Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013
- Plato's Apology
Perhaps the most important text in all of Western Civilization, Plato's Apology is far from a request for forgiveness, but a defense of thought, truth, and philosophy. In this dialogue, the ancient philosopher Socrates has been put on trial by high ranking members of the Athenian citizenry for 'corruption of the young' and 'heresy', charges laid upon him for asking questions into the nature of the world and challenging society's long held notions of truth. It is a text that is both humbling and exalting, tragic and triumphant and well worth the read.
- Arisotle's Nicomachean Ethics
Have you every wondered what is the meaning of life? Well, so did Aristotle, and here is what he came up with.
- Sacred Texts Classic Philosophical Works Archive
The comprehensive Sacred Texts website has a great deal of classical works, including many philosophical classics that can be found at this link.
- The Analects of Confucius
Confucius lived in an chaotic era of war and distress. Yet, he believed humanity was capable of much more, of both compassion and just order. The influence he had upon both ancient and modern China is incalculable and the major work to which he is attributed, The Analects, long has stood the test of time.
- Lao Tzu's Tao Te Ching
The Tao Te Ching, or the Book of the Way and It's Power, is the foundational text for Taoists.
- Sacred Text Archive
This is a great place to find sacred texts throughout the globe.
- The Internet Archive: Texts
The Internet Archive has a wide range of texts and e-books many of which are old enough to be copyright free and capable of download without cost.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg also has a wide range of texts and e-books many of which are old enough to be copyright free and capable of download without cost.
- Philosophy Talk
This weekly radio show takes an entertaining and informative look at a number of topics from a philosophical perspective.
- The Bible
he sacred book of Judaism and Christianity, containing a collection of sacred writings (scriptures). The Old Testament, recognized by both Jews and Christians, is called the Hebrew Bible in Judaism. The New Testament comprises books recognized by the Christian church as sacred doctrine. . .
Bible. (2010). In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com/entry/heliconhe/bible
- The Quran
The sacred book of Islam, written in Arabic. It is said to have been divinely revealed through the angel Jibra'el (Gabriel) to the prophet Muhammad between about AD 610 and 632. The Koran is the prime source of all Islamic ethical and legal doctrines. The Koran is divided into 114 suwar (chapters, singular sura), some very long, others consisting of only a few words. It includes many events also described in the Hebrew Bible but narrated from a different viewpoint.
Koran. (2010). In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com/entry/heliconhe/koran
- The Upanishads
The last section of the Hindu scriptures (the Veda), composed in Sanskrit between 800 and 400 BC. The name, meaning ‘to sit near’, refers to the secret transmission of these teachings by gurus.
Upanishads. (2005). In The Crystal Reference Encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com/entry/cre/upanishads
- Bhagavad Gita
The Bhagavad Gita, or Blessed Lord's Song, is a famous sacred Hindu text that is part of the Mahabbarata epic. It tells the story of Krishna's divine revelation to Arjuna on the eve of a great battle.
- The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism
Buddhism is based on the teachings of the Buddha, a person who it is said to have achieved enlightenment. The philosophy of Buddha is encapsulated within four principle ideas referred to as the Four Noble Truths, which are explained in detail upon this website.
- The Dhamapada
The Dhammapada, an anthology of 423 verses, has long been recognised as one of the masterpieces of early Buddhist literature. From ancient times to the present, the Dhammapada has been regarded as the most succinct expression of the Buddha's teaching found in the Theravada Pali Canon of scriptures known as the Khuddaka Nikaya ("Minor Collection") of the Sutta Pitaka.