This is the "Home" page of the "Physical Education/Nutrition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Physical Education/Nutrition  

Last Updated: May 24, 2016 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/content.php?pid=510597 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for Books & Multi-Media Items

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

Physical Education/ Nutrition Reference Databases

  • Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video
    Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is the most extensive video collection ever assembled in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
  • Health Source: Consummer Edition
    Features searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health. Covers many health topics including food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
  • Health and Society in Video
    Health and Society in Video defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society-- with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.

Relevant Websites

  • Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)
    Part of United States Department of Agriculture, the Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) is a useful site for those looking for more information on the recommend dietary guidelines, the Healthy Eating Index, or "MyPlate" which replaced the Food Pyramid in 2011, as well as many other resources.
  • Nutrition.gov
    Nutrition.gov provides easy access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
  • Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
    The Food and Nutrition Information Center - a leader in food and human nutrition information dissemination since 1971 - provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
 

Books

Cover Art
ACSM's Resources for the Personal Trainer - American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) Staff
Call Number: GV428.7 .A47 2014
ISBN: 9781451108590
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
ACSM’s Resources for the Personal Trainer provides a broad introduction to the field of personal training, covering both basic science topics and practical application. It was originally designed to help people prepare for the ACSM Personal Training Certification Exam. It continues to serve that function, but the market for it has expanded to practitioners in the field looking for an additional resource, as well as in an academic setting where the book is a core text for personal training programs.

Cover Art
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease - Shils; Katherine L. Tucker; Benjamin Caballero; Robert J. Cousins; A. Catharine Ross; Thomas R. Ziegler
Call Number: QP141 .M64 2014
ISBN: 9781605474618
Publication Date: 2012-12-18
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease, 11th Edition, offers coverage of nutrition's role in disease prevention, international nutrition issues, public health concerns, the role of obesity in a variety of chronic illnesses, genetics as it applies to nutrition, and areas of major scientific progress relating nutrition to disease.

Cover Art
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health - Gale Editor (Editor)
Call Number: REF RA423 .G35 2013
ISBN: 9781414498768
Publication Date: 2013-06-14
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures. Entries are focused on issues in the United States but include information on other countries, including Australia and the United Kingdom. Entries also include resources for further information, full-color illustrations and photographs, statistical tables, and Key Terms sidebars; the book will also provide contact information for organizations and government programs, a glossary, and cross references. Public Health is an excellent reference for high school and college students conducting research, as well as the general public.

Also available as an ebook!

Cover Art
The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets - Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor)
Call Number: RA 784 .G345 2013
ISBN: 1414429916
Publication Date: 2007-11-26
Also available as an ebook!
This reference contains 275 articles contributed by specialists in nutrition and medical writing. Topics are arranged alphabetically, with a master index at the end of the second volume. Color figures illustrate some articles, while lists of resources—books, periodicals, and organizations—accompany all of them. In addition to special or popular diets (Anti-inflammatory diets, Subway diet), the encyclopedia describes nutrition-related health problems (Bulimia nervosa, Diabetes mellitus) and other nutrition-related topics (Food labeling, St. Johns wort).

Cover Art
An Introduction to Community Health - Jerome E. Kotecki; James F. McKenzie; Robert R. Pinger
Call Number: RA445 .M29 2012
ISBN: 9780763790110
Publication Date: 2011-03-03
An Introduction to Community Health, Seventh Edition, has been updated to reflect the latest trends and statistics in community health. With an emphasis on developing the knowledge and skills necessary for a career in health education, this best-selling introductory text covers such topics as epidemiology, community organization, program planning, minority health, health care, mental health, environmental health, drugs, safety, and occupational health. Short scenarios, key terminology, marginal definitions, and web activities are included in each chapter to make this an accessible and reader-friendly resource for the beginning community health student.

Cover Art
Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process - L. Kathleen Mahan; Sylvia Escott-Stump; Janice L. Raymond
Call Number: REF RM216 .M285 2012
ISBN: 9781437722338
Publication Date: 2011-08-24
The most respected nutrition text for more than 50 years, Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process delivers comprehensive and up-to-date information from respected educators and practitioners in the field. The latest recommendations include the new MyPlate guide, the Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2010, new and expanded chapters, and a large variety of tables, boxes, and pathophysiology algorithms, all providing need-to-know information with ease. New co-editor Janice L. Raymond joins L. Kathleen Mahan and Sylvia Escott-Stump and nearly 50 leading educators, researchers, and practitioners in writing a nutrition text that's ideal for use in class or everyday practice

Cover Art
Complete Guide to Sport Education - Daryl Siedentop; Peter A. Hastie; Hans Van Der Mars
Call Number: GV709.2 .S663 2011
ISBN: 9780736098380
Publication Date: 2011-02-22
This second edition of Complete Guide to Sport Education will help school programs meet national physical activity guidelines and the national physical education standards established by NASPE. It contains everything that future physical education teachers need in order to implement an effective program. With its greater emphasis on activity and fitness, its expanded resources, its relevance and freshness, and its practical approach, Complete Guide to Sport Education, Second Edition, is just what your students need to point children in the direction of healthy, active lifestyles.

Cover Art
Sports Nutrition and Exercise - Lilah Al-Masri; Simon Bartlett
Call Number: TX 361 .A8 M374 2011
ISBN: 9780763778866
Publication Date: 2010-02-22
100 Questions and Answers About Sports Nutrition provides easily accessible answers to questions that athletes, athletic trainers and coaches may have about sports nutrition. Equipped with case studies, quick tips, and testimonials, this practical guide covers topics such as: vitamins and minerals, fluids, medications and supplements, weight management, warm ups and cool downs, flexibility, and more.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Sport and Exercise Nutrition - Marie Dunford
Call Number: TX361.A8 D857 2010
ISBN: 9780736076319
Publication Date: 2010-01-18
Fundamentals of Sport and Exercise Nutrition provides readers with a preparatory look at the exciting field of sport and exercise nutrition, including its foundational concepts and the diverse career options available. With this one-stop resource, students thinking of entering the field, athletes, and those working with athletes will gain a basic understanding of how nutrition affects sport performance and exercise training. They will also see how this knowledge is put to work in today’s sport environmen

Cover Art
Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs - Muriel J. Harris
Call Number: RA 440.4 .H37 2010
ISBN: 9780470400876
Publication Date: 2010-03-08
Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs combines an introduction to public and community health program evaluation with a detailed survey of methods in community assessment, planning, program design, quantitative and qualitative data collection, data analysis, and reporting of findings. The book presents an approach built on the two primary evaluation frameworks that are most common in public and community health: the Donaldson three-step program theory-driven evaluation model and CDC's six-step Framework for Program Evaluation in Public Health. The author emphasizes practical, ongoing evaluation strategies that involve all program stakeholders, not just evaluation experts, and presents a simple and effective standards-based four-step model that will produce rich and useful results. The book's resources (scenarios, worksheets, and guidelines) can be used throughout the planning, implementation, and evaluation process. In addition, each chapter includes a list of learning objectives, key terms, and ideas for review, as well as summaries and discussion questions that can reinforce each chapter's lessons.

Cover Art
Sports Nutrition - Asker Jeukendrup
Call Number: QP176 .S66 2010
ISBN: 9781841262963
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
Sports Nutrition: From Lab to Kitchen is written by leaders in the field who discuss the latest science and translate the scientific findings into a practical message. This book bridges the gap between science and practice.

Cover Art
The Outward Bound Wilderness First-Aid Handbook, Revised and Updated - Jeffrey Isaac
Call Number: RC88.9.O95 I82 2008
ISBN: 9780762745135
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
This comprehensive reference book clearly explains essential diagnostics and first-aid procedures necessary for wilderness injuries. Included are general principles in wilderness medicine; basic life support; outlines of major body systems, bones, joints, and soft tissue injuries, as well as toxins, allergens, common symptoms and cures; medical supplies; wilderness travel; and the newest first-aid methods for outdoor situations. This handbook is based on the continuously revised and updated Wilderness Medical Associates curriculum, and is an essential reference for anyone headed into the great outdoors.

Cover Art
Nutrition Almanac - John D. Kirschmann; Nutrition Search, Inc Staff
Call Number: REF 784 .N837 2007
ISBN: 0071436588
Publication Date: 2006-12-21
The Nutrition Almanac offers you reliable information based on the latest scientific discoveries as well as an expanded section on essential vitamins and minerals and their amazing benefits. All the nutritional information you need is here, so enhancing and maintaining good health is easy!

Cover Art
American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide - Roberta Larson Duyff; American Dietetic Association Staff
Call Number: REF RA 784 .D89 2006
ISBN: 0470041153
Publication Date: 2006-09-18
The choices you make every day about food, nutrition, and health can have a major impact on your life. To find the most reliable nutrition information and positive advice for achieving optimal health, look no further--this comprehensive book from the American Dietetic Association explains everything you need to know about eating for health. It's packed with simple, practical tips and flexible guidelines to help you choose nutritious, flavorful, and convenient foods that suit your needs and lifestyle no matter what your age or stage of life.

Cover Art
First Aid, CPR, and AED - Alton L. Thygerson; Benjamin Gulli; Jon R. Krohmer
Call Number: REF RD 86.7 .T473
ISBN: 0763742090
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
First Aid, CPR, and AED, Fifth Edition is the center of an integrated teaching and learning system that offers instructor, student, and technology resources to better support instructors and prepare students. The text includes: Coverage of the 2005 CPR and ECC Guidelines Current information on injured and illnesses: Core information for first aiders presented in a clear and straightforward format. Skills Drills: Offer step-by-step explanations and visual summaries of important skills. Flowcharts: Reinforce the decision-making process and appropriate procedures. Decision Tables: Provide a concise summary of what signs first aiders should look for and what treatment steps they should take.

Cover Art
Sports Nutrition Guidebook - Nancy Clark
Call Number: TX 361 .A8 C54 2003
ISBN: 073604602x
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
More than 350,000 fitness enthusiasts and athletes have already turned to the first two editions of this book for straightforward sports nutrition and weight management advice. Now the all-time best-selling sports nutrition guide has been thoroughly updated with realistic eating strategies to help you make nutritious, tasty food choices in today's fast-paced, high-stress, eat-on-the-run society.

Renowned sports nutritionist Nancy Clark shows you what to eat to boost energy, reduce stress, control weight, improve health, and enhance workouts—even when coping with a stressful lifestyle. You'll learn how to navigate your way healthfully through grocery stores, restaurants, food courts, and even your own kitchen, with numerous food suggestions and sample meal plans. You'll find more than 72 recipes for healthful, mouth-watering meals that are quick and easy to prepare.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michael Andersen
 

DVDs and Films

Cover Art
Weight of the Nation
Call Number: DVD RC 628 .W45
ISBN: 0883929242887
Publication Date: 7/31/2012
This presentation from HBO examines the phenomenon of obesity in America. The 4-part documentary series took three years to make, and combines insight from some of the nation's leading research institutions and authorities on obesity, the prevention of obesity, and the reason for its prevalence in the USA.

Cover Art
Hungry for change - Colquhoun, James,
Call Number: DVD RA784 .N87 2012
ISBN: B008MIYKR6
Publication Date: New York: Docuramafilms : c2012.
From the creators of the best-selling documentary Food Matters comes another hard-hitting film certain to rock your world. HUNGRY FOR CHANGE exposes shocking secrets the diet, weight loss and food industry don't want you to know about: deceptive strategies designed to keep you coming back for more. Find out what's keeping you from having the body and health you deserve and how to escape the diet trap forever. Featuring interviews with bestselling health authors and leading medical experts plus real-life transformational stories with people who know what it's like to be sick and overweight.

First Response: The ABC's of CPR: The Complete Guide to CPR, Heart Attack, Stroke, Choking and Introduction to AED
Call Number: DVD RC 87.9 .C45 2006
Publication Date: 2006
You will learn techniques such as Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and how to deal with choking situations for an adult and children over 8 years old. You will also learn to recognize and give first aid for someone suffering from a heart attack or stroke. Also introduced are AEDs (Automatic External Defibrillators).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip