This is the "Sociology" page of the "New Books! ! !" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


New Books! ! !  

Last Updated: Nov 23, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/newbooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Sociology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

LC Organization

Our books are arranged in the Library of Congress Classification System.  To see how books arranged in Sociology and Criminal Justice, please see the links below: 

 

Search Tips and Tricks

When searching for materials you can search by either the author, title, or subject/keyword.  For author or title searches, you would simply need to enter either the name of the author or the title of the work in which you are searching.  For keyword/subject searching, try to use a variety of one or two-word phrases that describe your topic to yield the results for which you are looking.  You may also try to use some of the advanced search options and use and, or, & not between different keywords and keyword phrases.

Print Journals

In addition to the thousands of journals in our online databases, Morton College also has a number journals in print.  These journals are located in the reference area beside the front counter.  Ask a librarian if you need any assistance in finding a print journal.

  • Contexts
    Contexts is a quarterly magazine that makes cutting-edge social research accessible to general readers.
  • Young Children
    Young Children is NAEYC’s peer-reviewed professional journal, published five times a year—in March, May, July, September, and November. Issues are organized around topics important to the early childhood education field.
  


 

Featured Books

Cover Art
Lives in Limbo - Roberto G. Gonzales; Jose Antonio Vargas (Foreword by)
Call Number: JV6600 .G66 2016
ISBN: 9780520287266
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
"Over two million of the nation's eleven million undocumented immigrants have lived in the United States since childhood. Due to a broken immigration system, they grow up to uncertain futures. In Lives in Limbo, Roberto G. Gonzales introduces us to two groups: the college-goers, like Ricardo, whose good grades and strong network of community support propelled him into higher education, only to land in a factory job a few years after graduation, and the early-exiters, like Gabriel, who failed to make meaningful connections in high school and started navigating dead-end jobs, immigration checkpoints, and a world narrowly circumscribed by legal limitations. This ethnography asks why highly educated undocumented youth ultimately share similar work and life outcomes with their less-educated peers, even as higher education is touted as the path to integration and success in America. Gonzales bookends his study with discussions of how the prospect of immigration reform, especially the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program, could impact the lives of these young Americans"--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Right to DREAM - William A. Schwab; G. David Gearhart (Foreword by)
Call Number: JV6483 .S393 2013
ISBN: 1557286388
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
"The DREAM Act, bipartisan legislation first introduced in Congress in 2001, would provide conditional residency for undocumented youth brought to the United States as children. It recognizes that undocumented youth have done nothing wrong and that they should be allowed to work, to go to school, and to travel. The bill makes college more affordable through in-state tuition and gives the undocumented a path to citizenship if they graduate from college or serve in the military. Congress has failed to pass the DREAM Act, and fourteen states have filled the gap by implementing their own laws and policies that provide educational benefits to undocumented students. Right to DREAM makes a compelling argument for the DREAM Act and comprehensive immigration reform. William A. Schwab explores the key issues surrounding this legislation: What are the issues that divide? What do the proponents and opponents of the DREAM Act argue? Is there a middle ground? Is compromise possible? Answering these questions, Schwab explains the legal issues surrounding the education of immigrant children, who immigrates and why, how four waves of immigration have shaped the nation, the effects of immigrants on the U.S. economy and culture, and the process of becoming an American. Schwab analyzes the DREAM Act, deferred action, and immigration policy. He weaves personal stories of undocumented youth throughout the book and advocates for the economic, political, and social benefits of the DREAM Act that would bring undocumented youth out of the shadows and into the mainstream of society."--Publisher's website.

Cover Art
Under the Affluence : shaming the poor, praising the rich and sacrificing the future of America - Tim Wise
Call Number: HN90.S6 W57 2015
ISBN: 9780872866935
Publication Date: 2015-10-13
"In this provocative critique of class and power in America, renowned anti-racist Tim Wise expands his well-developed analysis of privilege rooted in whiteness to include social domination wielded by the wealthy few. Tracing how sympathy for the underlcass, abundant during the Depression, has been erased, Wise counters the contemporary portrayal of the poor as riff-raff and the rich as celebrities."

Cover Art
Migrant Workers - Greenhaven Press Staff (Editor)
Call Number: HD8081.A5 M54 2015
ISBN: 9780737771770
Publication Date: 2015-02-27
This text looks at the impact of migrant workers on the low-skilled American workers. This volume examines the ethical use of migrant workers and how immigration reform will impact them

Cover Art
The Internet Is Not the Answer - Andrew Keen
Call Number: HM851 .K444 2015
ISBN: 9780802123138
Publication Date: 2015-01-06
A big-picture look at what the Internet is doing to our society and an investigation into what we can do to try to make sure that the decisions we are making about the reconfiguring of our world do not lead to unpleasant, unforeseen aftershocks.

Cover Art
The Death Penalty : what's keeping it alive - Andrea D. Lyon
Call Number: HV8699.U5 L96 2015
ISBN: 9781442232679
Publication Date: 2014-11-06
In The Death Penalty: What's Keeping it Alive, award-winning criminal defense attorney Andrea Lyon turns a critical eye towards the reasons why the death penalty remains active in most states, in spite of well-documented flaws in the justice system.

Cover Art
Same-Sex Marriage in the United States : the road to the Supreme Court - Jason Pierceson
Call Number: HQ1034.U5 P54 2014
ISBN: 9781442212053
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
While books about same-sex marriage have proliferated in recent years, few, if any, have provided a clear and comprehensive account of the litigation for same-sex marriage, and its successes and failures, as this book does.

  


 

Social Science DVD's

Cover Art
Brother Outsider: The Life of Bayard Rustin - Produced and directed by Nancy Kates, Bennett Singer
Call Number: DVD HQ76.27.A37 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Long before Martin Luther King, Jr. became a national figure, Bayard Rustin routinely put his body — and his life — on the line as a crusader for racial justice. Rustin's commitment to pacifism and his visionary advocacy of Gandhian nonviolence made him a pioneer in the 1940s, and captured King's imagination in the 1950s. In 1963, with more than 20 years of organizing experience behind him, Rustin brought his unique skills to the crowning glory of his civil rights career: his work organizing the historic March on Washington, the biggest protest America had ever witnessed.

But Rustin was also seen as a political liability. He was openly gay during the fiercely homophobic era of the 40s and 50s; as a result, he was frequently shunned by the very civil rights movement he helped create. The compelling new film Brother Outsider: The Life of Bayard Rustin chronicles Rustin's complex life story, a tale of race, prejudice, and idealism at the heart of 20th century America. -- Description from PBS. . .http://www.pbs.org/pov/brotheroutsider/film_description.php

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
African Americans and Criminal Justice : an encyclopedia - Delores Jones-Brown (Editor); Beverly D. Frazier (Editor); Marvie Brooks (Editor)
Call Number: HV9950 .A356 2014
ISBN: 9780313357169
African Americans and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia comprises descriptive essays documenting the ways in which people of African descent have been victimized by oppressive laws enacted by local, state, and federal authorities in the United States

Cover Art
21st Century Sociology : a reference handbook - Clifton D. Bryant (Editor); Dennis L. Peck (Editor)
Call Number: REF HM 585 .H33 2007
ISBN: 1412916089
Publication Date: 2006-11-17
21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a single definitive resource. The two volumes of this Reference Handbook focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as document the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence - Laura L. Finley (Editor)
Call Number: REF HV 9104 .E59 2007
ISBN: 0313336822
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
From concerns about juveniles' incorrigibility at the turn of the century to school violence in the 1990s, adults have attempted to understand, control, and prevent juvenile violence. Yet, juvenile violence takes many forms, including both violence by juveniles and violence against juveniles, and has various causes and consequences. Since juvenile violence cannot be understood without examining the social context of a given time, this comprehensive encyclopedia provides a historical overview of many significant time periods and offers entries about many types of juvenile violence. It covers competing theories of youth violence; issues such as gender, race, and educational status; and the criminal justice system's methods for dealing with both victims and offenders over time. Additionally, several topics that receive little attention in traditional volumes about juvenile violence, such as hazing, systemic violence in schools, peaceable schools, are covered in these pages.

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip