This is the "Databases" page of the "U.S. History to 1865" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Print and online resources covering the Colonial era to the Civil War.
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/EarlyUSHistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

History-related Databases at Morton College Library

US Government Online Study the structure, function, and history of the U.S. government. Focused and thorough in its coverage, this informative resource features an easy-to-navigate interface that allows users to find relevant essays; primary source documents; images and videos; tables, charts, and maps; and news articles.

Historical Chicago Tribune - Access full text PDF images of any Chicago Tribune article from 1847 to 1989. Search using keywords, author's name, or a specific date or date range.  Save or print articles just as they appeared in the original edition.

Historical New York Times - Search for the full text of any article published in the New York Times from its inception in 1851 up to 2009. Access and save all of the contents from the newspaper of record, including photographic images, advertisements, and magazine supplements.

Ancestry Library Edition - This free version of the Ancestry.com commercial website allows access to millions of official records, including images of many original documents. This database is an excellent resource for those researching their family history or seeking biographical information about historical figures. Ancestry's vast database contains census, birth, marriage, immigration, death records and more.

Salem Press History Collection - This collection of historical reference e-books from Salem Press contains the titles Encyclopedia of American Immigration, The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, Great GLBT Events from History, and Musicians and Composers. All of these titles are full-text searchable and have a companion physical copy located in the library.

Academic Search Complete - Covering virtually every area of academic study, this multi-disciplinary database offers full text information for nearly 9,000 scholarly journals, periodicals, and news sources.

Harper's Weekly - This database provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly, the illustrated 19th century "Journal of Civilization" for a 56-year period: 1857-1912.  HarpWeek's electronic database makes it possible for the user to discover the lively news stories, illustrations , cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature, and even advertisements that shaped and reflected public opinion in this era.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip