This is the "Business" page of the "New Books! ! !" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


New Books! ! !  

Last Updated: Nov 23, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/newbooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Business Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

 

Search Tips and Tricks

When searching for materials you can search by either the author, title, or subject/keyword.  For author or title searches, you would simply need to enter either the name of the author or the title of the work in which you are searching.  For keyword/subject searching, try to use a variety of one or two-word phrases that describe your topic to yield the results for which you are looking.  You may also try to use some of the advanced search options and use and, or, & not between different keywords and keyword phrases.

LC Organization

Our books are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification System.  Much of the Business collection is concentrated in Section H of the collections which covers both Social Science and Business.  For more information, please see the link below.

  


 

Featured Books - Business & Economics

Cover Art
Lean In - Sheryl Sandberg
Call Number: HD6054.3 .S265 2013
ISBN: 9780385349949
Publication Date: 2013-03-11
Thirty years after women became 50 percent of the college graduates in the United States, men still hold the vast majority of leadership positions in government and industry. This means that women's voices are still not heard equally in the decisions that most affect our lives. In this book the author examines why women's progress in achieving leadership roles has stalled, explains the root causes, and offers solutions that can empower women to achieve their full potential. She is the chief operating officer of Facebook and is ranked on Fortune magazine's list of the 50 Most Powerful Women in Business and as one of Time magaine's 100 Most Influential People in the World. In 2010, she gave an electrifying TEDTalk in which she described how women unintentionally hold themselves back in their careers. Her talk, which became a phenomenon and has been viewed more than two million times, encouraged women to "sit at the table," seek challenges, take risks, and pursue their goals with gusto. She digs deeper into these issues, combining personal anecdotes, hard data, and compelling research to cut through the layers of ambiguity and bias surrounding the lives and choices of working women. She recounts her own decisions, mistakes, and daily struggles to make the right choices for herself, her career, and her family. She provides advice on negotiation techniques, mentorship, and building a satisfying career, urging women to set boundaries and to abandon the myth of "having it all." She describes specific steps women can take to combine professional achievement with personal fulfillment and demonstrates how men can benefit by supporting women in the workplace and at home. The book is a call to action and a blueprint for individual growth; it is designed to change the conversation from what women can't do to what they can.

Cover Art
AMA Business Boot Camp - Edward Reilly
Call Number: HD38.2 .R45 2013
ISBN: 9780814420010
Publication Date: 2012-12-05
Professionals today, whether they are new or seasoned, need a solid foundation of essential skills in order to keep pace with the speed of change. The American Management Association, the preeminent provider of business education worldwide, trains the majority of the Fortune 500 companies in competitive business skills. Now, for the first time, AMA has assembled the most critical, "must-have" skills for managers and leaders in one handy volume. "AMA Business Boot Camp" paves the way for readers to: motivate, increase morale, and enhance productivity; manage organizational change; improve their ability to communicate and influence others; screen, evaluate, and select corporate strategies; conduct effective performance reviews; protect themselves against the pitfalls of intra-organizational politics; and much more. Covering everything from management and leadership to project management and strategy, this one-of-kind reference serves as a crash course in the fundamentals required for lasting success.

Cover Art
Entrepreneurial Financial Management - Jeffrey R. Cornwall; David O. Vang; Jean M. Hartman
Call Number: HG 4026 .C637 2013
ISBN: 9780765627261
Publication Date: 2012-10-10
This book presents an applied, realistic view of finance for today's entrepreneurs. The book provides an integrated set of concepts and applications, drawn from entrepreneurship, finance, and accounting, that will prepare aspiring entrepreneurs for the world they are likely to face as they start their new busniesses.

Cover Art
Dancing with Digital Natives - Michelle Manafy (Editor); Heidi Gautschi (Editor)
Call Number: HQ 799.5 .D36 2011
ISBN: 9780910965873
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Generational differences have always influenced how business is done, but in the case of digital natives, those immersed in digital technology from birth, professionals are witnessing a tectonic shift. As an always-connected, socially networked generation increasingly dominates business and society, organizations can ignore the implications only at the risk of irrelevance. In this fascinating study, a stellar assemblage of experts from business and academia provides vital insights into the characteristics of this transformative generation. Offering an in-depth look at how digital natives work, shop, play, and learn, this resource offers practical advice geared to help managers, marketers, coworkers, and educators maximize their interactions and create environments where everyone wins.

Cover Art
Steve Jobs - Walter Isaacson
Call Number: HD 9696.2 .U62 J6358 2011
ISBN: 9781451648539
Publication Date: 2011-10-24
Based on more than forty interviews with Jobs conducted over two years, as well as interviews with more than a hundred family members, friends, adversaries, competitors, and colleagues, the author has written a riveting story of the roller-coaster life and searingly intense personality of a creative entrepreneur whose passion for perfection and ferocious drive revolutionized six industries: personal computers, animated movies, music, phones, tablet computing, and digital publishing. At a time when America is seeking ways to sustain its innovative edge, and when societies around the world are trying to build digital-age economies, Jobs stands as the ultimate icon of inventiveness and applied imagination. He knew that the best way to create value in the twenty-first century was to connect creativity with technology. He built a company where leaps of the imagination were combined with remarkable feats of engineering. Although Jobs cooperated with this book, he asked for no control over what was written nor even the right to read it before it was published. He put nothing off-limits. He encouraged the people he knew to speak honestly. And Jobs speaks candidly, sometimes brutally so, about the people he worked with and competed against. His friends, foes, and colleagues provide an unvarnished view of the passions, perfectionism, obsessions, artistry, devilry, and compulsion for control that shaped his approach to business and the innovative products that resulted. Driven by demons, Jobs could drive those around him to fury and despair. But his personality and products were interrelated, just as Apple's hardware and software tended to be, as if part of an integrated system. His tale is instructive and cautionary, filled with lessons about innovation, character, leadership, and values.

Cover Art
The Total Money Makeover - Dave Ramsey
Call Number: HG 179 .R31563 2009
ISBN: 9780785289081
Publication Date: 2007-02-06
The success stories speak for themselves in this book from money maestro Dave Ramsey. Instead of promising the normal dose of quick fixes, Ramsey offers a bold, no-nonsense approach to money matters, providing not only the how-to but also a grounded and uplifting hope for getting out of debt and achieving total financial health.

Ramsey debunks the many myths of money (exposing the dangers of cash advance, rent-to-own, debt consolidation) and attacks the illusions and downright deceptions of the American dream, which encourages nothing but overspending and massive amounts of debt. "Don't even consider keeping up with the Joneses," Ramsey declares in his typically candid style. "They're broke!"

Cover Art
The End of Growth - Richard Heinberg
Call Number: HC 59.3 .H45 2011
ISBN: 9780865716957
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Economists insist that recovery is at hand, yet unemployment remains high, real estate values continue to sink, and governments stagger under record deficits. The End of Growth proposes a startling diagnosis: humanity has reached a fundamental turning point in its economic history. The expansionary trajectory of industrial civilization is colliding with non-negotiable natural limits.

The End of Growth describes what policy makers, communities, and families can do to build a new economy that operates within Earth’s budget of energy and resources. We can thrive during the transition if we set goals that promote human and environmental well-being, rather than continuing to pursue the now-unattainable prize of ever-expanding GDP.

  


 

Featured Business Reference

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Global Economy - David E. O'Connor
Call Number: REF HF 1359 .O28 2006
ISBN: 0313335842
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
A comprehensive introduction to the terms, concepts, issues, people, and organizations that represent the global economy.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Leadership - James MacGregor Burns (Editor); George R. Goethals (Editor); Georgia J. Sorenson (Editor)
Call Number: REF HD 57.7 .E53 2004
ISBN: 076192597X
Publication Date: 2004
The four volumes contain 373 entries of 1,000-6,000 words each, 150 photos, 300 sidebars from primary and secondary sources, and four appendixes. Entries are arranged alphabetically, but organized into 19 broad categories.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Management - Marilyn M. Helms (Editor)
Call Number: REF HD 30.15 .E49 2006
ISBN: 0787665568
Publication Date: 2005
This specialized desktop-style encyclopedia contains more than 300 essays covering management topics such as Angels and venture capitalists, Franchising, Japanese management, Outsourcing and offshoring, and Zero sum game. Arrangement is alphabetical, but so the volume may be used as a textbook as well as a ready-reference source, a "Guide to Functional-Area Readings" arranges entries into 18 curriculum-related topic areas such as "Emerging Topics in Management," "Leadership," and "Management Information Systems."

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip