This is the "Hinduism" page of the "Philosophy & Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Philosophy & Religion  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/thought Print Guide RSS Updates

Hinduism Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

Hinduism

  • The Upanishads
    The last section of the Hindu scriptures (the Veda), composed in Sanskrit between 800 and 400 BC. The name, meaning ‘to sit near’, refers to the secret transmission of these teachings by gurus.
    --
    Upanishads. (2005). In The Crystal Reference Encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com/entry/cre/upanishads
  • Bhagavad Gita
    The Bhagavad Gita, or Blessed Lord's Song, is a famous sacred Hindu text that is part of the Mahabbarata epic. It tells the story of Krishna's divine revelation to Arjuna on the eve of a great battle.

Religion Databases

  • Credo Reference
    With over 40 reference resources dedicated to philosophy and religion, Credo Reference is a great first place to begin researching important religions and religious subjects.
  • Academic Search Complete
    This comprehensive database contains recent scholarly articles in the fields of philosophy and religion, which display emerging trends and avenues of thought in the field.
 

Featured Books on Hinduism

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Hinduism - Constance Jones; James Daniel Ryan; J. Gordon Melton (Editor)
Call Number: REF BL 1105 .J56 2006
ISBN: 0816054584
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
This 600-entry reference covers the major tenets, practices and people of the Hindu religion, back into prehistory. Along with such fundamental elements as meditation, gods and goddesses, worship, funeral rites and texts such as the Bhagavad Gita, this covers more complex theological issues such as the development of Jainism and Sikhism and the social and political impact of the caste system. Jones and Ryan, both of the California Institute of Integral Studies, include everything from biographies of theologians and Hindu poets to descriptions of rituals and festivals, historical events, and relations between Hinduism and other faiths.

Cover Art
Bhagavad Gita - Graham M. Schweig
Call Number: BL 1138.62 .E5 2007
ISBN: 0060754257
Publication Date: 2007-04-24
Part of an ancient Hindu epic poem, the dialogue of the Bhagavad Gita takes place on a battlefield, where a war for the possession of a North Indian kingdom is about to ensue between two noble families related by blood. The epic's hero, young Prince Arjuna, is torn between his duty as a warrior and his revulsion at the thought of his brothers and cousins killing each other over control of the realm. Frozen by this ethical dilemma, he debates the big questions of life and death with the supreme Hindu deity Krishna, cleverly disguised as his charioteer. By the end of the story, Eastern beliefs about mortality and reincarnation, the vision and practice of yoga, the Indian social order and its responsibilities, family loyalty, spiritual knowledge, and the loftiest pursuits of the human heart are explored in depth. Explaining the very purpose of life and existence, this classic has stood the test of twenty-three centuries. It is presented here in a thoroughly accurate, illuminating, and beautiful translation that is sure to become the standard for our day.

Cover Art
Handbook of Hindu Mythology - George M. Williams
Call Number: BL 1205 .W55 2008
ISBN: 9780195332612
Publication Date: 2008-03-11
Library Journal Review


Williams (Univ. of California, Chico) here profiles the cast of characters, locations, themes, and core meanings of Hindu mythology. He has spent nearly three decades studying and writing on religion in modern Asia, and his work defines the cultural context of Hindu myth throughout the ages and explains what is required of devotees. Divided into four major sections, this compelling academic account covers all aspects of this major world religion. Entries include geographic, historic, scriptural, and biographic references (e.g., Ravana, Kala, and Suddhi). After an excellent introduction, the author evaluates mythic time, space, characters, and themes, before closing with an extensive bibliographic essay reviewing available print and nonprint resources (including web sites). The rituals and ascetic myths are arranged alphabetically and identified within their cultural context. Part of the "Handbooks of World Mythology" series, this elegantly crafted work is designed for the general reader and will be a reliable reference standard for all library collections.-Richard K. Burns, MSLS, Hatboro, PA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC

Cover Art
Gandhi - Mahatma Gandhi
Call Number: DS/481/.G3/A356
ISBN: 0807059811
Publication Date: 1957-01-01
Mahatma Gandhi, who let Inda to independance from Britain through a non-violent revolution, was also an important Hindu figure. Philosophically, Gandhi is best known for his ideas of satyagraha (truth-force) and ahimsa (nonharming). Intrinsic to the idea of truth-force is the correlation between truth and being; truth is not merely a mental correspondence with reality but a mode of existence. Hence, the power of the truth is not what one argues for but what one is. He developed this idea in conjunction with the principle of nonviolence, showing in his nationalist activities that the force of truth, expressed nonviolently, can be an irresistible political weapon against intolerance, racism, and social violence. Although his basic terminology and conceptual context were Hindu, Gandhi was impressed by the universal religious emphasis on the self-transformative power of love, drawing his inspiration from Christianity, Western philosophy, and Islam as well.

Cover Art
The Upanishads - Thomas Wyatt; Juan Mascaro (Editor); Anonymous
Call Number: BL 1120 .A3 M32
ISBN: 0140441638
Publication Date: 1965-11-30
The Upanishads, the earliest of which were composed in Sanskrit between 800 and 400 bce by sages and poets, form part of the Vedas - the sacred and ancient scriptures that are the basis of the Hindu religion. Each Upanishad, or lesson, takes up a theme ranging from the attainment of spiritual bliss to karma and rebirth, and collectively they are meditations on life, death and immortality. The essence of their teachings is that truth can by reached by faith rather than by thought, and that the spirit of God is within each of us - we need not fear death as we carry within us the promise of eternal life.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip