This is the "Home" page of the "U.S. History to 1865" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Print and online resources covering the Colonial era to the Civil War.
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.morton.edu/EarlyUSHistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the US History Subject Guide

This research guide is designed to provide students with resources and information on early US History. For further assistance, please contact a librarian.

 

What Sources Should I Use?

I am looking to find resources for a research paper on a political science topic or issue...

The library provides a variety of ways to research historical topics.

Your first choice can be the Online Library Catalog, found on each page of this guide. Here you can find books by author, title, or subject/keyword, or choose from the list of selected print and media history resources through the "Books/Media" tab.  It's easy to forget that books in print are often the most thorough, reliable source of information. The items in our collection have been chosen for the value of their contents - no need to sift through a long list of questionable search engine hits. Don't forget to check out the books in our Reference section. Although these book cannot leave the library, they are a great source of information.

To find scholarly research articles on a topic, you may wish to consult some of the links under the "Databases" tab. U.S. Government Online is an easy to navigate database arranged to explore  the structure and function of government. The Historic New York Times and Historic Chicago Tribune databases provide access to full text newspaper articles dating back to the 1850s.  The Salem Press History Collection of e-books includes online reference titles Encyclopedia of American Immigration, The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, Great GLBT Events from History, and Musicians and Composers.

Through the "Websites" tab, link to a number of highly regarded resources designed to explore the world of history through primary source documents, images, essays and articles by prominent historians. The selected websites include the vast, well-organized online collections of the Library of Congress and the National Archives. 


 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip