This is the "Writing Position Papers" page of the "Women's and Gender Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Women's and Gender Studies  

This guide explains how to locate materials on women's and gender studies, which cuts across all disciplines and areas of the collection.
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/gender Print Guide RSS Updates

Writing Position Papers Print Page
  Search: 
 

Where to Start?

1) An excellent place to start exploring your position paper is by using Gale Opposing Viewpoints.

This database can be accessed from any computer using your student login and password. If you click on the "Browse Issues" tab, it will provide you with a list of current topics. Each of these sections features articles, opinion pieces, bibliographies, statistics, video, and more.

2) Next, search for scholarly articles on the library databases, which you can find here: Library Databases by Subject. You can also use the databases listed in the "Articles and Databases" tab of this LibGuide. Utilize the Keywords box on that page for search tips.

3) Search the Morton Library catalog for books! Use the same search strategies that you did above for articles and databases. If the library does not have a book on the topic you are looking for, we can order a book for you through I-Share. It only takes 3-5 days to arrive, and you can choose books from over 80 different libraries from around the state. For more information, just ask a librarian, or see the I-Share LibGuide for more information!

      

    How Do I Cite Sources?

    When researching and writing, you must CITE - or give credit - to your sources. Each idea you use that is not your own must be cited. Further, you must put "quotation marks" around exact words and phrases that you use that were written by another person (and cite these too!). Citation helps your reader to make connections between ideas, refer back to ideas that they would like to explore further, and to find out if your research and writing is valid and accurate.


    To find out more about citation styles, please see our LibGuide on Citation!

    What is a Scholarly Source?

    Not all information sources are acceptable for use in an academic paper. The following criteria must be met in order to consider it a "scholarly source."

  • Accuracy
  • Are there errors, omissions, contradictions?  Can you verify the information somewhere else?

  • Authority
  • Is the author qualified to write on this subject?

  • Objectivity
  • Is the information biased? Does the author clearly state their biases?

  • Coverage
  • What topics are covered? Is the information in-depth, or superficial?

  • Currency
  • Is the information relevant?  Is it outdated?

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip