This is the "Chemistry" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Science  

Last Updated: May 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Chemistry Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Book Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

 

EBSCO Science Article Search

EBSCO Science Article Search
Limit Your Results

Chemistry Reference Databases

  • Gale Science Reference
    Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of online searchable encyclopedias giving general reference on a broad variety of topics. Check out the science section to find great chemistry titles such as The 100 Most Important Chemical Compounds, Natural Gas and Hydrogen, and The Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics.
  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is an online searchable collection of a wide variety of reference books covering a multitude of subjects, with titles that would be helpful to any aspiring chemist or scientist.
 

Featured Chemistry Books

Cover Art
Admission Assessment Exam Review - HESI
Call Number: R838.5 .E96 2017
ISBN: 9780323353786
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Passing your admission assessment exam is the first step on the journey to becoming a successful health professional ― make sure you’re prepared with Admission Assessment Exam Review, 4th Edition! From the testing experts at HESI, this user-friendly guide walks you through the topics and question types found on admission exams, including: math, reading comprehension, vocabulary, grammar, biology, chemistry, anatomy and physiology, and physics.

Cover Art
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 97th Edition - William M. Haynes (Editor)
Call Number: QD65 .H3 2016-2017
ISBN: 9781498754286
Publication Date: 2016-06-24
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 97th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. This reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach.

Cover Art
Chemical Information for Chemists - Judith Currano (Editor); Dana Roth (Editor); Diane C. Rein (Contribution by); Grace Baysinger (Contribution by); Leah Solla (Contribution by); Andrea Twiss-Brooks (Contribution by); Ben Wagner (Contribution by); Michael White (Contribution by); Donna Wrub
Call Number: QD8.5 .C44 2014
ISBN: 1849735514
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
While it is not difficult to find data in many cases, what advice can you get on the quality of the data retrieved? Chemical Information for Chemists could help with this problem and more. This book is a chemical information book aimed specifically at practicing chemists

Cover Art
Chemistry and Physics for Nurse Anesthesia - David Shubert; John Leyba
Call Number: RT69 .S56 2013
ISBN: 0826110436
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
"[A] welcome addition to the reference materials necessary for the study of nurse anesthesia....The textbook is divided into logical, easy to use sections that cover all areas necessary for the practice of nurse anesthesia..

Cover Art
What Is Chemistry? - Peter Atkins
Call Number: QD37 .A75 2013
ISBN: 0199683980
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Most people remember chemistry from their schooldays as a subject that was largely incomprehensible. For many the topic was seen as being fact-rich but understanding-poor, smelly, and so far removed from the real world of events and pleasures that there seemed little point, except for the most introverted, in coming to terms with its grubby concepts, spells, recipes, and rules.

Atkins shows how chemistry provides the infrastructure of our world, through the chemical industry, the fuels of heating, power generation, and transport, as well as the fabrics of our clothing and furnishings.

By considering the remarkable achievements that chemistry has made, and examining its place between both physics and biology, Atkins presents a fascinating, clear, and rigorous exploration of the world of chemistry -- its structure, core concepts, and contributions.

Cover Art
3,000 Solved Problems in Chemistry - David E. Goldberg
Call Number: QD 42 .G64 2011
ISBN: 9780071755009
Publication Date: 2011-01-31
More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum’s Outlines for their expert knowledge and helpful solved problems. Written by renowned experts in their respective fields, Schaum’s Outlines cover everything from math to science, nursing to language. The main feature for all these books is the solved problems. Step-by-step, authors walk readers through coming up with solutions to exercises in their topic of choice.

Cover Art
How to Solve General Chemistry Problems - Robert Boikess
Call Number: QD 42 .B64 2009
ISBN: 9780131542730
Publication Date: 2008-03-26
How to Solve General Chemistry Problems is a self-teaching text which helps students solve problems found in most general chemistry textbooks. Its sequence of chapters is arranged to coincide closely with the sequence in most popular general chemistry textbooks. The aim is to make it easier for today’s student to use this problem solving tool as a supplement to any general chemistry textbook.

Cover Art
The Chemistry Maths Book - Erich Steiner
Call Number: QA 37.3 .S74 2008
ISBN: 9780199205356
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
The Chemistry Maths Bookprovides a complete course companion suitable for students at all levels. All the most useful and important topics are covered, with numerous examples of applications in chemistry and the physical sciences. Taking a clear, straightforward approach, the book develops ideas in a logical, coherent way, allowing students progressively to build a thorough working understanding of the subject.

Cover Art
The Nuts and Bolts of Organic Chemistry - Joel Karty
Call Number: QD 253.2 .K37 2006
ISBN: 9780805331172
Publication Date: 2005-05-26
The Nuts and Bolts of Organic Chemistry will help readers change their learning habits so they can master the Organic Chemistry course. This text is designed for readers to use early in the course before they dive too far into a traditional textbook. It prepares readers to think about and use the fundamental concepts; it develops in readers the right mindset for learning organic chemistry. This brief book shows readers that understanding fundamental concepts is absolutely essential for success, and helps them develop a good feel for how to apply those concepts to many different situations. The text helps convince readers that brute memorization is not the right way to approach the course; instead, they should master fundamental concepts and important reaction mechanisms. By following the same philosophy as those who write the MCAT exams, Karty focuses on improving readers’ thinking ability and powers of logical deduction

Cover Art
Elements of Chemical Thermodynamics - Leonard K. Nash
Call Number: QD 504 .N37 2005
ISBN: 0486446123
Publication Date: 2005-08-23
The use of purely thermal data in calculating the position of equilibrium in a chemical reaction is the focus of this text, which highlights the physical content of thermodynamics, as distinct from purely mathematical aspects. Numerous problems and fully worked illustrative examples.

Cover Art
Introduction to Quantum Mechanics - Sy M. Blinder
Call Number: QC 174.12 .B56 2004
ISBN: 0121060519
Publication Date: 2004-06-07
This book provides a lucid, up-to-date introduction to the principles of quantum mechanics at the level of undergraduates and first-year graduate students in chemistry, materials science, biology and related fields. It shows how the fundamental concepts of quantum theory arose from classic experiments in physics and chemistry, and presents the quantum-mechanical foundations of modern techniques including molecular spectroscopy, lasers and NMR.

Cover Art
Know It All - New Scientist Magazine Staff; Mick O'Hare (Editor)
Call Number: Q173 .K63 2015
ISBN: 9781615192397
Publication Date: 2015-02-24
New Scientist magazine’s beloved “Last Word” column is a rare forum for “un-Google-able” queries: Readers write in, and readers respond! Know It All collects 132 of the column’s very best Q&As. The often-wacky questions cover physics, chemistry, zoology and beyond.

 

Chemistry Reference Books

Cover Art
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 95th Edition - William M. Haynes (Editor)
Call Number: QD65 .H3 2014
ISBN: 1482208679
Publication Date: 2014-06-04
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 95th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world.

Cover Art
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary - Richard J. Lewis
Call Number: REF QD 5 .C5 2007
ISBN: 9780471768654
Publication Date: 2007-01-29
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 15th Edition is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Chemistry - Don Rittner; R. A. Bailey
Call Number: REF QD 4 .R57 2005
ISBN: 0816048940
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Comprehensive guide including information on significant discoveries in chemistry, definitions of basic terms, and thought-provoking essays.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip