This is the "Books" page of the "Physical Therapy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Physical Therapy  

This is a guide to physical therapy resources available in the library.
Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/physicaltherapy Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michael Andersen
 
 

Physical Therapy Books

Cover Art
Fundamental Orthopedic Management for the Physical Therapist Assistant - Robert C. Manske; Gary A. Shankman
Call Number: RD731 .S5513 2016
ISBN: 9780323113472
Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Master the role and the skills of the physical therapist assistant! Fundamental Orthopedic Management for the Physical Therapist Assistant, 4th Edition helps you apply the principles of orthopedic science to physical therapy interventions. First you will learn how to assess flexibility, strength, endurance, and balance, and then you’ll become a more valuable PTA by learning the essentials of tissue healing, gait and manual therapy, biomechanics and kinesiology, and the management of orthopedic patients by region and condition. This edition includes a new full-color design and illustrations, and broadens its scope with new chapters on topics such as musculoskeletal imaging and women’s issues related to physical rehabilitation. Written by clinician and educator Robert Manske, along with a team of expert contributors, this text is your complete guide to success in physical therapist assisting!

Cover Art
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice - Dianne V. Jewell
Call Number: RM700 .J49 2015
ISBN: 9781284034165
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice, Third Edition provides readers with the information and tools needed to appreciate the philosophy, history, and value of evidence-based practice, understand what constitutes evidence, search efficiently for applicable evidence in the literature, evaluate the findings in the literature, and integrate the evidence with clinical judgment and individual patient preferences and values. This unique handbook marries the best elements of multiple texts into a single accessible guide.

Cover Art
Pathology - Catherine C. Goodman; Kenda S. Fuller
Call Number: RB111 .G66 2015
ISBN: 9781455745913
Publication Date: 2014-12-10
Understand how a patient’s conditions might affect physical therapy and outcomes so that you can design safe and effective interventions. The only pathology textbook written specifically for physical therapists, Pathology: Implications for the Physical Therapist, Third Edition, offers guidelines, precautions, and contraindications for interventions with patients who have musculoskeletal or neuromuscular problems as well as other conditions such as diabetes, heart disease, or pancreatitis. Learn about the cause of these conditions, the pathogenesis, medical diagnosis and treatment, and most importantly, the special implications for the therapist. In addition to addressing specific diseases and conditions, this text emphasizes health promotion and disease prevention strategies and covers issues with implications for physical therapy management, such as injury, inflammation, and healing; the lymphatic system; and biopsychosocial–spiritual impacts on health care. With this practical and evidence-based text, now enhanced with full-color illustrations and the latest research, you’ll know what to factor into your clinical decisions to achieve the best outcomes for your patients.

Cover Art
Pediatric Physical Therapy - Jan S. Tecklin
Call Number: RJ53.P5 P43 2015
ISBN: 1451173458
Publication Date: 2014-05-03
Prepare your students for physical therapy practice with this up-to-date and accessible introduction to the major diseases and disabilities common to children who require physical therapy and the examination techniques and interventions commonly used in their rehabilitation. This fifth edition of Tecklin’s Pediatric Physical Therapy Pediatric Physical Therapy provides basic medical information regarding common clinical diagnostic categories, followed by coverage of physical therapy evaluation, treatment, and special issues within each diagnostic group. In addition, case studies accessible online at thePoint support the book’s strong focus on clinical decision-making.

Cover Art
The PTA Handbook - Kathleen A. Curtis; Peggy DeCelle Newman
Call Number: RM707 .U6 2015
ISBN: 9781617110207
Publication Date: 2014-11-15
The updated Second Edition of The PTA Handbook is a unique textbook that serves students from pre-admission into a physical therapist assistant program, through the academic program, up to career entry and practice as a physical therapist assistant.

Cover Art
Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation - Walter R. Frontera; Julie K. Silver; Thomas D. Rizzo
Call Number: RM700 .E84 F7 2014
ISBN: 9781455775774
Publication Date: 2014-07-28
From sore shoulders to spinal cord injuries, Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 3rd Edition provides you with the knowledge you need to get your patients moving again. This practical and authoritative new edition delivers easy access to the latest advances in the diagnosis and management of musculoskeletal disorders and other common conditions requiring rehabilitation. Each topic is presented in a concise, focused, and well-illustrated format featuring a description of the condition, discussion of symptoms, examination findings, functional limitations, and diagnostic testing. An extensive treatment section covers initial therapies, rehabilitation interventions, procedures, and surgery.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of the Physical Therapy Examination: Patient Interview and Tests and Measures - Stacie J. Fruth
Call Number: RM701 .P49 2014
ISBN: 9781449652685
Publication Date: 2013-02-15

Cover Art
PNF in Practice - Susan S. Adler; Dominiek Beckers; Math Buck
Call Number: RM700 .A644 2014
ISBN: 9783642349874
Publication Date: 2013-10-07
The PNF approach, presented in a fully illustrated hands-on guide, including 650 photos
Focus on practical aspects of patient evaluation and treatment
ICF and Motor Learning and how these concepts are applied in PNF
Provides a systematic and easily accessible guide to learning and understanding PNF as a practical tool and using it to full effect in patient treatment

Cover Art
Physical Therapy Case Files - Neurology Rehabilitation - Annie Burke-Doe
Call Number: RC350.4 .B87 2014
ISBN: 9780071763783
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND PREPARE FOR REAL-WORLD PRACTICE WITH CLINICAL CASES
New in the authoritative Case Files series, Physical Therapy Case Files: Neurological Rehabilitation gives you case studies that illustrate critical concepts you need to build and enhance your skills in physical therapy. Each case includes a discussion of the health condition, examination, evaluation, diagnosis, plan of care and interventions, evidence-based practice recommendations, and references. NPTE-style review questions accompanying each case reinforce your learning. With Physical Therapy Case Files: Neurological Rehabilitation, everything you need to succeed in the clinic and on the NPTE is right here in your hands.

Cover Art
Jump-Starting a Career in Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation - Marcia Amidon Lusted
Call Number: RM705 .L87 2014
ISBN: 9781477716953
Publication Date: 2013-12-15

Cover Art
A Comprehensive Guide to Geriatric Rehabilitation - Timothy L. Kauffman (Editor); Ronald W. Scott (Editor); John O. Barr (Editor); Michael L. Moran (Editor)
Call Number: RC953.8.P58 G48 2014
ISBN: 0702045888
Publication Date: 2014-08-26
Now in its third edition, this trusted clinical guide enables both the busy practitioner and student to review or to learn about a range of pathologies, conditions, examinations, diagnostic procedures, and interventions that can be effectively used in the physical rehabilitation of older people. It presents a broad overview of age-related physiological changes as well as specific professional discipline perspectives.

Cover Art
Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing - Jacqueline Montgomery; Dale Avers; Marybeth Brown; Helen Hislop
Call Number: RC925.7 .H574 2014
ISBN: 1455706159
Publication Date: 2013-01-15
A practical handbook on evaluating muscular strength and function, Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing: Techniques of Manual Examination and Performance Testing, 9th Edition makes it easy to understand and master procedures in manual muscle testing and performance testing.

Cover Art
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription - American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) Staff
Call Number: RM725 .A48 2014
ISBN: 1609139550
Publication Date: 2013-02-09
The flagship title of the certification suite from the American College of Sports Medicine, ACSM’s Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription is a handbook that delivers scientifically based standards on exercise testing and prescription to the certification candidate, the professional, and the student. The 9th edition focuses on evidence-based recommendations that reflect the latest research and clinical information.

Cover Art
Physical Rehabilitation - Susan B. O'Sullivan; Thomas J. Schmitz; George D. Fulk
Call Number: RM700 .O88 2014
ISBN: 0803625790
Publication Date: 2013-07-23
Rely on this comprehensive, curriculum-spanning text and reference now and throughout your career! It focuses on the rehabilitation management of adult patients, integrating basic surgical, medical, and therapeutic interventions to explain how to select the most appropriate evaluation procedures, to develop rehabilitation goals, and to implement a treatment plan.

Cover Art
Acute Care Handbook for Physical Therapists - Jaime C. Paz; Michele P. West
Call Number: RC55 .P375 2014
ISBN: 1455728969
Publication Date: 2013-09-25
Familiarize yourself with the acute care environment with this essential guide to physical therapy practice in an acute care setting. Acute Care Handbook for Physical Therapists, 4th Edition helps you understand and interpret hospital protocol, safety, medical-surgical ‘lingo’, and the many aspects of patient are from the emergency department to the intensive care unit to the general ward.

Cover Art
Neurorehabilitation for the Physical Therapist Assistant - Darcy Umphred; Ronaldo Lazaro
Call Number: RC350.P48 2014
ISBN: 9781617110733
Publication Date: 2013-12-15
As the role of the Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA) expands in the area of intervention approaches for neurological rehabilitation, the Second Edition of Neurorehabilitation for the Physical Therapist Assistant offers a timely update to reflect these emerging changes.

Cover Art
Essentials of Kinesiology for the Physical Therapist Assistant - Paul Jackson Mansfield; Donald A. Neumann
Call Number: QP303 .M36 2014
ISBN: 9780323089449
Publication Date: 2013-09-27
The second edition of Essentials of Kinesiology for the Physical Therapist Assistant continues to deliver a rich and varied learning experience that is needed to succeed in today’s fast-paced PTA programs. Clear, concise explanations of anatomy and function, full-color illustrations and unique atlas-style chapters make even the most complex concepts easy to master. Plus, a robust lineup of on- and off-line resources, featuring the companion Evolve website, give you all the tools you need to succeed both in the classroom and the clinical setting.

Cover Art
Musculoskeletal Interventions - Barbara Hoogenboom; Michael Voight; William Prentice
Call Number: RM701 .M872 2014
ISBN: 9780071793698
Publication Date: 2014-02-26
Musculoskeletal Interventions, 3rd Edition, is a comprehensive guide to the system considerations, design, implementation, and progression of rehabilitation programs for musculoskeletal injuries and dysfunction. Encompassing many aspects of musculoskeletal rehabilitation, with contributions from many renowned authors, it focuses on the practical application of theory in a clinical setting, making it valuable to both students and experienced physical therapists

 

More Physical Therapy Books

Cover Art
Ptaexam - Scott M. Giles
Call Number: RM701.6 .G55 2015
ISBN: 9781890989354
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Scorebuilders compete study guide to the PTA Exam- by Scott M. Giles. -Comprehensive academic review -Hundreds of new challenging questions -Three online full length exams - Explanations of correct and incorrect answers - Sophisticated performance analysis

Cover Art
The Rehabilitation Specialist's Handbook - Serge H. Roy; Steven L. Wolf; David A. Scalzitti
Call Number: RM735.3 .R68 2013
ISBN: 0803639066
Publication Date: 2012-12-21
The 4th Edition of the gold standard of rehabilitation resources is now in full color and thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the art and science of practice today!

Cover Art
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy - Jennifer Bottomley
Call Number: RM696.5 .Q53 2013
ISBN: 1617110701
Publication Date: 2012-08-15
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy has been revised and updated into a Third Edition to include the latest information in the field of physical therapy. This reference book, designed specifically for the physical therapy and physical therapist assistant student and practitioner, provides a magnitude of terms, definitions, guidelines, and references essential to the field.

Cover Art
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs - Olga Dreeben-Irimia
Call Number: RM705 .D75 2013
ISBN: 9781449647582
Publication Date: 2012-03-22
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Second Edition, is a concise and condensed clinical pocket guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistants and physical therapist assistant students easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct, summarizing pocket-guide covers the evaluative as well as interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions in various clinical settings including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric and acute care. With its portable and user-friendly format, this handbook is a valuable resource for physical therapist assistant students during the education training program and throughout clinical practice.

Cover Art
Pain Sourcebook - Karen Bellenir (Editor)
Call Number: RB127 .P33212 2013
ISBN: 9780780812994
Publication Date: 2013-07-24

Cover Art
Physical Therapy Case Files, Acute Care - Erin Jobst
Call Number: RM736 .P49 .J6 2013
ISBN: 9780071763806
Publication Date: 2013-04-02
Therapy Case Files: Acute Care gives you case studies that illustrate critical concepts you need to build and enhance your skills in physical therapy. Each case includes a discussion of the health condition, examination, evaluation, diagnosis, plan of care and interventions, evidence-based practice recommendations, and references. NPTE-style review questions accompanying each case reinforce your learning. With Physical Therapy Case Files: Acute Care, everything you need to succeed in the clinic and on the NPTE is right here in your hands.

Cover Art
Physical Therapy Case Files - Orthopedics - Jason Brumitt; Jason Brumitt; Erin Jobst
Call Number: RD736.P49 2013
ISBN: 9780071763776
Publication Date: 2013-03-05
New in the authoritative Case Files series, Physical Therapy Case Files: Orthopaedics gives you case studies that illustrate critical concepts you need to build and enhance your skills in orthopaedic physical therapy. Each case includes a discussion of the health condition, examination, evaluation, diagnosis, plan of care and interventions, evidence-based practice recommendations, and references. NPTE-style review questions accompanying each case reinforce your learning. With Physical Therapy Case Files: Orthopaedics, everything you need to succeed in the clinic and on the NPTE is right here in your hands.

Cover Art
Is This Change Real? - Daniel L. Riddle; Paul W. Stratford
Call Number: RM701 .R53 2013
ISBN: 9780803629578
Publication Date: 2013-02-27
Use outcome tools and measures to evaluate the effectiveness of your treatment methods. This step-by-step guide shows you how to incorporate evidence-based methods when interpreting outcomes of physical therapy on individual patients.

Following the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF) model, you will learn how to select the appropriate outcome measures by defining needs and barriers, identifying the steps to take when searching for a measure, and choosing critical appraisal criteria. You will also learn how to critically review studies from the literature that reports outcome measures.

Cover Art
Physical Therapy Management of Low Back Pain - Julia Chevan; Phyllis Clapis
Call Number: RD771.B217 P48 2013
ISBN: 9780763779450
Publication Date: 2011-12-30
Physical Therapy Management of Low Back Pain: A Case-Based Approach provides a detailed review of the theory and practice of the most common approaches to treating low back pain using a case-based approach for a single patient. The important features of nine different common and major orthopedic physical therapy approaches are explained and practical application of each approach is demonstrated via the patient case. This controlled overview enables instructors and students to analyze, compare and contrast the options in physical therapy treatment.

Cover Art
Core Concepts in Athletic Training and Therapy - Susan Kay Hillman (Editor)
Call Number: GV341 .C67 2012
ISBN: 9780736082853
Publication Date: 2012-01-31

Cover Art
The Role of the Physical Therapist Assistant - Holly M. Clynch
Call Number: RM 705.C59 2012
ISBN: 9780803625624
Publication Date: 2011-09-22
Be prepared for your new role as a PTA. This is the perfect introduction to the history of the Physical Therapist Assistant and their responsibilities today. This groundbreaking text has been written specifically for PTAs by an expert in the field and delves into the ever-expanding role of the PTA in the clinical setting, as well as the regulations that govern the PTA’s scope of work.

Inside, you’ll find the knowledge you need to grow as a PTA. By understanding the importance of this information and how it affects you, your colleagues, and your patients, this text empowers you in your new role and in your professional relationships.

Cover Art
Postural Assessment - Jane Johnson
Call Number: RA 781.5.J64 2012
ISBN: 9781450400961
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
Postural Assessment offers students and practitioners of massage therapy, physical therapy, osteopathy, chiropractic, sports medicine, athletic training, and fitness instruction a guide to determining muscular or fascial imbalance and whether that imbalance contributes to pain or dysfunction.

Cover Art
Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy - Donna Frownfelter; Elizabeth Dean
Call Number: RC 702 .F76 2012
ISBN: 9780323059138
Publication Date: 2012-03-29
Providing a solid foundation in cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology and rehabilitation, Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy: Evidence and Practice, 5th Edition uses the latest scientific literature and research in covering anatomy and physiology, assessment, and interventions. A holistic approach addresses the full spectrum of cardiovascular and pulmonary physical therapy from acute to chronic conditions, starting with care of the stable patient and progressing to management of the more complex, unstable patient. Both primary and secondary cardiovascular and pulmonary disorders are covered. In this edition, updates include new, full-color clinical photographs and the most current coverage of techniques and trends in cardiopulmonary physical therapy. Edited by Donna Frownfelter and Elizabeth Dean, recognized leaders in cardiovascular and pulmonary rehabilitation, this resource is ideal for clinicals and for practice.

Cover Art
Introduction to Physical Therapy - Michael A. Pagliarulo
Call Number: RM700 .P34 2012
ISBN: 9780323073950
Publication Date: 2011-04-28
Introduction to Physical Therapy, 4e by Michael Pagliarulo provides a comprehensive description of the profession and practice of physical therapy.

Cover Art
The Role of the Physical Therapist Assistant - Holly M. Clynch
Call Number: RM705 .C59 2012
ISBN: 9780803625624
Publication Date: 2011-09-22
Be prepared for your new role as a PTA. This is the perfect introduction to the history of the Physical Therapist Assistant and their responsibilities today. This groundbreaking text has been written specifically for PTAs by an expert in the field and delves into the ever-expanding role of the PTA in the clinical setting, as well as the regulations that govern the PTA’s scope of work.

Inside, you’ll find the knowledge you need to grow as a PTA. By understanding the importance of this information and how it affects you, your colleagues, and your patients, this text empowers you in your new role and in your professional relationships.

Cover Art
Physical Therapy of the Shoulder - Robert A. Donatelli
Call Number: RD557.5 .P48 2012
ISBN: 9781437707403
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
The leading reference on shoulder rehabilitation, Physical Therapy of the Shoulder, 5th Edition provides complete information on the functional anatomy of the shoulder, the mechanics of movement, and the evaluation and treatment of shoulder disorders. It promotes current, evidence-based practice with coverage of the latest rehabilitation and surgical techniques. Case studies show the clinical application of key principles, and follow the practice patterns from the APTA Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, 2nd Edition, relating to shoulder disorders. Edited by Robert Donatelli, a well-known lecturer and consultant for professional athletes, this book includes a companion website with video clips demonstrating shoulder therapy techniques and procedures.

Cover Art
Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals - Eric Shamus; Debra F. Stern
Call Number: RM 713 .S74 2011
ISBN: 9780071664042
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals is your best choice for gaining a solid understanding of the entire physical therapy documentation process. There is no faster or easier way to learn the when, what, and how of physical therapy documentation than this trusted guide. The second edition has been updated to include the most recent professional guidelines, codes, and methodologies and covers timely subjects such as Medicare, electronic record keeping, legal issues, pediatric documentation, utilization review and management, and much more.

With Effective Documentation for Physical Therapy Professionals, you will learn how to incorporate all of the general principles of documentation and health information management in order to effectively maintain and organize records, record appropriate information, and receive proper reimbursement based on the documentation content.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip