This is the "Kubrick" page of the "Film, Cinema, Movies, & Directors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Film, Cinema, Movies, & Directors  

A guide to film and film-director resources at the Morton College Library.
Last Updated: Jul 2, 2015 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/film Print Guide RSS Updates

Kubrick Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Stanley Kubrick Books Owned by the Morton College Library

Cover Art
Listening to Stanley Kubrick - Christine L. Gengaro
Call Number: ML 2075 .G46 2013
ISBN: 9780810885646
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
On Kubrick - James Naremore
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .K83 N37 2007
ISBN: 9781844571420
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Depth of Field: Stanley Kubrick, Film, and the Uses of History - Geoffrey Cocks (Editor), James Diedrick (Editor), Glenn Perusek (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .K83 D47 2006
ISBN: 9780299216146 / 0299216144
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Stanley Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange - Stuart Y. McDougal (Editor); Horton Andrew (Contributor)
Call Number: PN 1997 .C655 S73 2003
ISBN: 9780521574884 / 0521574889
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Stanley Kubrick - Mario Falsetto
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .K83 F35 2001
ISBN: 9780275969745
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
Stanley Kubrick, Director - Alexander Walker, Sybil Taylor, Ulrich Ruchti
Call Number: PN 1998.3 .K83 W36 1999
ISBN: 9780393046014 / 039304601X
Publication Date: 1999

Cover Art
Filmguide to 2001: A Space Odyssey - Carolyn Geduld
Call Number: PN/1997/.T86/G4
ISBN: 9780253393050 / 0253393051
Publication Date: 1973

Cover Art
Stanley Kubrick Directs - Alexander Walker
Call Number: PN/1998/.A3/K75
ISBN: 0151848858
Publication Date: 1971
*
Over 350 black-and-white stills produce a biography of Kubrick through his work. This volume includes interviews with Kubrick and his colleagues, a commentary on his films, and the origins of his ideas.

Cover Art
Space Odyssey 2001 - Arthur C. Clarke
Call Number: PZ 3 .C551205 TW3
ISBN: 9780451457998
Publication Date: 1968

 

Stanley Kubrick: Rare Dutch Documentary

Includes interviews and behind-the-scenes footage of 2001: A Space Odyssey.

 

Stanley Kubrick Interview (27th November 1966)

 

Michel Ciment Interviews Stanley Kubrick

 

Stanley Kubrick Films Owned by the Morton College Library

Dr. Strangelove: Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb
Call Number: DVD PR 6057 .E54 R42 1998
*
A psychotic Air Force General unleashes an ingenious, foolproof, and irrevocable scheme sending bombers to attack Russia. The U.S. President works with Soviet Premier in a desperate effort to save the world.

2001: A Space Odyssey
Call Number: DVD PN 1997 .A138 2001
*
The senses-shattering tale of life and "afterlife" in outer space from writer Arthur C. Clarke and director Stanley Kubrick that revolutionized science-fiction films. Lunar explorers uncover an obelisk of alien origin, but who put it there, and why? Keir Dullea, Gary Lockwood and HAL 9000 the Computer star.

Barry Lyndon
Call Number: DVD PN 1997 .B3443 2001
*
William Makepeace Thackeray's tale of a roguishly charming 18th century Englishman, card shark and con-man whose good fortune and luck finally run out. Its hero is a distinctly underwhelming, even unsympathetic fellow, and Kubrick does not try to engage the audience's emotions in anything like the usual way.--Amazon.com

Full Metal Jacket
Call Number: DVD PN 1995.9 .W3 2007
*
The story of an 18-year-old marine recruit named Private Joker; from his carnage-and-machismo boot camp to his climactic involvement in the heavy fighting in Hue during the Tet Offensive.

Web Pages & Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    *
    Easy to search and navigate, a multi-disciplinary electronic collection of 8500+ academic jouranals, magazines, and newspapers. Many Kubrick articles.
    -
  • Biography in Context
    *
    Content-rich, biography-focused resource. A lot of Kubrick articles, essays, radio segments, and resources.
    -
  • Historic New York Times
    *
    An archive of the New York Times, 1851 to 2005. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. A lot of Kubrick content.
    -
  • JSTOR
    *
    A digital archive of 1500+ academic journals filled with scholarly articles and content. Some Kubrick content.
    -
  • SocINDEX with Full Text
    *
    A comprehensive sociology research database with full-text articles from 3500 journals. Some Kubrick articles.
    -
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    *
    Known for covering today’s hottest social issues, Opposing Viewpoints in Context still contains some potentially beneficial Kubrick articles and media.Contains a broad variety of data from newspapers, magazines, academic journals, radio segments, and video.
    -
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    *
    A comprehensive, full-text database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. A few Kubrick articles.
    -
  • PsycARTICLES
    *
    A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. At least one Kubrick article.
    -
  • Stanley Kubrick: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
    *
    A guide and site on Kubrick that includes an extensive, thorough bibliogrpahy. From the University of California Berkeley Library.
    -
  • The Kubrick Site
    *
    A non-profit resource archive for documentary materials regarding, in whole or in part, the work of the late American director and producer. Thousands of readers and participants contributions appear in these pages. Rich and extensive site that includes essays, discussion, reviews, press materials, scripts, transcripts, interviews, depositions, and more.
    -
  • The Kubrick Site: Selected Bibliography
    *
    The bibliography from The Kubrick Site. Extensive and well organized.
    -
  • Stanley Kubrick's Interviews: The Most Comprehensive List of Interviews Given by the Director
    *
    This list alleges to contain citations for all the interviews and articles reporting Stanley Kubrick's thoughts about moviemaking. Tries to collect all the statements published during his entire career. When available, a link to the complete text is provided.
    -
  • Senses of Cinema: Stanley Kubrick
    *
    An essay/article on Kubrick. Includes a bibliography and links to articles and other Kubrick pages (some of which are broken).
    -
  • Warner Bros.: Bibliography
    *
    Compiled by Anthony Frewin, Assistant to Stanley Kubrick, 1965-69 and 1980-99. Seemingly hasn't been updated since 2000. Still a potentially useful list from a source very close to Kubrick.
    -
  • La Lamina Corredora: Stanley Kubrick Bibliography
    *
    A rated or tiered bibliography from this blog.
    -
  • mcrui2mq’s Film Blog: Bibliography
    *
    The bibliography is potentially very useful. The rest of the blog is probably too personal for academic use.
    -
  • Turner Classic Movies: Stanley Kubrick
    *
    Contains some good core, reference content, including a signed biographical article.
    -
  • IMDB: Stanley Kubrick
    *
    Contains a brief biographical article, filmography, discussions, trivia, and more.
    -
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip