This is the "Music History Books & Multi-Media" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Music  

Last Updated: Jun 17, 2015 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Music History Books & Multi-Media Print Page
  Search: 
 

LC Organization

Our books are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Music scores, books on music history, and musical figures are mainly located in the M section of our catalog. For more information please see the link below.

 - Music

 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

 

Music History Books

We also have a good selection of biographies on specific musicians, from Beethoven to James Brown to David Bowie. They are located on the second floor and you can also search "biography" in our online catalog and narrow down your search by keywords on the right hand side of the results page.

Cover Art
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians - Stanley Sadie (Editor)
ISBN: 0333231112
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
20 volumes packed full of information on musical history, composers, artists and more. It's an invaluable aid for the serious student or writer.

Cover Art
The Norton Anthology of Western Music - Claude Palisca
ISBN: 0393976904
Publication Date: 2001-02-01
This comprehensive collection of 150 scores illustrates the significant trends, genre and national school in the Western world from antiquity to modern times.

The Norton-Grove Concise Encyclopedia of Music - Stanley Sadie (Editor); Alison Latham (Editor)
ISBN: 0393026205
Publication Date: 1988-10-01
The Norton/Grove Concise Encyclopedia of Music presents accurate, up-to-date information under more than 10,000 headings. The entries cover all aspects of music, using material compiled by an international team of scholars. Among the features that make The Norton/Grove Concise Encyclopedia of Music indispensable for every home and desk are the authoritative biographies of composers and performers, concise explanations of terms, and title listings for hundreds of musical works.

Cover Art
The Oxford Illustrated History of Opera - Roger Parker (Editor)
ISBN: 0198162820
Publication Date: 1995-01-19
This book is a historical survey of opera, from its beginnings in Florence four hundred years ago, up to opera in the 1990s. The greatest coverage is given to the nineteenth century, the time during which most of the operas performed today were composed.

Cover Art
Complete Classical Music Guide - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
ISBN: 9780756692568
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
From Bach to Berlioz, Glinka to Gershwin, Stravinsky to Shostakovich, and everyone in between, the Complete Classical Music Guide contains more than three hundred composer profiles, and offers a clear definition of the particular styles and characteristics of seven key eras.

Cover Art
The Penguin Guide to the 1000 Finest Classical Recordings - Ivan March; Edward Greenfield; Paul Czajkowski; Robert Layton
ISBN: 9780241955949
Publication Date: 2011-10-12
This completely new edition of The Penguin Guide to the 1000 Finest Classical Recordings reviews the best classical albums issued and reissued over the past five decades, many of which dominate the catalog because of their sheer excellence, irrespective of recording dates. More comprehensive than ever before, it indicates key recordings on CD, DVD, and enhanced SACD, including those in surround sound

Cover Art
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century - Alfred William Cramer
ISBN: 1587655128
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
The new set offers biographies of musicians active and influential between the years 1901 and 2000. More than 200 contributors, most associated with academic institutions, provide articles ranging from three to five pages in length for more than 600 artists.

Cover Art
The Penguin Jazz Guide - Brian Morton; Richard Cook
ISBN: 9780141048314
Publication Date: 2010-12-28
In this book, Brian Morton has picked out 1001 essential recordings from their acclaimed guide, adding new information, revising and reassessing each entry, and showing how these key pieces tell the history of the music - and with it the history of the twentieth century. These are the essential albums that that all true jazz fans should own, or - at the very least - have listened to.

Cover Art
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz - Barry D. Kernfeld (Editor); Barry Kernfeld (Editor)
ISBN: 1561592846
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition is the largest, most comprehensive and accurate reference work on jazz ever published, putting the world of jazz at your fingertips. With articles on every aspect of the field, from jazz groups, composers and arrangers to instruments, terms, record labels and venues, the new edition is the ideal companion for scholars and enthusiasts in this rapidly growing field.

Cover Art
Classic Jazz - Floyd Levin
ISBN: 0520213602
Publication Date: 2000-11-30
In this collection of his articles, Levin takes us into the nightclubs, the recording studios, the record companies, and, most compellingly, into the lives of the musicians who made the great moments of the traditional jazz and swing eras. Brilliantly weaving anecdotal material, primary research, and music analysis into every chapter, Classic Jazz: A Personal View of the Music and the Musicians is a gold mine of information on a rich segment of American popular music.

Cover Art
Jazzology - Robert Rawlins; Nor Eddine Bahha
ISBN: 0634086782
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
A one-of-a-kind book encompassing a wide scope of jazz topics, for beginners and pros of any instrument. A three-pronged approach was envisioned with the creation of this comprehensive resource: as an encyclopedia for ready reference, as a thorough methodology for the student, and as a workbook for the classroom, complete with ample exercises and conceptual discussion.

Cover Art
Rock and Roll Is Here to Stay - William McKeen (Editor); Peter Guralnick (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0393047008
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
This book assembles the writing of those who played the music and pushed it to new limits, as well as those who were there to witness and celebrate its power. Here you'll find all the crazy magic of rock and roll, from the earliest days to the present, from the brightest moments of the biggest stars to obscure but compellingly significant treasures.

Cover Art
The Middle East - Virginia Danielson (Editor); Scott Marcus (Editor); Dwight Reynolds (Editor)
ISBN: 0824060423
Publication Date: 2001-12-14
Expert writers present the major traditions of North Africa, the Middle East, and Central Asia, together with personal accounts of performers, composers, teachers, and ceremonies. A special feature of this volume is the inclusion of dozens of brief snap-shot essays that offer "lifestories" of typical musicmakers and their art, as well as first-person descriptions of specific music performances and events. Also includes maps and music examples.

Cover Art
Language of Song - Samuel Charters
ISBN: 9780822343806
Publication Date: 2009-05-06
In A Language of Song, Samuel Charters writes of a trip to West Africa where he found “a gathering of cultures and a continuing history that lay behind the flood of musical expression [he] encountered everywhere . . . from Brazil to Cuba, to Trinidad, to New Orleans, to the Bahamas, to dance halls of west Louisiana and the great churches of Harlem.” In this book, Charters recounts experiences from a half-century spent following, documenting, recording, and writing about the Africa-influenced music.

Cover Art
World Music - Brian Priestley; Ian Carr; Digby Fairweather; Simon Broughton (Editor); Mark Ellingham (Editor); Dave Muddyman (Editor); Richard Trillo (Editor)
ISBN: 1858280176
Publication Date: 1994-11-01
The Rough Guide to World Music spans the music of seventy different countries and regions - everything from salsa to soukous, cajun to calypso, rai to qawwali. The detailed coverage brings together more than sixty expert contributors, whose feature articles take in the music to be seen and heard live around the globe, as well as on record. Major pieces are backed up by interviews with the key groups and artists, translations of lyrics, and extensive reviews and discographies.

Cover Art
The Dawn of Indian Music in the West - Peter Lavezzoli; Lavezzoli
ISBN: 0826418155
Publication Date: 2006-04-24
At the dawn of the 21st century, Indian music's spiritual message is more timely than ever before. Here is the story of the musical merging of East and West, from the Beatles and John Coltrane to the Asian Underground. Peter Lavezzoli has a rare ability to articulate the personal feeling of music, while also narrating a comprehensive history. In his refreshingly accessible discussion on Indian music theory, he clarifies Eastern musical structures and terminology for Western readers.

 

Music History DVDs

Great Composers. a DVD series
Call Number: DVD ML 399 .G74 2006
Publication Date: 2006
A 7 disc DVD series that features a different composer on each disc. The profiled composers are Wagner, Puccini, Mahler, Bach, Tchaikovsky, Mozart, and Beethoven

Jazz : a Film by Ken Burns - Burns, Ken
Call Number: DVD ML 350 .J378 2000
Publication Date: 2004
10 episodes tracing the history of jazz from its roots in the African-American community of New Orleans to its heights and continuing presence.

History of Rock N' Roll
Call Number: DVD ML 3534 .H57 2004
Publication Date: 2004
This 10-part documentary covers rock 'n' roll history from its humble beginnings in the '50s to Lollapalooza in the '90s. Experience favorite rock 'n' roll moments through hundreds of exclusive interviews, classic footage and concert performances.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip