    *
    Content-rich, biography-focused resource. A lot of Hitchcock articles, essays, radio segments, videos and other resources.
    -
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    *
    A comprehensive sociology research database with full-text articles from 3500 journals. Some Hitchcock articles.
    -
  • Historic New York Times
    *
    An archive of the New York Times, 1851 to 2005. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. A lot of Hitchcock content.
    -
  • JSTOR
    *
    A digital archive of 1500+ academic journals filled with scholarly articles and content. Many Hitchcock articles.
    -
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    *
    Known for covering today’s hottest social issues, Opposing Viewpoints in Context still contains some potentially beneficial Hitchcock articles and media.Contains a broad variety of data from newspapers, magazines, academic journals, radio segments, and video.
    -
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    *
    A comprehensive, full-text database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. A few Hitchcock articles. For this topic, a lot of overlap with SocINDEX.
    -
  • Hitchcock Topics
    *
    A decently thorough site from Dr. Glen Johnson of Catholic University of America. Includes thorough insight into Hitchcock's themes, topics, techniques, and much more.
    -
  • Hitchcock Topics Bibliography
    *
    The bibliography from the Hitchcock Topics site, by Dr. Glen Johnson of Catholic University of America.
    -
  • Alfred Hitchcock: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
    *
    A guide and site on Hitchcock that includes an extensive, thorough bibliogrpahy. From the University of California Berkeley Library.
    -
  • Turner Classic Movies: Alfred Hitchcock
    *
    Contains some good core, reference content, including a signed biographical article.
    -
  • IMDB: Alfred Hitchcock
    *
    Contains a brief biographical article, filmography, discussions, trivia, and more.
    -
  • A 'The MacGuffin' Page
    *
    Kind-of like a junk-shop for Hitchcock scholars and enthusiasts. A little bit of this, a little bit of that. Not pretty to look at, but relates some potentially great resources and ideas.
    -
  • Senses of Cinema: Alfred Hitchcock
    *
    An essay/article on Hitchcock. Includes a bibliography of essential books and critical studies.
    -
  • Alfred's Place
    *
    A bibliography from a group of booksellers and Hitchcock fans.
    -
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip