This is the "Social Problems, Issues, and Topics" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Sociology  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Social Problems, Issues, and Topics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

Issues Database

This database covers various issues and topics relevant to the times, often providing multiple perspectives on a number of topics.

  • Opposing ViewPoints In Context (Gale)
    Covers hot social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Helps develop critical-thinking and information literacy skills by bringing together a variety of information on social issues. Includes more than 8,700 pro and con articles and is easy to use.

General Sociology Databases

  • Soc Index with Full Text
    Most comprehensive sociology research database with abstracts from 845 core journals from 1895. Also has full text articles from 3500 journals.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    A comprehensive, full-text database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
 

Featured Books: Social Issues and Topics

Cover Art
Gun Control in the United States - Gregg Lee Carter
Call Number: HV7436 .C36 2017
ISBN: 9781440835667
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
"This book offers concise, understandable coverage of all aspects of the issue, including incidence of gun violence; gun control; gun rights; government regulation, legislation, and court decisions; gun organizations (for gun control and for gun rights); gun enthusiast subcultures--for example, hunters, target shooters, and collectors; and U.S. attitudes toward guns. Many of the covered topics are placed in historical and cross-cultural perspective. The new edition of Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook enables the reader to navigate and interpret the research to become sufficiently educated on any specific aspect of the gun issue to make an informed decision--for example, whether to support stricter or more lenient gun control; whether to become a gun owner; whether to support a particular political party or candidate; or whether to develop or to refine a particular philosophy regarding guns. Other aspects of the contemporary gun debate that are addressed include whether the Supreme Court's ruling that the Second Amendment guarantees an individual right will withstand future challenges, whether the strong gun regulations used in Europe would be effective and applicable in reducing gun violence in the United States, and whether the diversity explosion created by the high rate of immigration from countries where guns are strictly controlled will soon change the politics of the U.S. gun control debate." -- Publisher's website

Cover Art
Tainted Witness : why we doubt what women say about their lives - Leigh Gilmore
Call Number: K3243 .G55 2017
ISBN: 9780231177146
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Tainted Witness examines how gender, race, and doubt stick to women witnesses as their testimony circulates in search of an adequate witness. Judgment falls unequally upon women who bear witness, as well-known conflicts about testimonial authority in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries reveal. Women's testimonial accounts demonstrate both the symbolic potency of women's bodies and speech in the public sphere and the relative lack of institutional security and control to which they can lay claim. Each testimonial act follows in the wake of a long and invidious association of race and gender with lying that can be found to this day within legal courts and everyday practices of judgment, defining these locations as willfully unknowing and hostile to complex accounts of harm. Bringing together feminist, literary, and legal frameworks, Leigh Gilmore provides provocative readings of what happens when women's testimony is discredited. She demonstrates how testimony crosses jurisdictions, publics, and the unsteady line between truth and fiction in search of justice."-- Book jacket.

Cover Art
From the War on Poverty to the War on Crime - Elizabeth Hinton
Call Number: HV9950 .H56 2016
ISBN: 9780674737235
Publication Date: 2016-05-02
"In the United States today, one in every 31 adults is under some form of penal control, including one in eleven African American men. How did the "land of the free" become the home of the world's largest prison system? Challenging the belief that America's prison problem originated with the Reagan administration's War on Drugs, Elizabeth Hinton traces the rise of mass incarceration to an ironic source: the social welfare programs of Lyndon Johnson's Great Society at the height of the civil rights era. Johnson's War on Poverty policies sought to foster equality and economic opportunity. But these initiatives were also rooted in widely shared assumptions about African Americans' role in urban disorder, which prompted Johnson to call for a simultaneous War on Crime. The 1965 Law Enforcement Assistance Act empowered the national government to take a direct role in militarizing local police. Federal anticrime funding soon incentivized social service providers to ally with police departments, courts, and prisons. Under Richard Nixon and his successors, welfare programs fell by the wayside while investment in policing and punishment expanded. Anticipating future crime, policy makers urged states to build new prisons and introduced law enforcement measures into urban schools and public housing, turning neighborhoods into targets of police surveillance. By the 1980s, crime control and incarceration dominated national responses to poverty and inequality. The initiatives of that decade were less a sharp departure than the full realization of the punitive transformation of urban policy implemented by Republicans and Democrats alike since the 1960s."--Provided by publisher.

Cover Art
Degrees of Inequality : how the politics of higher education sabotaged the American dream - Suzanne Mettler
Call Number: LC173 .M48 2014
ISBN: 9780465044962
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
"America's higher education system is failing its students. In the space of a generation, we have gone from being the best-educated society in the world to one in which a college degree benefits only to those in the top income brackets. In Degrees of Inequality, acclaimed political scientist Suzanne Mettler explains why the system has gone so horribly wrong and why the American Dream is increasingly out of reach for so many. In her eye-opening account, Mettler illuminates how political partisanship has overshadowed America's commitment to equal access to higher education. As politicians capitulate to corporate interests, owners of for-profit colleges benefit, but many of their students gain little aside from massive student loan debt. Meanwhile the nation's public universities have shifted the burden of rising costs onto students, and skyrocketing tuition fees make it increasingly difficult for students to finish their degrees. A comprehensive examination of how politicians have failed our students and our highest ideals as a nation, Degrees of Inequality is clarion call for education reform. "--

Cover Art
Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion - Miguel A. Pérez; Raffy R. Luquis
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 C853 2014
ISBN: 9781118347492
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion, 2nd edition, examines the importance of ethnic and cultural factors for community health practice. Edited and written by a stellar list of contributors who are experts in field, this book describes essential theories, models, and practices for working with race, ethnicity, gender, and social issues. The authors cover a wide range of topics including demographics, disparities, complementary and alternative medicine, spiritually grounded approaches, multicultural populations, culturally competent needs assessment and planning, communication, workforce, program planning, aging, sexual orientation, and future challenges. This edition has substantially expanded coverage on working with diverse groups, social determinants of health, spirituality, theoretical models for multicultural populations, planning and program evaluation, and aging, with new content includes coverage of disability and health literacy. This edition also reflects the latest standards for Certified Health Education Specialist certification and national standards on Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS), from Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip