This is the "Home" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Psychology  

Last Updated: Apr 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Psychology Research Guide!

This research guide is to meant to lead patrons to information resources in psychology.  In addition to these sources, please feel free to contact any librarian for assistance with any research issues or questions.

 

Ask Us!

If we are online, you can ask us questions via chat.  Otherwise, you can type a message in and enter your email so that we can get back to you.


 

What Resources Should I Use?

I am looking to find resources for a research paper on a psychological topic/issue. . .

There are a variety of places in which you can go to research a psychological topic or issue.  To find scholarly research articles on a topic, you may wish to consult some of the EBSCO databases under the "Articles and Databases" tab.  Amongst these databases, Psych Articles and Social and Behavioural Sciences are great places to begin finding a wide variety of articles on a number of topics/issues in psychology.  As well, Child Development and Adolescent Studies may provide good information if you are looking to find information for a paper that specializes in youth. 

Another great place would be our Online Library Catalog, under the "Books and Multi-Media" tab of this guide.  Here you can find books by either author, title, or subject/keyword.  Often, books are excellent resources that can delve deeply in a given topic.  You can see a number of our newest books displayed under the "Books and Multi-Media" tab. 

I am looking to find some general information about a topic/issue. . .

There are a variety of places in which one might go to find general information on a topic/issue. 

--One place might be the reference section of the library where titles such as the Encyclopedia of Psychology or the Handbook of Psychological Assessment, are great places to provide needed insight and overviews on a number of topics. 

--Another great resource would be Salem Psychology and Mental Health, which is available both as a book in the library and online (find this title in our Featured Books section under the "Books and Multi-Media" or in the Psychology Databases section under the "Articles and Databases" tab). 

--Still another place for great background information would be either Credo Reference or Gale Virtual Library (Found under Reference and Citation Databases under the "Articles and Databases" tab), where a variety of encyclopedias and dictionaries are brought together and can be searched easily by typing in keywords/subjects. 

--Finally, one last place to look, might be under the "Helpful Websites" tab of this guide, where websites of organizations such as the American Psychological Association and the National Institute of Mental Health,  provide a wealth of information on a number of psychology and mental health topics.

I am looking to find some information about news and events in this subject area. . .

To find current events, news stories, and helpful websites check out the "Helpful Websites" tab of this guide.  Here you will find news feeds from the American Psychological Association, videos from the National Institute of Mental Health, and other valuable sites of news and information.

 

Contact Us!

Morton College Library

Email:

reference@morton.edu

Phone:

708.656.8000 ext. 2429

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip