Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013
To see all of the articles and databases maintained by the library, please consult either:
These databases are good sources for finding general and citation information.
- Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- Child Development and Adolecent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies, produced by NISC, is today’s source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
A source of news items, articles, discussion forums and job postings pertinent to the field of higher education.
- US Government Online
Given the fact that much of our school system is ran through the federal government, US Government Online might be a great resource to find information on both educational issues and policy.
- MAS Ultra School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
- American Heritage Children's Dictionary
Contains 14,000 accurate and simple entries perfectly formatted for the needs of children in grades 3-6. Including variant forms listed by parts of speech, 37,000 words are defined. Many citations include synonyms, homonyms and examples which provide students with a real-world context.