Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013
These databases are good sources for finding general and citation information.
These databases contain a great deal of information on religion and philosophy to help one understand the thoughts, practices, beliefs, and rituals of the various schools of religion and thought.
- Credo Reference
With over 40 reference resources dedicated to philosophy and religion, Credo Reference is a great first place to begin researching important philosophers and philosophical subjects.
- Academic Search Complete
This comprehensive database contains recent scholarly articles in the fields of philosophy and religion, which display emerging trends and avenues of thought in the field.
- The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This freely available and comprehensive online encylopedia explores everything philosophy from philosophical topics to philosophers and their ideas.
It is important to also understand religion and philosophy as not only an entities of thought and belief but also of culture, art, society. You can search for religious terms and figures in these databases to find the many various ways in which religion has manifested itself in the art and cultures throughout society and humankind.
This databases brings together artistic images throughout the globe. It includes special sections dedicated to religious and cultural artwork that would be beneficial to any studying these aspects of religious and philosophical influence.
- National Geographic
With in depth looks at the places and cultures of our time, National Geographic provides unique insights into peoples and societies including the religious and philosophical traditions they hold dear.
- Biography Resource Center (Gale)
The Biography Resource Center contains more than 440,000 biographies on more than 340,000 people from around the world and throughout philosophy, religion, and history. It combines more than 135 frequently consulted Gale biographical sources with more than 325 full-text periodicals and journals, more than 27,000 portraits and thousands of Recent News briefs on high-interest individuals. Look here to find the biographies of religious and philosophical visionaries and leaders.
- Oxford Music
Religion also is reflected in music. This is a great database to begin searching religious keywords for their intersection with music.
- Oxford Art
Oxfort Art is another great place to look for religion and philosopy's imprint upon art throughout time.