This is the "Books and Multi-Media" page of the "Education & Childcare" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Education & Childcare  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/education Print Guide RSS Updates

Books and Multi-Media Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

 

Search Tips and Tricks

When searching for materials you can search by either the author, title, or subject/keyword. For author or title searches, you would simply need to enter either the name of the author or the title of the work in which you are searching. For keyword/subject searching, try to use a variety of one or two-word phrases that describe your topic to yield the results for which you are looking. You may also try to use some of the advanced search options and use and, or, & not between different keywords and keyword phrases.

 

Featured Books - Education

Cover Art
Education Nation - Milton Chen; George Lucas (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB 2822.82 .C434 2010
ISBN: 9780470615065
Publication Date: 2010-07-06
In Education Nation author Milton Chen draws from extensive experience in media--from his work on Sesame Street in its nascent years to his current role as executive director of the George Lucas Educational Foundation--to support his vision for a new world of learning. Presented in five parts and divided into "module" chapters, this book examines the ways in which K-12 learning can be revolutionized through innovative reform and the use of technology. Due in large part to new technologies, over the last few decades we've witnessed a huge shift in how we imagine teaching and learning. In today's digital age the number of new ways to teach and learn is ever-expanding and includes: television, Google, YouTube, TeacherTube, Facebook, iPhones, video games, GPS devices, open source textbooks, interactive whiteboards; and there are countless examples of ways technology positively impacts student learning--from voice-recognition software that helps children learn to read to translation tools that help teachers communicate with non-English speaking parents. As a result of constant innovation, learning is no longer limited by traditional confines and we're quickly moving beyond students tied to their chairs, desks, and textbooks--and teachers locked away in classrooms.

Cover Art
Rethinking Education in the Age of Technology - Allan Collins; Richard Halverson
Call Number: LB 1028.3 .C636 2009
ISBN: 9780807750025
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
In Rethinking Education in the Age of Technology, Allan Collins and Richard Halverson argue that the knowledge revolution has transformed our jobs, our homes, our lives, and therefore must also transform our schools. This groundbreaking book offers a vision for the future of American education that goes well beyond the walls of the classroom to include online social networks, distance learning with "anytime, anywhere" access, digital home schooling models, video-game learning environments, and more.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Infant and Toddler Activities - Kathy Charner (Editor); Maureen Murphy (Editor); Charlie Clark (Editor)
Call Number: REF LB 1139.35 .A37 E53 2006
ISBN: 9780876590133
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
With over three hundred activities written specifically for infants and toddlers, this book will captivate children’s imaginations and create wonderful opportunities for learning. The result of a nationwide contest, these activities were selected as the best of the best and are written by teachers, directors, and caregivers. Organized by time of day, teachers will love the easy-to-use format. Covering areas such as arrival and departure time, clean up, and transitions, the activities span a variety of developmental areas, including language, sensory, cognitive, social-emotional, and motor skills. Approved by teachers and loved by children, this resource is sure to be a classroom favorite.

Cover Art
A Handbook on Measurement Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education - Charles Secolsky (Editor); D. Brian Denison (Editor)
Call Number: LB 2331.6 .H36 2011
ISBN: 9780415880756
Publication Date: 2011-12-20
Increased demands for colleges and universities to engage in outcomes assessment for accountability purposes have accelerated the need to bridge the gap between higher education practice and the fields of measurement, assessment, and evaluation. The Handbook on Measurement, Assessment, and Evaluation in Higher Education provides higher education administrators, student affairs personnel, institutional researchers who generate and analyze data, and faculty with an integrated handbook of theory, method, and application. This valuable resource brings together applied terminology, analytical perspectives, and methodological advances from the fields of measurement, assessment, and evaluation to facilitate informed decision-making in higher education.

Cover Art
Twelve Best Practices for Early Childhood Education - Ann Lewin-Benham
Call Number: LB 1139.2 .L48 2011
ISBN: 9780807752326
Publication Date: 2011-06-24
n her new book, popular author Ann Lewin-Benham draws on her intimate knowledge and experience with the Reggio Approach to present 12 "best practices" inspired not only by Reggio, but also by play-based and Montessori approaches to early child-hood education. These practices are demonstrated, one per chapter, with scenarios from classrooms, dialogues of children and teachers, and work samples showing the outcome of using each practice. Used together, the 12 best practices offer a new framework for early education. Written in the accessible style that her readers appreciate, this book expands on Lewin-Benham's earlier works by showing the foundations for teachers to practice the Reggio Approach in their own settings.

Cover Art
Mind in the Making - Ellen Galinsky
Call Number: HQ 781 .G35 2010
ISBN: 9780061732324
Publication Date: 2010-04-20
In Mind in the Making, Ellen Galinsky has grouped this research into seven critical areas that children need most: (1) focus and self control; (2) perspective taking; (3) communicating; (4) making connections; (5) critical thinking; (6) taking on challenges; and (7) self-directed, engaged learning. For each of these skills, Galinsky shows parents what the studies have proven, and she provides numerous concrete things that parents can do—starting today—to strengthen these skills in their children. These aren't the kinds of skills that children just pick up; these skills have to be fostered. They are the skills that give children the ability to focus on their goals so that they can learn more easily and communicate what they've learned. These are the skills that prepare children for the pressures of modern life, skills that they will draw on now and for years to come.

Cover Art
Born Believers - Justin L. Barrett
Call Number: BF 723 .G63 B37 2012
ISBN: 9781439196540
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Belief begins in the brain. Under the sway of powerful internal and external influences, children understand their environments by imagining at least one creative and intelligent agent, a grand creator and controller that brings order and purpose to the world. Further, these beliefs in unseen super beings help organize children’s intuitions about morality and surprising life events, making life meaningful. Summarizing scientific experiments conducted with children across the globe, Professor Barrett illustrates the ways human beings have come to develop complex belief systems about God’s omniscience, the afterlife, and the immortality of deities. He shows how the science of childhood religiosity reveals, across humanity, a “natural religion,” the organization of those beliefs that humans gravitate to organically, and how it underlies all of the world’s major religions, uniting them under one common source.

Cover Art
Mathematics Education for a New Era - Keith J. Devlin
Call Number: QA 135.6 .D53 2011
ISBN: 9781568814315
Publication Date: 2011-02-25
Stanford mathematician and NPR Math Guy Keith Devlin explains why, fun aside, video games are the ideal medium to teach middle-school math. Aimed primarily at teachers and education researchers, but also of interest to game developers who want to produce videogames for mathematics education, Mathematics Education for a New Era: Video Games as a Medium for Learning describes exactly what is involved in designing and producing successful math educational videogames that foster the innovative mathematical thinking skills necessary for success in a global economy.

Cover Art
Handbook of Infant Development - J. Gavin Bremner (Editor); Theodore D. Wachs (Editor)
Call Number: RJ 131 .B475 2010
ISBN: 9781405178747
Publication Date: 2010-09-28
Now in two volumes, the fully revised and updated second edition of The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development provides comprehensive coverage of the basic research and applied and policy issues relating to infant development.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip