This guide explains how to locate materials on women's and gender studies, which cuts across all disciplines and areas of the collection.
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2014
Every March, the United States celebrates the accomplishments of women throughout history. 2013 is an especially relevant year for women in Illinois, as they acheived the right to vote (suffrage) in June of 1913, exactly 100 years ago. International Women's Day is also celebrated on March 8th, a day created in 1911 to draw attention to women's issues all around the world. The following resources can help to get you started on any topic about women in history, both nationally and internationally.
- Academic Search Complete
Covering virtually every area of academic study, this multi-disciplinary database offers full text information for nearly 9,000 scholarly journals, periodicals, and news sources. This is especially important as Women's Studies is an interdiciplinary subject that can be found spread across academia.
This site allows you to explore your family history and genealogy.
- Historic Chicago Tribune
Use this database to find newspaper articles dating back to 1847. The full text of all articles are searchable.
- Historic New York Times
Use this database to find newspaper articles dating back to 1851. The full text of all articles are searchable.
Find a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals filled with scholarly articles and content. Morton subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I and Life Sciences databases.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. This collection currently includes 108 document projects and archives with almost 4,300 documents and more than 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,200 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. Also, included is an online version of Notable American Women or the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.
The Moral Property of Women: A History of Birth Control Politics in America
Call Number: HQ 766.5 .U5 G66 2002
Publication Date: 2007-03-12
Arguing that reproduction control has always been central to women's status, The Moral Property of Women shows how opposition to it has long been part of the conservative opposition to gender equality. From its roots in folk medicine and in a campaign so broad it constituted a grassroots social movement at some points in history, to its legitimization through public policy, the widespread acceptance of birth control has involved a major reorientation of sexual values.
The Women's Revolution in Mexico, 1910-1953
Call Number: HQ 1236.5 .M6 W658 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
This book reinvigorates the debate on the Mexican Revolution, exploring what this pivotal event meant to women. The contributors offer a fresh look at women's participation in their homes and workplaces and through politics and community activism. They show how women of diverse backgrounds with differing goals were actively involved, first in military roles during the violent early phase of civil war, and later in the state-building process. Drawing on a variety of perspectives, the volume illuminates the ways women variously accepted, contested, used, and manipulated the revolutionary project in Mexico. All too often, attention has been limited to elite, pro-revolutionary women's formal political activities, particularly their pursuit of suffrage. This timely volume broadens traditional perspectives, drawing on new scholarship that considers grassroots participation in institution building and the contested nature of the revolutionary process. Recovering narratives that have been virtually written out of the historical record, this book brings us a rich and complex array of women's experiences in the revolutionary and post-revolutionary era in Mexico.
A Few Good Women: America's Military Women from World War I to the Wars in Iraq and Afghanistan
Call Number: UB 418 .W65 M66 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-06
Using interviews, correspondence, and diaries, as well as archival material, Evelyn M. Monahan and Rosemary Neidel-Greenlee tell the remarkable story of America’s “few good women” who today make up more than 15 percent of the U.S. armed forces and who serve alongside men in almost every capacity. Here are the stories of the battles these women fought to march beside their brothers; their tales of courage and fortitude; of the indignities they’ve endured; the injustices they’ve overcome; of the blood they’ve shed; the comrades they’ve lost; and the challenges they still face in the twenty-first century.
Right Here I See My Own Books: The Woman's Building Library at the World's Columbian Exposition
Call Number: Z 732 .I2 W33 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
On May 1, 1893, the World s Columbian Exposition in Chicago opened its gates to an expectant public eager to experience firsthand its architectural beauty, technological marvels, and vast array of cultural treasures gathered from all over the world. Among the most popular of the fair s attractions was the Woman s Building, a monumental exhibit hall filled with the products of women s labor including more than 8,000 volumes of writing by women. Right Here I See My Own Books examines the progress, content, and significance of this historic first effort to assemble a comprehensive library of women s texts.