This is the "Islam" page of the "Philosophy & Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Philosophy & Religion  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/thought Print Guide RSS Updates

Islam Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

Islam

   

  • The Quran
    The sacred book of Islam, written in Arabic. It is said to have been divinely revealed through the angel Jibra'el (Gabriel) to the prophet Muhammad between about AD 610 and 632. The Koran is the prime source of all Islamic ethical and legal doctrines. The Koran is divided into 114 suwar (chapters, singular sura), some very long, others consisting of only a few words. It includes many events also described in the Hebrew Bible but narrated from a different viewpoint.
    --
    Koran. (2010). In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com/entry/heliconhe/koran

Religion Databases

  • Credo Reference
    With over 40 reference resources dedicated to philosophy and religion, Credo Reference is a great first place to begin researching important religions and religious subjects.
  • Academic Search Complete
    This comprehensive database contains recent scholarly articles in the fields of philosophy and religion, which display emerging trends and avenues of thought in the field.
 

Featured Books on Islam

Cover Art
Qur'an - Abdullah Yusufali (Translator); Sayed A. A. Razwy (Introduction by)
Call Number: BP 109 .A44 2007
ISBN: 1879402297
Publication Date: 2001-11-13
This English translation of the Qur'an is a compilation of the Muslim faith's Final Revelation from God to mankind through the last Prophet Muhammad, Peace be upon Him. The Qur'an has a wealth of information--both worldly wisdom and intellectual concepts--providing a code of life for humankind generally and Muslims in particular. Indeed, the Qur'an's miracle lies in its ability to offer something to non-believers and everything to believers. This edition is fully indexed.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Islam - Campo; Juan
Call Number: REF DS 35.53 .C36 2009
ISBN: 9780816054541
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Encyclopedia of Islam provides college students, as well as laypeople, with everything they need to know about this religion. In about 550 A-to-Z entries, this encyclopedic guide explores the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, and institutions that helped shape the history of this religion and the way it is practiced today. An informative introduction provides readers with an overview of Islam, and a chronology, a detailed bibliography, an index, and approximately 80 black-and-white photographs complete this timely resource.

Cover Art
Pictures of Islam - Donald L. Berry
Call Number: BP 50 .B44 2007
ISBN: 9780881460865
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Summary


Donald Berry argues that some of the commonly found traditions and practices in the Arab world today reflect the traditions of pre-Islamic Arab culture rather than the Islam described in the Qur'an. The author also attempts to distinguish those beliefs, traditions and practices that emerge from the Qur'an and those that are rooted in other Muslim traditions that may not be authoritative for all Muslims. Another key element of Pictures of Islam is a look at modernity and Islam. The impact of modernity is still being felt in most of the Muslim world. Berry also identifies ten barriers that hinder positive Muslim Christian relations today. Muslims and Christians do share many commons beliefs and traditions, yet the reader must also understand the historical, theological, and practical factors that have led to conflict between Christians and Muslims.

Cover Art
Companion to Muslim Ethics - Amyn B. Sajoo
Call Number: BJ 1291 .C65 2010
ISBN: 9781848855953
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Socrates famously said that the unexamined life is not worth living. In keeping with this dictum, taking ethics seriously means engaging with the real world where the human sense of right and wrong is daily tested. At their best, all faith traditions are challenged by such testing; and if faith-inspired ethics are thought to govern the whole of life, their guiding values need constantly to be interpreted by the believer to achieve a practical result. In the Muslim tradition, this is what theQur'an really amounts to: a call to strive for belief with a social conscience. For fourteen centuries, Muslim scholars have grappled with the implications of that call in matters of law, social practice and theology. And in our own time, the quests for civil society and the rule of law have much to do with the response given to these ethical questions. A Companion to Muslim Ethicsexplores Islam's core conception of the good, shared with other great traditions. Leading experts examine issues such as gender equality, nonviolence, dispute resolution, the environment, health, and finance. The volume will appeal to all those interested in how reason, faith, and circumstance shape difficult moral choices in an increasingly globalized world.

Cover Art
Muslim Women in America - Yvonne Yazbeck Haddad; Jane I. Smith; Kathleen M. Moore
Call Number: E 184 .M88 H34 2006
ISBN: 0195177835
Publication Date: 2006-03-02
In chapters on stereotypes, conversion, Islam-related practices, gender and the family, legal issues, public life, and competing discourses, the writers examine views about and experiences of gender among Muslims, including immigrants, their descendants, converts, and African Americans (a third of the Muslim population in the US). They demonstrate the ways that Muslim women are reinterpreting traditions and creating a uniquely "American" Islam while they struggle to balance their faith, family responsibilities, education, work, and community service. The authors focus on women of the middle and upper middle classes, in part because Muslim women in this category have written much of the existing literature.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip