This is the "Bergman" page of the "Film, Cinema, Movies, & Directors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Film, Cinema, Movies, & Directors  

A guide to film and film-director resources at the Morton College Library.
Last Updated: Jul 2, 2015 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/film Print Guide RSS Updates

Bergman Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ingmar Bergman Books Owned by the Morton College Library

Cover Art
Ingmar Bergman, Cinematic Philosopher - Irving Singer
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .B47 S56 2007
ISBN: 978-0262513234 / 0262513234
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
The Films of Ingmar Bergman - Jesse Kalin; Ray Carney (Contribution by)
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .B47 K35 2003
ISBN: 9780521389778
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Ingmar Bergman - Marc Gervais; Liv Ullmann (Foreword by)
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .B47 G47 1999
ISBN: 9780773520042
Publication Date: 1999

Cover Art
Ingmar Bergman - Lise-Lone Marker; Frederick J. Marker
Call Number: PN 2778 .B4 M3
ISBN: 9780521295017 / 0521295017
Publication Date: 1982

Cover Art
The Story of Cinema - David Shipman
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .A1 S52 1984
Publication Date: 1982

Cover Art
Bergman on Bergman - Ingmar bergman
Call Number: PN 1998 .A3 B461313 1973B
ISBN: 9780671217198 / 0671217194
Publication Date: 1974

Cover Art
Focus on The Seventh Seal - Birgitta Steene
Call Number: PN 1997 .B3943 S8
ISBN: 9780138069278 / 0138069271
Publication Date: 1972

 

Ingmar Bergman Films Owned by the Morton College Library

The Seventh Seal
Call Number: DVD PN 1995.9 . F67 S4
Publication Date: 1957
*
Ingmar Bergman's 1956 film has been parodied by everyone fromWoody Allen to Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey, but it remains one of the strangest and richest classics of world cinema. Max Von Sydow plays a knight returning from the Crusades to encounter an apocalyptic scenario inspired by the Book of Genesis. He plays chess with Death (Bengt Ekerot), sees a manacled witch, watches a band of flagellants go by--all of it foretelling an inevitable end to life. Unabashedly allegorical and lyrical and existing in a world unto itself, the film is enormously mesmerizing no matter what one thinks of the weighty meanings Bergman has attached to it all. --Tom Keogh

Wild Strawberries
Call Number: PN 1997 .W58 2002
Publication Date: 1957
*
An elderly college professor sets out in his car to receive an honorary degree -- and takes a trip instead through his own past and subconscious -- in this bittersweet but ultimately tender and understanding 1957 film. Bergman, then at the height of his powers as an international filmmaker, uses flashbacks and bright, lyrical storytelling to capture the full arc of one man's life: the successes that seem fleeting, the disappointments that linger in the memory, the regrets that never seem to let go. In some ways, it can be seen as a forerunner of Woody Allen's Deconstructing Harry, except that Bergman's sense of irony is always more profound. --Marshall Fine

 

Ingmar Bergman - Interview (1/6)

 

Exclusive Interview with Legendary Filmmaker Ingmar Bergman

 

Documentary on Ingmar Bergman (01/04)

 

Ingmar Bergman on Demons

 

In Search of Humanity - A Documentary on Ingmar Bergman's Shame

 

Persona: A Poem in Images (1/3)

 

A Conversation with Ingmar Bergman (1/6)

Web Pages & Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    *
    Easy to search and navigate, a multi-disciplinary electronic collection of 8500+ academic jouranals, magazines, and newspapers. Many Bergman articles.
    -
  • Biography in Context
    *
    Content-rich, biography-focused resource. A lot of Bergman articles, essays, radio segments, and resources.
    -
  • Historic New York Times
    *
    An archive of the New York Times, 1851 to 2005. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. A lot of Bergman content.
    -
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    *
    A comprehensive sociology research database with full-text articles from 3500 journals. A few Bergman articles.
    -
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    *
    A comprehensive, full-text database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. A few Bergman articles.
    -
  • PsycARTICLES
    *
    A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. At least one Bergman article that "concludes with a reanalysis of the patient–nurse relationship in Ingmar Bergman's Persona, dynamics that had been previously described by Otto Kernberg as projective identification and critiqued by Robert D. Stolorow and George E. Atwood.
    -
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    *
    Known for covering today’s hottest social issues, Opposing Viewpoints in Context still contains some potentially beneficial Bergman articles and media. Contains a broad variety of data from newspapers, magazines, academic journals, radio segments, and video.
    -
  • JSTOR
    *
    A digital archive of 1500+ academic journals filled with scholarly articles and content. A little Bergman content.
    -
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip