This is the "Websites" page of the "U.S. History to 1865" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Print and online resources covering the Colonial era to the Civil War.
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/EarlyUSHistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

U.S. History Websites

Library of Congress - A must-see site created by the nation's leading repository of knowledge. Students and educators alike can search primary and secondary source documents, maps, prints, photographs and digital media.

LOC American Memory Free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

Digital Vaults - The National Archives Experience: Digital Vaults is an interactive exploration of history that examines thousands of documents, photographs, and pieces of history that have been integrated in a digital format. Upon entering the homepage, the user is given eight random archives to choose from. The user has the ability to explore archives, as well as search for specific points in history using a keyword search.

PBS Online - Access an array of PBS-produced documentaries, blogs and other resources. View complete episodes of American Experience, Frontline and Independent Lens. The contents are searchable and categorized by subtopics.

Digital History - Includes annotated primary sources on United States, Mexican American, Native American history, and slavery; and essays on the history of ethnicity and immigration. Visual histories of Lincoln's America and America's Reconstruction contain text by Eric Foner and Olivia Mahoney. The Doing History feature lets users reconstruct the past through primary sources. Reference resources include classroom handouts, chronologies, encyclopedia articles, glossaries, and an audio-visual archive including speeches, historical maps, music, newspaper articles, and images.

The Valley of the Shadows - The Valley of the Shadow depicts two communities, one Northern and one Southern, through the experience of the American Civil War. The project focuses on Augusta County, Virginia and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, and it presents a hypermedia archive of thousands of sources including newspapers, letters, diaries, photographs, maps, church records, population census, agricultural census, and military records. Students can reconstruct the life stories of women, African Americans, farmers, politicians, soldiers, and families.

History Matters - A highly regarded gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence. Resources include a list of "best" web sites, links to syllabi and lesson plans, plus essays on history and new media.

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip