This is the "Nursing" page of the "New Books! ! !" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


New Books! ! !  

Last Updated: Nov 23, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/newbooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Nursing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Nursing Books

Cover Art
Transition from Clinician to Educator - Elaine G. Patterson; Maria C. Fressola
Call Number: RT62 .F74 2017
ISBN: 1284068749
Publication Date: 2016-07-26
As the population continues to age and retire, the shortage of qualified nurse educators continues to grow. Simultaneously, student demand is also increasing. In order to address this current and future need, organizations are looking toward practicing clinicians to fill the gap. Transition from Clinician to Educator: A Practical Approach is a hands-on guide to prepare future educators who are entering the world of education. Written in an accessible style, it focuses on real issues that new educators will face as they move into the classroom. With topics drawn from the authors’ own experiences, this text is an essential resource to understanding the intricacies involved in being a successful educator.

Cover Art
Clinical Nurse Specialist Toolkit, Second Edition - Melanie Duffy (Editor); Susan Dresser (Editor); Janet S. Fulton (Editor)
Call Number: RT82.8 .C576 2016
ISBN: 9780826171917
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
The Clinical Nurse Specialist Toolkit "serves as a one-stop, all-inclusive guide designed for novice Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNSs) just getting started in this exciting new career. Organized in an easy-to-use, bullet-point format, this book contains 6 key sections: Getting Started presents valuable information on negotiating and securing a job, with tips for interviews and the application process Moving Forward provides advice on establishing credibility in the field, prioritizing, and finding a mentor Gaining Momentum contains guidelines on mentoring staff, leading groups, and precepting students Evaluation sets forth critical information on how to document and measure clinical outcomes Reaching Out describes how to network with professional organizations and community agencies Professional Recognition provides practical guidance on applying for reimbursement and pursuing certification and licensure

With numerous clinical examples, case scenarios, and personal anecdotes culled from the contributors' own professional experiences, this toolkit serves as an insightful, authoritative resource for all CNS students and practitioners. Seasoned CNSs looking to expand their knowledge of the field will also want to add this book to their collection.

Cover Art
Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions - Sandra Davidson; Daniel Weberg; Tim Porter-O'Grady; Kathy Malloch
Call Number: RT89 .D38 2017
ISBN: 9781284099416
Publication Date: 2016-02-26
Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions addresses the current emerging issues facing healthcare leaders and practitioners who spearhead evidence-based innovation. This text is truly unique in that it systematically addresses innovation and evidence from the perspective of both a leader and a practitioner within the context of healthcare. Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions was written by healthcare leaders for current and future innovation leaders. The content is organized to walk the learner through the foundations of evidence, innovation, and leadership. The text is divided into four sections covering evidence and innovation leadership, sources of new evidence, how to lead and measure, and synthesis between theory and practice. This text seeks to be a catalyst for disruptive innovation in healthcare in terms of content as well as how we educate the next generation of healthcare leaders.

Cover Art
The Bell Lap : stories for compassionate nursing care - Muriel Murch
Call Number: R726.8 .M87 2016
ISBN: 9781785231605
Publication Date: 2016-02-24
The Bell Lap has been awarded third place in the 2016 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Palliative Care and Hospice Category.

The Bell Lap explores, with great insight, the multiple lessons of living and dying. These stories offer engaging and invaluable insights for trainees, practicing nurses, and other health professionals working in the field. Through these stories, the author has laid the ground for caregivers to reach beyond the confines of the settings of illness, whether home, hospital, or long-term care and become an active and involved participant in the world of the patient.

Cover Art
Teaching in Nursing - Diane M. Billings; Judith A. Halstead
Call Number: RT71 .T336 2016
ISBN: 9780323290548
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
This insightful text is the only one of its kind to cover all three components of teaching: instruction, curriculum, and evaluation. As it walks through the day-to-day challenges of teaching, readers will benefit from its expert guidance on key issues, such as curriculum and test development, diverse learning styles, the redesign of healthcare systems, and advancements in technology and information. This new edition contains all the helpful narrative that earned this title an AJN Book of the Year award, along with updated information on technology-empowered learning, the flipped classroom, interprofessional collaborative practice, and much more.

Cover Art
Enhancing Staff Retention in Person-Centered Care Environments for Older Adults - Janine M. Lange
Call Number: RT120.L64 L36 2016
ISBN: 9781938870415
Publication Date: 2015-10-19
This book outlines how long-term care administrators can reverse this pattern of damaging outcomes by developing, implementing, and maintaining an effective orientation program for all levels of staff. Author Janine Lange, a clinical nurse educator, has standardized new employee orientation programs in many long-term care communities. Her experience and practical knowledge make this an indispensable resource. From defining the culture of a community to establishing an organization's needs to skills testing and the evaluation process, this comprehensive guide covers the essential elements needed for a successful training program. Enhancing Staff Retention also stresses the importance of creating a mentorship program between new and existing employees and provides valuable insight into how to sustain such a program. This critical resource for nursing home administrators, clinical education directors, directors of nursing, directors of human resources, and all staff involved with training will assist organizations in fostering a skilled, competent, and well-trained team of caregivers who demonstrate a lasting dedication to older adults.

Cover Art
Public Health Nursing - Marcia Stanhope; Jeanette Lancaster
Call Number: RT98 .C6562 2016
ISBN: 9780323321532
Publication Date: 2015-10-07
This Revised Reprint of the 8th edition has been updated with a new Quality and Safety Education in Nursing (QSEN) appendix that features examples of incorporating knowledge, skills, and attitudes to improve quality and safety in community/public health nursing practice. As with the previous version, this text provides comprehensive and up-to-date content to keep you at the forefront of the ever-changing community health climate and prepare you for an effective nursing career. In addition to concepts and interventions for individuals, families, and communities, this text also incorporates real-life applications of the public nurse’s role, Healthy People 2020 initiatives, new chapters on forensics and genomics, plus timely coverage of disaster management and important client populations such as pregnant teens, the homeless, immigrants, and more.

Cover Art
American Indian Health and Nursing - Margaret P. Moss
Call Number: RT86.54 .A44 2016
ISBN: 9780826129840
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. In fact, it is likely the only nursing book to even mention American Indian health as a distinct entity. The text addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, woven into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of well-being among American Indians.

Ethics in Oncology Nursing - Jeanne M. Erickson; Kate Payne; Oncology Nursing Society Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: RC263 .E84 2016
ISBN: 9781935864561
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Ethics in Oncology Nursing examines the inherent challenges encountered by nurses through the care of patients with cancer. In addition to foundational content on ethics and ethical practice, this book addresses key areas in oncology nursing in which ethical concerns commonly arise, including treatment decision-making, clinical trials, genetics, and palliative and end-of-life care. Case studies are provided to offer context and application to nursing practice.

  


 

New Nursing Reference (available for check-out)

Cover Art
Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide 2016 - Billie A. Wilson; Margaret Shannon; Kelly Shields
Call Number: RM125 .N78 2016
ISBN: 9780134070643
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide 2016 is ideal for courses in nursing curricula covering drugs and/or drug administration. It also serves as a useful reference for nursing professionals.

The information nurses need for safe, effective drug administration in any setting
With over 400 updates, the new 2016 edition of the Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide provides safe, effective, current, and accurate drug information in a quickly accessible format. Comprehensive and complete, it lists all drugs alphabetically by generic names for quick reference, with an index listing both generic and trade names. It presents important clinical information for hundreds of drugs, with adverse reactions, interactions, side effects, and impacts on lab results.

Cover Art
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination - Linda Anne Silvestri
Call Number: RT62 .S53 2016
ISBN: 9780323289313
Publication Date: 2015-03-02
Get everything you need to review for the NCLEX-PN® exam from one trusted source! With over 4,500 high-quality review questions, this unique, bestselling review and preparation guide offers the perfect combination of core content review, comprehensive rationales, and detailed test-taking strategies from the NCLEX expert herself: Linda Silvestri. Updated to reflect the latest NCLEX-PN test plan, this new edition and companion Evolve website help you hone your understanding of all the important NCLEX-PN content areas.

Cover Art
Introduction to Medical-Surgical Nursing - Adrianne Dill Linton
Call Number: RT41 .L735 2016
ISBN: 9781455776412
Publication Date: 2015-02-06
The leading medical-surgical text for LPN/LVN students, Linton''s Introduction to Medical-Surgical Nursing, 6th Edition offers just the right level of information to equip today''s students to effectively care for adults and older adults. Covering both medical-surgical and psychiatric mental health conditions and disorders, this comprehensive text addresses the LPN/LVN''s role in a variety of care settings, including acute care and long-term care, with a special emphasis on assignment and supervision responsibilities.

Cover Art
Core Curriculum for Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing - AWHONN; M. Terese Verklan; Marlene Walden; NANN; AACN
Call Number: RJ253.5 .N46 V44 2015
ISBN: 9780323225908
Publication Date: 2014-05-02
This text is an excellent clinical resource for
the comprehensive management of the sick
neonate.

Cover Art
Manual of Psychiatric Nursing Care Planning - Elizabeth M. Varcarolis
Call Number: RC440 .V374 2015
ISBN: 9781455740192
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
Text addresses how to plan nursing care for those being treated for mental health issues, provides detailed descriptions of various mental health disorders and how to formulate a diagnosis, gives information about psychiatric and forensic issues and emergencies, and describes how to work with patients with challenging behaviors.

Cover Art
Foundations of Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice - Janet S. Fulton (Editor); Brenda L. Lyon (Editor); Kelly A. Goudreau (Editor)
Call Number: RT82.8 .F68 2014
ISBN: 0826129668
Publication Date: 2014-03-01
An impressive collection covering the
history and evolution of the clinical nurse specialist
(CNS) role.

 

Nursing DVDs

Case management in health care - Rowe, Michael. | Garner, Simon. | Deeth, James.
Call Number: DVD RA 975.5 .C36 2013
Publication Date: 2012.
Featuring expert interviews and real-world examples, this is a high-quality resource exploring the key skills of good case management and the importance of collaboration

Evidence-based practice : [videorecording] : what it is and what it is not - Cobb, David. | Kramer, Ruth, | Morgan, Sally. | Rogers, Bill.
Call Number: DVD RT 42 .M44 2010
Publication Date: c2010.
This program presents the learner with important concepts about the relationship between nursing practice and nursing research, and how evidence-based practice influences decisions, interventions and evaluation of nursing care.

Cover Art
A Mother's Courage: Talking Back to Autism
Call Number: RJ 506.A9 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Narrated by Oscar winner Kate Winslet and directed by Oscar nominee Fridrik Thor Fridriksson, this inspiring film follows one woman's quest unlock her autistic son's mind.

Nursing theory : [videorecording] : application to nursing practice - Medcom Trainex.
Call Number: DVD RT 84.5 .N89 M4
Publication Date: 2010
Nursing theory, the foundation of knowledge for the delivery of nursing care, is used to describe, explain, predict, and develop a plan of nursing care. This program shows how nursing theory is applied to nursing practice and patient care.

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip