Last Updated: May 20, 2015
- Credo Reference - Literature
Credo Reference is an online collection of a wide variety of reference books covering a multitude of subjects, and contains over 35 encyclopedias on literature alone that can be searched by keyword, topic, or title with the same ease of use as wikipedia or the internet.
- Academic Search Complete
Covering virtually every area of academic study, this multi-disciplinary database offers full text information for nearly 4,515 scholarly journals, including a great many on literature. This is a great place to begin looking for current academic articles on literature topics.
JSTOR is a not for profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a trusted digital archive of over one thousand five hundred academic journals filled with scholarly articles and content. Amongst these journals are a number dedicated to literature.
- Salem Press Literature Collection
This collection of literary reference e-books from Salem Press provides an excellent source of information upon several noted authors and profound works of literature. All of these titles are full-text searchable and have a companion physical copy located in the library.
- Biography Resource Center (Gale)
Literature is, of course, written not in a vacuum but by various authors throughout the course of history. Authors, whose biographies are often very compelling and which can provide context to their works and ideas. The Biography Resource Center contains more than 440,000 biographies on more than 340,000 people from around the world and throughout history. It combines more than 135 frequently consulted Gale biographical sources with more than 325 full-text periodicals and journals, more than 27,000 portraits and thousands of Recent News briefs on high-interest individuals. Look here to find the biographies of some of the greatest authors that lived.
To see all of the articles and databases maintained by the library, please consult either:
These databases are good sources for finding general and citation information.