This is the "Engineering" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Science  

Last Updated: May 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Engineering Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

 

EBSCO Science Article Search

EBSCO Science Article Search
Limit Your Results

Engineering Article Databases

  • Wilson Science with Full-Text
    With full text articles from more than 100 periodicals, this database has a wide selection of engineering journals and articles.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Covering virtually every area of academic study, this multi-disciplinary database offers full text information for nearly 4,515 scholarly journals. This is another great resource to uncover a wealth of scholarly articles on engineering topics and issues.
  • Gale Science Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of online searchable encyclopedias giving general reference on a broad variety of topics.

Credo Technology Reference

 

Featured Engineering Books

Cover Art
Careers in Science and Engineering - Michael Shally-Jensen (General Editor)
Call Number: Q147 .C375 2015
ISBN: 9781619258600
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Designed for students with STEM careers in mind, Careers in Science & Engineering explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning more about the many career opportunities available for those who want to purse a career in science or engineering.

Cover Art
Engineers of Victory - Paul Kennedy
Call Number: D 743 .K425 2013
ISBN: 9781400067619
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
Kennedy recounts the inside stories of the invention of the cavity magnetron, a miniature radar “as small as a soup plate,” and the Hedgehog, a multi-headed grenade launcher that allowed the Allies to overcome the threat to their convoys crossing the Atlantic; the critical decision by engineers to install a super-charged Rolls-Royce engine in the P-51 Mustang, creating a fighter plane more powerful than the Luftwaffe’s; and the innovative use of pontoon bridges (made from rafts strung together) to help Russian troops cross rivers and elude the Nazi blitzkrieg. He takes readers behind the scenes, unveiling exactly how thousands of individual Allied planes and fighting ships were choreographed to collectively pull off the invasion of Normandy, and illuminating how crew chiefs perfected the high-flying and inaccessible B-29 Superfortress that would drop the atomic bombs on Japan.

The story of World War II is often told as a grand narrative, as if it were fought by supermen or decided by fate. Here Kennedy uncovers the real heroes of the war, highlighting for the first time the creative strategies, tactics, and organizational decisions that made the lofty Allied objectives into a successful reality. In an even more significant way, Engineers of Victory has another claim to our attention, for it restores “the middle level of war” to its rightful place in history.

Cover Art
Wings in Orbit: Scientific and Engineering Legacies of the Space Shuttle 1971-2010 - Wayne Hale (Editor); Helen Lane (Editor); National Aeronautics and Space Administration (Editor); John Young (Foreword by); Kamlesh Lulla (Editor); Gail Chapline (Editor); Robert Crippen (Foreword by)
Call Number: TL 521 .S63 2010
ISBN: 9780160868467
Publication Date: 2011-04-07
Wings in Orbitis an authoritative documentation of the many accomplishments of the NASA Space Shuttle Program. Starting with a foreword written by astronauts John Young and Robert Crippen, this compelling book provides accurate, authentic and easily understood accounts from NASA’s best subject matter experts and external resources. The book captures the passion of those who devoted their energies to the Program’s success for more than three decades. It focuses on their science and engineering accomplishments, the rich history of the program and the shuttle as an icon in U.S. history. No other book on the market has accumulated as many experts and resources on this subject nor broken it down in such easy to understand language with compelling imagery. With the Shuttle Program coming to a close, consumers will be inclined to purchase this book as it provides comprehensive information on this historic program as it ends its 30 year run. The promotions for this book will definitely benefit from the publicity of this historic event.

Cover Art
Women in Engineering - Margaret Layne
Call Number: TA 157 .W674 2009
ISBN: 9780784409800
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Women in Engineering: Pioneers and Trailblazers introduces the visionary women who opened the door for today s female engineers. Pioneers such as Emily Roebling, Kate Gleason, Edith Clarke, and Katherine Stinson come to life in this anthology of essays, articles, lectures, and reports. In this book, the significant contributions women have made to engineering, in areas as diverse as construction management, environmental protection, and industrial efficiency, are finally placed in their proper historical context. Studies on women engineers in the 1920s and in the years following World War II, underscore how far women have progressed in engineering, and how far they have to go. With selections that span a century of historical and social analysis, Women in Engineering: Pioneers and Trailblazers and its companion volume, Women in Engineering: Professional Life, present a range of perspectives on women in engineering that will be of interest to historians, engineers, educators, and students. About the Author Margaret E. Layne, P.E., is project director of Advance VT, a program created at Virginia Tech to increase the participation and advancement of women in academic science and engineering careers.

Cover Art
Machinery's Handbook - Riccardo M. Heald (Editor); Erik Oberg; Franklin D. Jones; Holbrook L. Horton; Henry H. Ryffel; Christopher J. McCauley (Editor)
Call Number: TJ 151 .M33 2008
ISBN: 9780831128005
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Celebrating nearly 100 years as "The Bible of the Mechanical Industries", the 28th edition brings together volumes of knowledge, information and data gathered, revised and improved upon from experts throughout the mechanical industries. Extraordinarily comprehensive yet easy to use since it premiered,Machinery's Handbook provides mechanical and manufacturing engineers, designers, draftsmen, toolmakers, and machinists with a broad range material, from the very basic to the more advanced. It has always, and continues to provide industry fundamentals and standards while it moves into the 21st century with material reflecting technological advances and offering vast editorial improvements, making the28th Editionthe best tool…ever!

Cover Art
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations - S. David Hicks (Editor); Tyler Hicks
Call Number: TA 332 .H35 2007
ISBN: 0071472932
Publication Date: 2007-05-02
"Covering all aspects of civil engineering calculations in an easy-to-understand format, the new edition of the 'Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations' has been revised and updated with over 500 key calculations that show you exactly how to compute the desired values for a particular design-going quickly from data to finished result. Using both customary and SI units, this comprehensive engineer's resource is what you need to solve the civil engineering problems that come your way. From structural steel to reinforced concrete, from bridges and dams to highways and roads, Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, 2e, lets you handle all of these design calculations quickly-and more importantly, correctly." -- Publisher description.

Cover Art
Principles and Applications of Electrical Engineering - Giorgio Rizzoni; T. T. Hartley
Call Number: TK 146 .R473 2007
ISBN: 0072962984
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
New edition of a text aimed at providing the nonelectrical engineering student--typically in the second or third year of a four-year curriculum--with a foundation for understanding the basic principles of electrical and electronic systems. No attempt is made to cover all topics in electrical engineering; a number of topics commonly found in more encyclopedic texts are not included, and the exclusions allow for more concentration on the foundations. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.

Cover Art
CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables - Richard C. Dorf (Editor)
Call Number: TA 151 .C76 2004
ISBN: 0849315875
Publication Date: 2003-11-24
The most important tables from every engineering discipline in one volume collected from the best, most authoritative references in the business--it's now more than wishful thinking. The CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables makes it a reality. The most frequently consulted tables and figures from CRC's acclaimed engineering handbooks are gathered together to provide a one-stop resource for the data that engineers around the world rely upon.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Engineering - McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: TA 9 .M345 2004
ISBN: 0071439528
Publication Date: 2005-05-25
The McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Engineering contains a wealth of content covering a wide range of engineering concepts and topics.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Architectural and Engineering Feats - Donald Langmead; Christine Garnaut
Call Number: NA 200 .L32 2001
ISBN: 157607112X
Publication Date: 2001-12-06
Encyclopedia of Architectural and Engineering Feats presents more than 200 achievements in architecture and structural engineering in all the inhabited continents, from prehistory to the present.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip