This is the "Christianity" page of the "Philosophy & Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Philosophy & Religion  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/thought Print Guide RSS Updates

Christianity Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

Online Christian Resources

  • The Bible
    he sacred book of Judaism and Christianity, containing a collection of sacred writings (scriptures). The Old Testament, recognized by both Jews and Christians, is called the Hebrew Bible in Judaism. The New Testament comprises books recognized by the Christian church as sacred doctrine. . .
    --
    Bible. (2010). In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com/entry/heliconhe/bible

Religion Databases

  • Credo Reference
    With over 40 reference resources dedicated to philosophy and religion, Credo Reference is a great first place to begin researching important religions and religious subjects.
  • Academic Search Complete
    This comprehensive database contains recent scholarly articles in the fields of philosophy and religion, which display emerging trends and avenues of thought in the field.
 

Featured Books on Christianity

Cover Art
The Bible Now - Richard Elliott Friedman; Shawna Dolansky
Call Number: 9780195311631
ISBN: 9780195311631
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
A refreshingly honest look at what the ancient Bible teaches us about contemporary controversies, as explained by biblical scholars who can write for lay readers. In fascinating passages that shed new light on some of today's most passionate disputes, the authors reveal how the Bible is frequently misunderstood, misquoted, mistranslated, and misused. Without taking and arguing a particular side, this is a lucid discussion, informed by strong scholarship, of the biblical texts at issues for the issues.

Cover Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints - David Farmer
Call Number: REF BR 1710 .F37 2011
ISBN: 0199596603
Publication Date: 2011-06-04
Praised as "splendid" (The Economist) and "the kind of book that gives hagiography a good name" (The Times), this entertaining and authoritative dictionary breathes life into its subjects and is as browsable as it is informative. First published in 1978, theOxford Dictionary of Saintsoffers more than 1,700 fascinating and informative entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world. Ranging from the famous to the obscure, the rich to the poor, and the academic to the uneducated, the saints profiled here come from all walks of life, from all periods of history, and from around the world, reflecting a wide variety of personalities and achievements. This revised fifth edition includes appendices containing maps of pilgrimage sites, a list of saints' patronages and iconographical emblems, and a calendar of principal feasts.

Cover Art
Oxford Bible Atlas - Adrian Curtis
Call Number: BS 630 .O96 2007
ISBN: 0191001589
Publication Date: 2007-03-22
The newest edition of the Oxford Bible Atlas teems with 27 stunning maps, 81 vibrant full-color illustrations, color photos, and a revised text that reflects the newest developments in biblical scholarship. Full-page maps show the geography of the Bible's accounts in vivid detail. Sumptuous full-color illustrations and photographs bring entire regions and their peoples to life. Editor Adrian Curtis' incisive and enthusiastic commentary takes into account interpretations by the best biblical scholars in the world. The text describes the land of Palestine, the ancient Near Eastern and east Mediterranean. Historical periods are clearly outlined, and the major civilizations with which the Jews and early Christians came into contact are described in vivid historical context. The Atlas also includes a fully illustrated survey of archaeology and its importance for bible study. The Oxford Bible Atlas is an outstanding guide to the geography, history and archaeology of the Holy Land throughout biblical history, from Exodus to the New Testament. Lavishly printed in full-color on fine, sturdy paper and uniquely affordable, the Oxford Bible Atlas Fourth Edition is a perfect guide for history buffs and students of the Bible.

Cover Art
The Bible for Everyone Trusted, Accurate, Readable with Concordance - Harper Bibles Staff
Call Number: REF BS 185.H37 2007
ISBN: 9780061946516
Publication Date: 2009-10-20
The NRSV Standard Bible utilizes a unique blend of text formats that are designed for ease of reading and greater reader comprehension of the various literary forms embodied in the scriptures. This resource features a single column text in the prose sections and double columns in the poetic sections (Psalms, Proverbs, wisdom books, and Minor Prophets). The NRSV is the most trusted, most accepted, and most accurate English translation of the Bible available today.

Cover Art
The Didache - Thomas O'Loughlin
Call Number: BS 2940 .T5 2010
ISBN: 9780801045394
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
The Didache (or The Teaching of the Twelve Apostles) is one of the earliest Christian writings, compiled between 50 and 70 CE. Thomas O'Loughlin shares the story of this first-century manual for training converts from its discovery in an obscure library in Istanbul in the late nineteenth century to the present and then offers an analysis of the text's importance. His new translation, along with a commentary, highlights areas of key interest to Christians today: the faith and hope, discipline and rituals, and anxieties and challenges facing Gentiles being trained for full participation in the earliest Jewish-Christian communities.

Cover Art
Digging Through the Bible - Richard A. Freund
Call Number: BS 621 .F736 2009
ISBN: 9780742546448
Publication Date: 2008-10-23
The search for Sinai: archaeological reflections on Moses, the Exodus, and the revelation at Mount Sinai -- Searching for King David and King Solomon and the ancient city of Jerusalem -- Searching for Jesus in Galilee and Babylonia -- Searching her-stories: women in ancient Israel -- Searching for synagogues: a lost synagogue ritual recovered by archaeology -- Searching for the teacher of righteousness at Qumran and in the Dead Sea scrolls -- Seeking Mary: the mother of Jesus; Miriam, sister of Moses; and the well and bathhouse of Nazareth -- The search for Bar Kokhba: one "biblical" character who was found.

Cover Art
All the People in the Bible - Richard R. Losch
Call Number: REF BS 570 .L66 2008
ISBN: 9780802824547
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
A retired Episcopal priest in Alabama, Losch draws not only on the scriptural references to people, which are often brief and without context, but also secular literature of the period and archaeological and anthropological studies to flesh out the characters. Not everyone rates an article in the main section, but no one is left out of one appendix or another, the first of which briefly identifies all the people in the Bible and Apocrypha.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip