This is the "Books and Multimedia" page of the "Philosophy & Religion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Philosophy & Religion  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/thought Print Guide RSS Updates

Books and Multimedia Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

LC Classification

Our books are arranged in the Library of Congress Classification System. To see how books arranged in Philosophy and Religion, please click on the link below:

 

Search Tips and Tricks

When searching for materials you can search by either the author, title, or subject/keyword. For author or title searches, you would simply need to enter either the name of the author or the title of the work in which you are searching. For keyword/subject searching, try to use a variety of one or two-word phrases that describe your topic to yield the results for which you are looking. You may also try to use some of the advanced search options and use and, or, & not between different keywords and keyword phrases.

 

Featured Philosophy Books

Cover Art
Study of Philosophy - Angelika Soldan (Editor); Kevin Durand; S. Morris Engel (Editor)
Call Number: BD 21 .E6 2008
ISBN: 9780742548923
Publication Date: 2007-10-04
This 6th edition of S. Morris Engel's engaging and critical work preserves the strengths of the earlier editions D intriguing examples and timely reflections on the major fields of philosophical inquiry (ethics, metaphysics, and epistemology) by some of the most important minds in the history of ideas (Plato, St. Thomas, Wittgenstein) D and expands the discussions of those fields. The new edition also incorporates expanded explorations of contemporary discussions in fields of continental and analytic philosophy, theories of justice, and feminism.

Cover Art
The Religion Toolkit - John Morreall; Tamara Sonn
Call Number: BL 41 .M625 2011
ISBN: 9781405182478
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
This unique introductory book is a complete overview of Religious Studies, providing students with the essential knowledge and tools they need to explore and understand the nature of religion. In a lively and engaging way, the authors draw together the main elements of Religious Studies, allowing the reader to develop an integrated understanding of religion. The book provides: * An overview of the roles of religion in society; an account of the historic development of Religious Studies, and an introduction to some of the major theories and methods -- the tools -- used in the study of religion * An exploration of the diversity of world religions through overviews of some of the early religions; the family of Western monotheisms (Judaism, Christianity, and Islam); Indian traditions (Hinduism and Buddhism); Chinese traditions (Confucian, Taoist, and Buddhist); and less familiar religions such as Zoroastrianism, Shinto, and Native American religion * The impact of Religious Studies and the natural sciences on religion, exploring issues such as developments in scriptural studies, feminist and liberation theology, evolutionism vs. creationism, and ongoing debates about the future of religion in modern society The attractive design, lively text, numerous illustrations, side bars, text boxes, questions and activities all make The Religion Toolkit an exciting and thought-provoking book to use

Cover Art
The Handy Religion Answer Book - John Renard
Call Number: BL 80.3 .R47 2012
ISBN: 9781578593798
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Providing detailed descriptions of the beliefs, rituals, history, and organisation of the world's eight major religious traditions, including Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, Confucianism, Taoism, and Shinto, this fully revised and updated edition is an easy-to-use comparative guide for anyone seeking basic religious literacy. Clearly and eloquently written by a scholar with more than 40 years of study and teaching experience, this book is organised into chapters on each major religion and contains a wealth of information about their history, beliefs, symbols, membership, leaders, observances, and customs. The reference answers more than 800 questions, such as What is the significance of the Star of David? How did so many different Christian churches come into being? What is the importance of the month of Ramadan? What is an Ayatollah? and Do Taoists believe in heaven and hell?, as well as new questions concerning religion and violence and sub-organisations that claim affiliation with the major faith communities. A glossary of religious terminology, maps of the general coverage areas for each religion, and suggestions for further reading are also included.

Cover Art
Seven Masterpieces of Philosophy - Steven M. Cahn
Call Number: B 21 .S525 2008
ISBN: 9780205521937
Publication Date: 2007-12-07
This highly anticipated anthology, compiled by noted author and scholar Steven Cahn, presents the seven major works central to any introductory philosophy course in their entirety. Each work has had a profound influence on philosophical thought, and the authors are generally regarded as among the world’s greatest philosophers. Seven Masterpieces in Philosophyfeatures the most well-respected and admired translations, and offers introductions and annotations by Steven Cahn. Anyone seeking to understand the challenges of philosophy could hardly do better than concentrate attention on these seven masterpieces, presented here in this accessible and very affordable volume. A great alternative to larger, more expensive tomes, this book allows the instructor to supplement these works with additional materials of their choosing.

Cover Art
Philosophy - Naomi Zack
Call Number: B 72 .Z33 2010
ISBN: 9781578592265
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Combining a basic history of philosophical thought with the often quirky personal stories of famous philosophers, this comprehensive introduction to the world of philosophy answers more than 1,000 questions, ranging from What was the Enlightenment? to Why did the Pythagorians avoid fava beans? Analysing the collective effort of philosophers throughout history in the pursuit of truth and wisdom, the guide explores the tangible significance of philosophical thought to modern society and civilisation as a whole. With a wide range of information suitable for various knowledge bases -- from junior high to junior college -- this is an ideal resource for anyone looking to get a better grasp of the history of thought.

 

Featured Reference Books

Cover Art
The Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy - J. Urmson; Jonathan Ree (Editor)
Call Number: REF B 41 .C66 2004
ISBN: 0415329248
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
On its first appearance in 1960, theConcise Encyclopediaestablished itself as a classic; this third edition builds on its original strengths but brings it completely up to date. The Concise Encyclopediaoffers a lively, readable, comprehensive and authoritative treatment of Western philosophy as a whole, incorporating scintillating articles by many leading philosophical authors. It serves not only as a convenient reference work, but also as an engaging introduction to philosophy.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion - Lindsay Jones
Call Number: REF BL 31 .E46 2005
ISBN: 0028657330
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
This incredible 15 Volume Encyclopedia provides an in-depth exploration of religion.

Cover Art
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Edward Craig (Editor)
Call Number: REF/B/51/.R68/1998
ISBN: 0415073103
Publication Date: 1998-05-26
This ambitiouys in-depth ten volumne encyclopedia covers a wide range of philosophical topics, including a more diverse geographical coverage than is usual in such sources. Moreover, it touches on topics as different as artificial intelligence, totalitarianism, Ayn Rand, Hippocratic medicine, and Gregory of Rimini.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip