This is the "Earth and Environmental Science" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Science  

Last Updated: May 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Earth and Environmental Science Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

 

EBSCO Science Article Search

EBSCO Science Article Search
Limit Your Results

National Geographic

  • National Geographic
    With in depth looks at nature and the places and cultures of our time, National Geographic provides unique insights into peoples and societies and their environments. This National Geographic Archive spans the century and covers many environmental topics.

Earth/Environmental Reference Databases

  • Gale Science Reference
    Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of online searchable encyclopedias giving general reference on a broad variety of topics. Check out the science section to find great chemistry titles such as The 100 Most Important Chemical Compounds, Natural Gas and Hydrogen, and The Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics.
  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is an online searchable collection of a wide variety of reference books covering a multitude of subjects, with titles that would be helpful to any aspiring chemist or scientist.

GREENR Enironmental Database

  • GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)
    Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia. Use Browse Issues and Topics, World Map, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
 

Featured Earth/Environmental Science Books

Cover Art
The Planet Remade - How Geoengineering Could Change the World - Oliver Morton
Call Number: QC903 .M678 2016
ISBN: 9780691175904
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
The risks of global warming are pressing and potentially vast. The difficulty of doing without fossil fuels is daunting, possibly even insurmountable. So there is an urgent need to rethink our responses to the crisis. To meet that need, a small but increasingly influential group of scientists is exploring proposals for planned human intervention in the climate system: a stratospheric veil against the sun, the cultivation of photosynthetic plankton, fleets of unmanned ships seeding the clouds. These are the technologies of geoengineering--and as Oliver Morton argues in this visionary book, it would be as irresponsible to ignore them as it would be foolish to see them as a simple solution to the problem.

Cover Art
The Age of Sustainable Development - Jeffrey D. Sachs; Ki-Moon Ban (Foreword by)
Call Number: HC79.E5 S2155 2015
ISBN: 9780231173155
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Jeffrey D. Sachs is one of the world's most perceptive and original analysts of global development. In this major new work he presents a compelling and practical framework for how global citizens can use a holistic way forward to address the seemingly intractable worldwide problems of persistent extreme poverty, environmental degradation, and political-economic injustice: sustainable development.

Cover Art
Environmental Science - Frank R. Spellman; Melissa L. Stoudt
Call Number: GE105 .S74 2013
ISBN: 9780810886100
Publication Date: 2013-02-14
Environmental Science: Principles and Practices provides the scientific principles, concepts, applications, and methodologies required to understand the interrelationships of the natural world, identify and analyze environmental problems both natural and manmade, evaluate the relative risks associated with these problems, and examine alternative solutions (such as renewable energy sources) for resolving and even preventing them. Frank R. Spellman and Melissa Stoudt introduce the science of the environmental mediums of air, water, soil, and biota to undergraduate students.

Cover Art
Handbook of Geoscience - Frank R. Spellman; Melissa L. Stoudt
Call Number: QE5 .S65 2013
ISBN: 0810886146
Publication Date: 2013-02-14
The science of geology was constructed in the decades around 1800 from earlier practices that had been significantly different in their cognitive goals. In the studies collected here Martin Rudwick traces how it came to be recognised as a new kind of natural science, because it was constituted around the idea that the natural world had its own history. The earth had to be understood not only in relation to unchanging natural laws that could be observed in action in the present, but also in terms of a pre-human past that could be reliably known, even if not directly observable and its traces only fragmentarily preserved. In contrast to this radically novel sense of nature's own contingent history, the earth's unimaginably vast timescale was already taken for granted by many naturalists (though not yet by the wider public), and the concurrent development of biblical scholarship precluded any significant sense of conflict with religious tradition.

Cover Art
Environmental Science - Frank R. Spellman; Melissa L. Stoudt
Call Number: GE105 .S74 2013
ISBN: 0810886103
Publication Date: 2013-02-14
Environmental Science: Principles and Practices provides the scientific principles, concepts, applications, and methodologies required to understand the interrelationships of the natural world, identify and analyze environmental problems both natural and manmade, evaluate the relative risks associated with these problems, and examine alternative solutions (such as renewable energy sources) for resolving and even preventing them.

Cover Art
Climate Change - Jonathan Cowie
Call Number: QH543 .C69 2013
ISBN: 1107603560
Publication Date: 2012-11-30
The second edition of this acclaimed text has been fully updated and substantially expanded to include the considerable developments (since publication of the first edition) in our understanding of the science of climate change, its impacts on biological and human systems, and developments in climate policy.

Cover Art
Changing Planet, Changing Health - Paul R. Epstein; Dan Ferber; Jeffrey D. Sachs (Foreword by)
Call Number: RA 793 .E67 2011
ISBN: 9780520269095
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Climate change is now doing far more harm than marooning polar bears on melting chunks of ice--it is damaging the health of people around the world. Brilliantly connecting stories of real people with cutting-edge scientific and medical information, Changing Planet, Changing Health brings us to places like Mozambique, Honduras, and the United States for an eye-opening on-the-ground investigation of how climate change is altering patterns of disease. Written by a physician and world expert on climate and health and an award-winning science journalist, the book reveals the surprising links between global warming and cholera, malaria, lyme disease, asthma, and other health threats. In clear, accessible language, it also discusses topics including Climategate, cap-and-trade proposals, and the relationship between free markets and the climate crisis. Most importantly, Changing Planet, Changing Health delivers a suite of innovative solutions for shaping a healthy global economic order in the twenty-first century"-- Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
The Reporter's Handbook on Nuclear Materials, Energy, and Waste Management - Michael R. Greenberg; Bernadette M. West; Karen W. Lowrie; Henry J. Mayer
Call Number: TK 9145 .R42 2009
ISBN: 9780826516596
Publication Date: 2009-04-24
An essential reference for journalists, activists, and students, this book presents scientifically accurate and accessible overviews of 24 of the most important issues in the nuclear realm, including: health effects, nuclear safety and engineering, TMI and Chernobyl, nuclear medicine, food irradiation, transport of nuclear materials, spent fuel, nuclear weapons, global warming. Each "brief" is based on interviews with named scientists, engineers, or administrators in a nuclear specialty, and each has been reviewed by a team of independent experts. The objective is not to make a case for or against nuclear-related technologies, but rather to provide definitive background information.

Cover Art
How the Ocean Works - Mark Denny
Call Number: GC 21 .D398 2008
ISBN: 9780691126463
Publication Date: 2008-04-14
The world's oceans account for roughly 71 percent of the planet's surface and 99 percent of its livable volume. Any study of this huge habitat requires a solid foundation in the principles that underlie marine biology and physical and chemical oceanography, yet until now undergraduate textbooks have largely presented compilations of facts rather than explanations of principles.How the Ocean Worksfills this gap, providing a concise and accessible college-level introduction to marine science that is also ideal for general readers. How are winds and currents driven? What is the dilemma of the two-layered ocean? Mark Denny explains key concepts like these in rich and fascinating detail. He explores early scientific knowledge of oceans, photosynthesis, trophic interactions and energy flow, and the impacts of human activities on marine and atmospheric systems. Focusing each chapter on a major topic and carefully explaining the principles and theory involved, Denny gives readers the conceptual building blocks needed to develop a coherent picture of the living ocean.How the Ocean Worksis an indispensable resource that teaches readers how to think about the ocean--its biology, mechanics, and conservation. Provides a concise, up-to-date introduction to marine science Develops the conceptual basis needed to understand how the ocean works Explains fundamental principles and theory Includes color illustrations and informative diagrams.

Cover Art
Environmental Issues - Robert L. McConnell; Daniel C. Abel
Call Number: HC 59 .S8356 2008
ISBN: 9780131566507
Publication Date: 2007-04-03
This book combines simple math, the metric system, and critical thinking to gain insight into relevant local, regional, and global environmental issues, with a focus on sustainability. The presentation of real-world issues and examples fosters the development of the math and analytical skills necessary to truly think critically and to understand these complex issues. A seven-part organization examines basic concepts and tools, as well as topical, relevant, and timely issues related to principles of sustainability, population and migration, climate change, energy, consumption and the quality of life, threats to ecosystems, and sustainability and the individual. For individuals interested in environmental studies and science, and in the relationship of math and science to the environment.

Cover Art
Visualizing Physical Geography - Alan H. Strahler; Zeeya Merali (As told to)
Call Number: GB 54.5 .S7845 2007
ISBN: 9780470095720
Publication Date: 2007-09-17
Go beyond the words on a page and discover how the Earth works by visualizing critical concepts. This book takes an innovative approach by telling the story though images taken from the National Geographic Society. By weaving photos, drawings and maps into the text, readers will be able to easily learn the complex processes of the Earth's surface. It arms them with a fuller more accessible picture of the science.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip