This is the "Family and Society" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Sociology  

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Family and Society Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

Family and Society Databases

Here are some databases that may be helpful for investigations of family.

  • Soc Index with Full Text
    Most comprehensive sociology research database with abstracts from 845 core journals from 1895. Also has full text articles from 3500 journals.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    A comprehensive, full-text database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO)
    It is a source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
 

Search Tips and Tricks

When searching for materials you can search by either the author, title, or subject/keyword. For author or title searches, you would simply need to enter either the name of the author or the title of the work in which you are searching. For keyword/subject searching, try to use a variety of one or two-word phrases that describe your topic to yield the results for which you are looking. You may also try to use some of the advanced search options and use and, or, & not between different keywords and keyword phrases.

 

Books on Family & Society

Cover Art
Mixed-Race Youth and Schooling - Sandra Winn Tutwiler
Call Number: LC3621 .T87 2016
ISBN: 9781138021914
Publication Date: 2016-02-17
This timely, in-depth examination of the educational experiences and needs of mixed-race children ("the fifth minority") focuses on the four contexts that primarily influence learning and development: the family, school, community, and society-at-large.

The book provides foundational historical, social, political, and psychological information about mixed-race children and looks closely at their experiences in schools, their identity formation, and how schools can be made more supportive of their development and learning needs. Moving away from an essentialist discussion of mixed-race children, a wide variety of research is included. Life and schooling experiences of mixed-raced individuals are profiled throughout the text. Rather than pigeonholing children into a neat box of descriptions or providing readymade prescriptions for educators, Mixed-Race Youth and Schooling offers information and encourages teachers to critically reflect on how it is relevant to and helpful in their teaching/learning contexts.

Cover Art
Long-Term Care in an Aging Society - Graham D. Rowles; Pamela B. Teaster
Call Number: RT120.L64 L644 2016
ISBN: 9780826194565
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
This is a comprehensive graduate textbook focusing on the full spectrum of long-term care settings ranging from family and community-based care through supportive housing options to a variety of institutional long-term care alternatives.

Cover Art
Undocumented : how immigration became illegal - Aviva Chomsky
Call Number: JV6465 .C46 2014
ISBN: 9780807001677
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
This book looks at the role illegality or undocumentedness plays in our society and economy. It shows how the status was created, and how and why people, especially Mexicans and Central Americans, have been assigned this status...One chapter looks at children and families, focusing especially on the experiences of undocumented youth and youth with undocumented parents, and at the leadership role that undocumented youth have taken in the undocumented rights movement.

Cover Art
The Big Disconnect : protecting childhood and family relationships in the digital age - Catherine Steiner-Adair; Teresa H. Barker
Call Number: HQ784.I58 S735 2013
ISBN: 9780062082428
Publication Date: 2013-08-13
Steiner-Adair offers insights and advice that can help parents achieve greater understanding, authority, and confidence as they come up against the tech revolution and how families can combat the disconnection we are experiencing from our extreme device dependence....Drawing on real-life stories from her clinical work with children and parents, and her consulting work with educators and experts across the country, Steiner-Adair offers insights and advice that can help parents achieve greater understanding, authority, and confidence as they come up against the tech revolution unfolding in their living rooms. - Publisher.

Cover Art
Cut Adrift : Families in Insecure Times - Marianne Cooper
ISBN: 9780520958456
Publication Date: 2014-07-31
Cut Adrift makes an important and original contribution to the national conversation about inequality and risk in American society. Set against the backdrop of rising economic insecurity and rolled-up safety nets, Marianne Cooper's probing analysis explores what keeps Americans up at night. Through poignant case studies, she reveals what families are concerned about, how they manage their anxiety, whose job it is to worry, and how social class shapes all of these dynamics, including what is even worth worrying about in the first place. This powerful study is packed with intriguing discoveries

CARLI eBook: online access available to people from CARLI member institutions.

 

Featured Encyclopedia

Cover Art
Marriage Family and Relationships - Gwen J. Broude
Call Number: GN 480 .B76 1994
ISBN: 0874367360
Publication Date: 1995-01-30
The human family is ever-evolving, changing with time and adapting to place. How and what degree do world cultures differ in their sexual, familial, and social habits, and what are the common features? And how is the manner in which humans conduct their various relationships related to instincts for survival and reproduction? Marriage, Family, and Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia invites readers to explore the expression of relationships in many cultures and to discover by comparison both shared patterns and dazzling variety. Alphabetically arranged by topic, the detailed and engrossing essays cover such topics as: adult friendships; courtship; divorce customs; fathers attending births; male-female hostility; marriage forms; parents-in-law; romantic love; sex taboos; and widow remarriage. Students, researchers, and armchair sociologists will welcome this volume as a reference source and springboard to new thought and new understanding. -- Provided by publisher.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip