This is the "Coen Brothers" page of the "Film, Cinema, Movies, & Directors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Film, Cinema, Movies, & Directors  

A guide to film and film-director resources at the Morton College Library.
Last Updated: Jul 2, 2015 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/film Print Guide RSS Updates

Coen Brothers Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Coen Brothers Books at the Morton College Library

Cover Art
The Philosophy of the Coen Brothers - Mark T. Conard (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .C6635 P45 2012
ISBN: 9780813134451
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The Big Lebowski - Ben Walters; J. M. Tyree
Call Number: PN 1997 .B444 2010
ISBN: 9781844571734
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
The Brothers Grim - Erica Rowell
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .C6635 R69 2007
ISBN: 9780810858503
Publication Date: 2007

 

Coen Brothers Films Owned by the Morton College Library

True Grit
Call Number: DVD PN 1997.2 .T78 2011
Publication Date: 2011
*
A 14-year-old girl needs a man with true grit to help her bring in the fugitive who killed her father. That she settles on Rooster Cogburn -- a one-eyed, booze-soaked, potbellied U.S. marshal on the downward curve of his career in law enforcement -- is the glorious springboard for all versions of True Grit: the Charles Portis novel, the 1969 western that won an Oscar for John Wayne, and the 2010 Coen brothers adaptation.

The Big Lebowski
Call Number: DVD PN 1995.9 .C55 2003
Publication Date: 1998
*
Jeff ''The Dude'' Lebowski (Bridges) is the victim of mistaken identity. Thugs break into his apartment in the errant belief that they are accosting Jeff Lebowski, the eccentric millionaire philanthropist, not the laid-back, unemployed Jeff Lebowski. In the aftermath, The Dude seeks restitution from his wealthy namesake. He and his buddies (Goodman and Buscemi) are swept up in a kidnapping plot that quickly spins out of control.

 

BAFTA - Coen Brothers: A Life in Pictures

 

The Coen Brothers in Israel - Roundtable Discussion with the Coen Brothers

 

The Coen Brothers with Noah Baumbach: Where and How to Begin a Film?

 

Coen Brothers: A Serious Man Crash Scene Movie Shoot

 

Patton Oswalt Discusses the Coen Brothers on WTF with Marc Maron #144

Web Pages & Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    *
    Easy to search and navigate, a multi-disciplinary electronic collection of 8500+ academic jouranals, magazines, and newspapers. Many Coen Brothers articles.
    -
  • Historic New York Times
    *
    An archive of the New York Times, 1851 to 2005. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. A lot of content concerned with the Coen Brothers.
    -
  • Biography in Context
    *
    Content-rich, biography-focused resource. A lot of Coen Brothers articles, essays, radio segments, and resources. The search terms "Coen Brothers", "Joel Coen", and "Ethan Coen" will, obviously, produce differing results.
    -
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    *
    A comprehensive sociology research database with full-text articles from 3500 journals. A few Coen Brothers articles.
    -
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    *
    Known for covering today’s hottest social issues, Opposing Viewpoints in Context still contains some potentially beneficial Coen Brothers content. Includes a broad variety of information from newspapers, magazines, academic journals, radio segments, and video.
    -
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip