This is the "Biology" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Science  

Last Updated: May 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Biology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Our Catalog

Search the Online Catalog

What is I-Share?
New Books! ! !

 

EBSCO Science Article Search

EBSCO Science Article Search
Limit Your Results

Biology Reference Databases

  • Gale Science Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference is a collection of online searchable encyclopedias giving general reference on a broad variety of topics. Check out the science section to find great biology titles such as Genetic Engineering, Molecules of Life, Evolution, and Developmental Biology.
  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference is an online searchable collection of a wide variety of reference books covering a multitude of subjects, with titles that would be helpful to any aspiring biologist including, Collins Dictionary of Biology, the Encyclopedia of the Human Genome, and the McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.

Additional Helpful Research Guides

If you are looking more for resources covering topics of human health and anatomy, you may also try to find information in the Nursing Research Guide.

 

Featured Biology Books & Multi-Media

Cover Art
The Society of Genes - Itai Yanai; Martin Lercher
Call Number: QH437 .Y36 2016
ISBN: 9780674425026
Publication Date: 2016-01-11
Nearly four decades ago Richard Dawkins published The Selfish Gene, famously reducing humans to “survival machines” whose sole purpose was to preserve “the selfish molecules known as genes.” How these selfish genes work together to construct the organism, however, remained a mystery. Standing atop a wealth of new research, The Society of Genes now provides a vision of how genes cooperate and compete in the struggle for life.

Cover Art
Writing in the Biological Sciences - Angelika Hofmann
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2016
ISBN: 9780190245603
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Practical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Resource for Scientific Communication, Second Edition, presents students with all of the techniques and information they need to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines of professional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication.

Cover Art
The Real Planet of the Apes - David R. Begun
Call Number: GN281 .B44 2016
ISBN: 9780691149240
Publication Date: 2015-10-27
Was Darwin wrong when he traced our origins to Africa? The Real Planet of the Apes makes the explosive claim that it was in Europe, not Africa, where apes evolved the most important hallmarks of our human lineage--such as dexterous hands and larger brains. In this compelling and accessible book, David Begun, one of the world's leading paleoanthropologists, transports readers to an epoch in the remote past when the Earth was home to many migratory populations of ape species.

Cover Art
Unnatural Selection - Emily Monosson
Call Number: RA1226 .M67 2015
ISBN: 9781610914987
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Gonorrhea. Bed bugs. Weeds. Salamanders. People. All are evolving, some surprisingly rapidly, in response to our chemical age. In Unnatural Selection, Emily Monosson shows how our drugs, pesticides, and pollution are exerting intense selection pressure on all manner of species. And we humans might not like the result.

Cover Art
Evolution - Carl Zimmer; Douglas Emlen
Call Number: QH366.2 .Z526 2013
ISBN: 1936221365
Publication Date: 2012-08-13
Science writer Carl Zimmer and evolutionary biologist Douglas Emlen have teamed up to write a textbook intended for biology majors that will inspire students while delivering a solid foundation in evolutionary biology.

Cover Art
A Planet of Viruses - Carl Zimmer
Call Number: QR 360 .Z65 2011
ISBN: 9780226983363
Publication Date: 2012-04-30
Explore the hidden world of viruses, a world that each of us inhabits. Here the author, science writer and author of Discover magazine's blog The Loom, presents the latest research on how viruses hold sway over our lives and our biosphere, how viruses helped give rise to the first life forms, how viruses are producing new diseases, how we can harness viruses for our own ends, and how viruses will continue to control our fate for years to come. In this eye-opening tour through the frontiers of biology, where scientists are expanding our understanding of life as we know it, we learn that some treatments for the common cold do more harm to us than good; that the world's oceans are home to an astonishing number of viruses; and that the evolution of HIV is now in overdrive, spawning more mutated strains than we care to imagine.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Student Nurses - Muralitharan Nair (Editor); Ian Peate (Editor)
Call Number: QP34.5 .F862 2011
ISBN: 9781444334432
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
With an applied, interactive, and highly visual approach, Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Student Nurses provides students with an exciting and straightforward understanding of anatomy and physiology, enabling them to deliver high quality care in any setting. This book covers the structure and functions of the human body, with clinical applications throughout.

Cover Art
Cell Biology - Stephen R. Bolsover; Elizabeth A. Shephard; Hugh A. White; Jeremy S. Hyams
Call Number: QH 581.2 .C425 2011
ISBN: 9780470526996
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Though the textbook has been thoroughly revised, and new sections added on cancer and the immune system, the goal remains to introduce first-year undergraduates to the whole field of cell biology in a manner that does not overload their brains, pocketbooks, or backpacks. The theme is the cell as a unit of life, and the topics include water and macromolecules, DNA structure and the genetic code, transcription and the control of gene expression, protein structure, energy trading within the cell, and intercellular communication. No dates are cited for earlier editions. Annotation ©2011 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
Biology Essentials for Dummies - Rene Fester Kratz; Donna Rae Siegfried
Call Number: QH 307.2 .K732 2011
ISBN: 9781118072677
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Biology Essentials For Dummies focuses on just the core concepts you need to succeed in an introductory biology course. From identifying the structures and functions of plants and animals to grasping the crucial discoveries in evolutionary, reproductive, and ecological biology, this easy-to-follow guide lets you skip the suffering and score high at exam time.

Cover Art
Atlas of Human Anatomy - Frank H. Netter
Call Number: QM 25 .N46 2011
ISBN: 1416059512
Publication Date: 2010-05-03
Atlas of Human Anatomy uses Frank H. Netter, MD's detailed illustrations to demystify this often intimidating subject, providing a coherent, lasting visual vocabulary for understanding anatomy and how it applies to medicine. This fifth edition features a stronger clinical focus-with new diagnostic imaging examples--making it easier to correlate anatomy with practice.

Cover Art
The Wonder of Genetics - Richard Kowles
Call Number: QH 437 .K69 2010
ISBN: 9781616142148
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Despite a title that's reminiscent of 1950s science books for kids, this book is an excellent introduction to heredity and modern genetics aimed at the general reader. Dealing with questions ranging from the basic (such as how genetic traits are inherited) to the more complex and topical (genetic therapy and stem-cell research), Kowles (Biology [emer.], St. Mary's University of Minnesota) shows how genetics are studied in plants and animals, and demonstrates the importance of genetics for many areas of our lives. While some readers may take issue with the author's views on radiation and genetically modified organisms, most will enjoy this wide-ranging (and good-humored) introduction to genetic science. Annotation ©2011 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Cover Art
The Penn Center Guide to Bioethics - Arthur L. Caplan; Autumn Fiester; Vardit Ravitsky; Penn Center (University of Pennsylvania) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: QH 332 .P46 2009
ISBN: 9780826115225
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
"This most noteworthy and authoritative collection of 67 essays...represents 'the Penn way of doing bioethics' ....The Penn Center is widely known for multidisciplinary scholarship that emphasizes empirical inquiry on bioethical issues coupled with practical application(s)....The book provides excellent coverage of...both classical topics (e.g., informed consent, infertility, eugenics) and emerging issues (e.g., cloning, nonprofessional caregiving, privacy of thought in the age of brain imaging). The contributors, including the three editors, are either well-established or emerging scholars. Each essay offers historical background, an overview of relevant issues, a conclusion, and a list of references....Summing Up: Highly recommended."

--Choice

Cover Art
Aging, Biotechnology, and the Future - Catherine Y. Read (Editor); Robert C. Green (Editor); Michael A. Smyer (Editor)
Call Number: QP 86 .A35927 2008
ISBN: 9780801887888
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary collection examines how advances in medicine and technology are affecting the aging process and the lives of elderly persons. In analyzing the state of biotechnology, these essays applaud the positive-extended longevity and the potential for greater quality of life-while probing such ethical quandaries as presymptomatic genetic testing, therapeutic cloning, antiaging technologies, and the transhumanist movement. The volume includes discussions about the respective roles of health care professionals, government, and individuals in shaping a workable regulatory framework and unifying multiple perspectives to make the biotechnology revolution beneficial to all. Featuring contributions from renowned scholars of religion, ethics, philosophy, psychology, law, medicine and nursing, and gerontology, Aging, Biotechnology, and the Future illuminates the promises and perils of growing old in the biomedical age.

Cover Art
The Mysterious Human Heart - David Grubin
Call Number: DVD QP 111.4 .M972 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Each of the three programs that make up "The mysterious human heart" focuses on a different aspect of what we thought we knew, what we know now, and what we're on the verge of learning about the heart.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip