This is the "Social Work" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Sociology  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Social Work Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

Social Work Databases

Here are a few databases that would be useful for someone studying social work.

  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    A comprehensive, full-text database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
  • Soc Index with Full Text
    Most comprehensive sociology research database with abstracts from 845 core journals from 1895. Also has full text articles from 3500 journals.
  • Psych Articles
    This a great place to begin your search for articles in psychology. This database contains numerous full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO)
    It is a source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
 

Books on Social Work

Cover Art
Women of the Street - Susan Dewey; Tonia St. Germain
Call Number: HQ314 .D49 2016
ISBN: 9781479854493
Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Drawing on extraordinarily rich ethnographic research, including interviews with over one hundred street-involved women and dozens of criminal justice and social service professionals, Women of the Street argues that despite the intimate knowledge these groups have about each other, measures designed to help these women consistently fail because they do not take into account false assumptions about street life, homelessness, drug use and sex trading. Reaching beyond disciplinary silos by combining the analysis of an anthropologist and a legal scholar, the book offers an evidence-based argument for the decriminalization of prostitution.

Cover Art
Immigrant and Refugee Children and Families - Culturally Responsive Practice - Alan J. Dettlaff; Rowena Fong (Editor)
Call Number: HV4010 .I396 2016
ISBN: 9780231172851
Publication Date: 2016-05-31
"Designed for students of social work, public policy, ethnic studies, community development, and migration studies, Immigrant and Refugee Children and Families provides the best knowledge for culturally responsive practice with immigrant children, adolescents, and families. This textbook summarizes the unique circumstances of Asian/Pacific Islander, Latino, South Asian, African, and Middle Eastern immigrant and refugee populations and the challenges faced by the social service systems, including child welfare, juvenile justice, education, health, and mental health care, that attempt to serve them. Each chapter features key terms, study questions, and resource lists ... and a final section examines current and future approaches to advocacy."--From publisher's website.

Cover Art
Sociology for Social Work - Alastair Gibson (Editor); Chris Yuill (Editor)
Call Number: HV 40.35 .S63 2011
ISBN: 9781848606517
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Introducing the social work student to the field of sociology, this book illustrates how sociology is connected to and fundamental to effective social work practice. Each chapter applies theory to practice and is uniquely co-written by a sociologist, social worker, and service user. Every chapter of the book includes further case studies, along with lots of clear definitions of terms and reflection points, making this book the essential introductory text for all social work students.

Cover Art
What Is Social Policy? : understanding the welfare state / - Daniel Beland
Call Number: HN 18.3 .B45 2010
ISBN: 9780745645834
Publication Date: 2010-09-22
From housing, pensions, and family benefits, to health-care, unemployment insurance, and social assistance, the welfare state is a key aspect of our lives. But social programs are contested political realities that we can't hope to understand without locating them within the "big picture." This book provides a concise political and sociological introduction to social policy, helping readers to grasp the nature of social programs and the political struggles surrounding them. It takes a broad comparative and historical viewpoint on the United States, using an international perspective to contextualize American social policy within the developed world. Provocative and engaging, it offers insight into a wide range of social policy issues such as: welfare regimes, welfare state development, the politics of retrenchment and restructuring; the relationship between social programs and various forms of inequality; changing family and economic relations; the role of private social benefits; the potential impact of globalization; and debates about the future of the welfare state.

Cover Art
Lifting Our Voices: the journeys into family caregiving of professional social workers - Joyce Octavia Beckett
Call Number: HV 40.3 .L49 2008
ISBN: 9780231140614
Publication Date: 2008-09-17
Lifting Our Voices is the only book to explore the dual roles of professional social workers who are also family caregivers and the only collection on caregiving in which the majority of contributors are African American. After discussing the relevant literature, Lifting Our Voices vividly and sensitively presents the caregiving experiences of ten professional social workers. Using professional and theoretical knowledge and skills, each contributor draws implications for various levels of social work and human service interventions. These poignant descriptions and analyses recount both the frustrations and barriers of negotiating social service agencies and other institutions and the joys and triumphs of family caregiving. Lifting Our Voices frankly discusses how a professional education either prepares or fails to equip an individual with the skills for successful intervention on behalf of a loved one. Contributors hail from rich and varied backgrounds, revealing the importance of age, ethnicity, gender, marital status, and gerontological expertise in the practice of family caregiving.

Cover Art
Dementia and Social Work Practice : research and interventions - Carole B. Cox
Call Number: RC 521 .D45338 2007
ISBN: 9780826102492
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
This book contains a volume of expert articles on the biological, psychological, and social aspects of dementia. Readers will be learning the latest assessment instruments and distinguishing between Alzheimer's and non-Alzheimer's dementias. The effects of culture and diversity on the treatment of persons with dementia are examined as well as the benefits and drawbacks of adult day services, community care, and residential care. Finally, there are intervention strategies for every stage of dementia as well as a discussion of legal, financial, and psychological stresses of caregivers with dementia.

Occupational Outlook Handbook: Social Worker

Interested in becoming a social worker?  This description from the Occupational Outlook Handbook, compiled by the federal government, describes this position and Read up on this career and learn what it is all about.

 

Search Tips and Tricks

When searching for materials you can search by either the author, title, or subject/keyword. For author or title searches, you would simply need to enter either the name of the author or the title of the work in which you are searching. For keyword/subject searching, try to use a variety of one or two-word phrases that describe your topic to yield the results for which you are looking. You may also try to use some of the advanced search options and use and, or, & not between different keywords and keyword phrases.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip